We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
277
268
51
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
268
51
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte restaurant easy walking distance to the beach low key entertainment every evening excellent hotel buffet breakfast and dinner half board gran canaria common areas pool area dinner sitting room maid rooms are small no hesitation in recommending this hotel watch tv room safe a wonderful holiday
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and fab staff! However if you are looking for relaxed atmosphere and wanting to eat later than 8pm then this hotel is not for you. It was our honeymoon and our first night we arrived after 7pm and we went to the restaurant after 9pm be told if we arrive after 8.15pm there will be no food for us and we have to sit where they say! Not the reception we expected!! Nice start to our honeymoon! So we left after one night to a more relaxed hotel where we can chose our diner table and eat after 9pm if we want to and the staff can’t do enough for us! Also not all inclusive so adds up.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbsoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Debbsoo7,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your Honeymoon and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

As we usually receive splendid feedback on our services, it is disappointing to see that the opening hours of our main restaurant did not fulfill your expectations, but surely your observations will be shared with the relevant department for further consideration.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to regain your confidence during a future visit.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

I travelled as a couple during the last week of July. I am extremely satisfied with the hotel in every aspect: the food, the location, the personnel, the premises.
The hotel is located 10 minutes walk from the sea, which, compared to the other hotels, is one of the closest. There's not much around the hotel other than some super markets but reaching the beach is full of bars.
Food is excellent, great variety but slightly repetitive from day to day. Anyway there is certainly attention from the chefs to try to make it less repetitive. Meat was definitely the best part of it. We had full board but I would recommend the half board option as during lunch there is not many people.
Super kind personnel, always greeting and smiling to you, ready to help and satisfy your requests.
Nice also the swimming pool (not meant for swimming but chill out). There are plenty of sunbeds and we always found some free ones at any hour.
The hotel is a bit old style but kept with lot of care.
I definitely recommend it and I would certainly choose it if coming back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fabio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

The hotel was very good you had the same table each night for the evening meal, pool area and rooms clean and well maintained. Evening entertainment could have been better but it was the location of the hotel that let it down nothing at all around it other than the yumbo centre which does not really cater for straight people!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ndag88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

I do not give 5/5 very often, but this hotel thoroughly deserved it. Went with Saga, and had a fantastic time. Great facilities, friendly staff, good position, great food, everything in fact to make a wonderful holiday. Yes, there will be pessimistic nit-pickers who will complain about something, OK the staff did not all speak perfect English - you are in Spain after all, but the staff go well out of their way to ensure you are looked after. The food might be a bit repetitive, with repeated standbys and daily entrees, but it is all cooked beautifully and tastes great. Some food is occasionally only warm, notably the soup, still very delicious though. WiFi is not available in the rooms - but I found it worked on the balcony (I was on the 3rd floor), and also in common areas - a bit slow, but OK. The entertainment was nightly, and was a cut above the norm with groups, singers, magicians, and dancers, from around 7.15pm to 11pm. Yes, they could be a bit loud if you go back to your room to sleep before 11pm, but the music was excellent and great to hear. The majority of customers were Germans, but they were very polite, and most spoke to you in English. There were lots of sunbeds and umbrellas. Sunbeds cannot be reserved before 10.30am - this works amazingly well, all hotels should do it. Some umbrellas were very hard to put up - grab a passing waiter and ask him to do it! Some say the rooms are small and/or dated - I found them quite big enough, in excellent decor, and very clean. Safes are 15 Euros per week - which I think should be free, though this is cheaper than some hotels. Beach towels are handed out on arrival, and can be changed daily free of charge. I WILL definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddyminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Stayed with saga at this hotel good food very clean room on 5th floor excellent friendly staff good Poole good location for beach and shops nearby short walk
Good entertainment nice sitting area could eat inside or out for breakfast bus stop nearby excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hodgy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews