We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a long weekend....”
Review of Sol Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Tenerife
Northants
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ok for a long weekend....”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Okay, lets start by putting my review in context. I wanted a long weekend in the sun for me and the wife so took myself to lastminute.com and up came the Sol Tenerife with half board. Now, its clear from my fellow 'trippies' reviews that this hotel is a bit like marmite - you loved it or hated it & the ranking didn't exactly install me with confidence - so armed with low expectations and sun cream off we went.

Location wise its pretty good - right on the sea front with nice ocean views (from most room). The staff were all extremely friendly and its clear the hotel works hard in this regard as every employee wore a smile and genuinely seemed to want to help. If you check out the reception you will see pictures taken back in 1979 which just about prepares you for the rooms. I'm pretty sure the decor hasn't changed too much in that time. In truth, its grotty and really really lets the hotel down. It was clean - but that was it. If your idea of a hotel room is that its somewhere to sleep and wash - then you'll be fine - but if you want more from your room you will have to choose a different hotel.

Now for the food. I wasn't looking forward to the mass canteen approach and visions of a prison slop queue rushed through my head. Actually though, it was okay-ish. Putting aside the bird soup and the green beans, carrots and chips from breakfast - there was plenty of choice and we managed to eat reasonably well. The food wasn't particularly warm but it was edible. They wont be getting a visit from Michelin any time soon but nor will they by HM Inspectors of Prisons.

The hotel boasts three pools and its absolutely hilarious to watch the early morning mission to secure a sun lounger. Its now a military exercise involving bungy chords - strapping towels to the beds along with plastic chairs and parasols! Be warned - by 8:00 am you have slim pickings left...

Now never let it be said I ignored the other reviews and as such I purchased a nice set of earplugs for the night time and was grateful I had. There is considerable noise from the local bars and clubs which I imagine is pretty horrendous if you are in Tower A facing the strip. So ask for a room in Tower B facing out to sea.

As for the resort itself - it is what it is... beaches are clean and accessible. The night-life has a slightly seedy side with lapdancing clubs handily located next to a Spar and if you want to get a tattoo on your holiday you have a number of choices of studios - again I would struggle to know what you would do for 14 nights but for 3 it was fine.

So if you are looking for a quick and easy long weekend in the sun then its pretty good value but I would caution anyone planning their annual 2 week getaway....

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. But if you do stay - insist on one in Tower B facing out to sea and dont forg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crossy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for spending your valuable time in publishing your experience about your stay with us.

Comments such as yours are always a helpful assistance for us to identify aspects that may exist throughout our Hotel and to take the necessary corrective measures in order to improve day by day our service and our facilities.We take note of your comment about sunbeds reservations and food temperature.

Look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    1,171
    829
    416
    326
See reviews for
597
1,743
138
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

third visit to the sol tenerife.all inclusive is great value .careful wording of special requests will ensure position of room is to your taste. the staff,position,and food are this hotels strengths.balcony views tremendous both day and night.have allready booked our next visit craig and maureen.

Room Tip: high and poolview are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Craig & Maureen,

thank you for spending your valuable time in publishing your positive experience of your last stay in our Hotel.

We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy our food and our staff was able to make your stay so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again your next stay.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

When we arrived we were Greeted by a lovely receptionist who checked us in!! Room was lovely, great view of beach, sea!! We went all inclusive, which was fantastic, need more range of cocktails available on all inclusive tho ;-) entertainment was good, bar staff and waiters always helpful!!! Overall fantastic however there was a lot of noise at night but what Do u expect when it's located in the middle of clubbing central!!! Shame about the weather was a bit cold and very cloudy for February!! Would definately recommend this hotel and planning our next trip!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenners111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review about your last stay with us.

We are really happy to know that you could enjoy your stay and our staff was helpful to make your stay fantastic.

We take note of your comment about our AI service.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed two weeks in this hotel. Those two weeks were the most terrible weeks of all my numerous travels including a dozen trips to Tenerife. We could not sleep at all before 6:00 am due to the tremendous noise that the nightclubs in Veronica call 'music', We changed rooms with no apparent result. The furniture in the rooms was dirty and shabby, not of a four-star hotel. Half of the sunbeds were like 'black holes' the rest dirty. Stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your comments about your stay in our Hotel.

Unfortunately we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay and would like to apologize for it. Regarding to your comments about sunbeds are cleaned in a regular basis but we are ckecking every sunbed and we replace sunbeds canves if they are in bad condition.

Once again thank you for writing your comments.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our flight was delayed for 12 hours due to a technical fault and we were put up in the Sol Tenerife by Iberia. This in no respect refelcted on the stay though as they were quick in sorting out the hotel, so well done to them. The hotel was dire through.

The hotel was built ~1979 and it showed. The food was poor (a Harvester salad was better than this, so not saying much) and the worst point by far was the banging night club nearby that ran through the night until 0500 hrs in the morning, so kept us all awake - the other guests also complained come morning.

The room was basic and how this hotel dares to display four stars, I just don't know ? In 1979, then okay, not 30 plus years later - Scandalous. If you go home and say you holiday in a four star, forget it. Think two star UK and you will be on the money.

If you have children, you would pull your hair out with the surrounding night time noise (we were there in Feb 12) so only knows what peak times are like.

Teenagers would revel with the location though, but if you want a nights sleep, then save up and pay extra to stay some where else like Adeje. If you want descent food, even visiting the McDonalds up the road (it was that poor) would be preferable.

Good luck.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fordy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing your impressions about your visit.

We are very sorry that you left our Hotel with such a negative impression. Unfortunately we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay and would like to apologize for it.

Once again thank you for writing and we remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.5 km away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,221 reviews
1.1 km away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,909 reviews
1.2 km away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,105 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#38 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,506 reviews
0.9 km away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Property: Sol Tenerife
Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Sol Tenerife is located 200 m from the beach in Tenerife's Playa de las Américas Resort. It offers 3 outdoor pools with sun loungers, a tennis court and rooms with a furnished balcony with partial or frontal sea views. The air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Sol Tenerife feature tiled floors and cheerful colours. They are equipped with satellite TV, fridge, desk and chair. The private bathrooms come with a hairdryer. There is free Wi-Fi available in the rooms. The hotel has a kids' club, hairdresser and supermarket on site. Sports facilities include a volleyball court and a small football pitch. There is also a massage service. The Tenerife Sol's restaurant serves international buffet meals. There are also 2 bars, including a poolside bar. Las Américas Golf Course is 500 m away from the hotel. Tenerife Sur Airport is 14 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing