We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Ranked #13 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights in mid-January and really enjoyed it. It's within an easy five minute walk of the beach, and grocery stores and shops (any direction). The staff at the Riu were very kind and helpful. The hotel was quiet, the room was clean and the grounds impeccable. The food (buffet) was good and plentiful. We had half board, so had breakfast and supper. I believe all-inclusive is available. Snacks from the local grocery store or cafes were more than enough to get us through the day. We loved sitting out on the balcony in the late afternoon and evening. We were on the 2nd floor near the middle of the hotel (room 220). It got a little warm in the room mid-morning with the sun but not bad. We could see the (almost) nightly shows from our balcony - not our goal but some were fun to watch, and they were always wrapped up by 10pm or so. We purchased wifi, and though it's technically only available in the lobby we could get online from our room or the balcony without much trouble. The only thing that bothered us at all was the cigarette smoke from time to time - guests are allowed to smoke on their balconies (or if they weren't allowed, they did anyway) and on the grounds. Otherwise, we would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up may have less noise from meals, evening shows, etc. We weren't bothered by this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Juli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2016

The standard at this hotel is high.
Staff are friendly and attentive, the whole place is scrupulously clean, and the food is excellent with a very good choice.
Our room was on the first floor, with an exceptionally large balcony overlooking the garden, pools and entertainment. (This ends promptly at 11.00 if you are worried about noise.) There was a mini bar and a safe at extra charge.
The immediate area is very built up with a thriving night life and plenty of entertainment including sex clubs.
Ten minutes to the beach, which was busy and bustling. A fair walk will bring you to the beautiful dunes at Maspalomas which are certainly worth a visit. A trip to the interior of the island was also fascinating and not to be missed.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

If you want view to dunes and sea, ask room from 4th floor or above. German and english speaking very friendly staff. Great buffet breakfast and dinner. Very quiet location and good location. Air conditioning did not work well, minimum temperature was 23°C.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of January.

The hotel is very well located in Playa del Ingles for access to the beach which is a short stroll away, but be warned that this is accessed via many steps. There is a small German centre behind the hotel with bars, restaurants and a swingers club! The hotel is also within walking distance to the Jumbo Centre. The Kasbah Centre is a bit further to reach. I'd recommend walking to the beach and back on yourself to get there. There are many touts in the area by Kasbah and are very rude when you ignore them! They are mainly trying to entice you to enter their restaurants and bars. The Kasbah is opposite a church too, which to me makes this behaviour a little more distasteful. But after coming to this resort several times before we were well aware and just carried on walking!

On arrival we were greeted pleasantly and asked to sit and offered cava or orange juice while the receptionist checked us in. There is no free wifi, only chargeable wifi available in the reception area. We were given a suite on the sixth floor which had a double balcony. Lovely views of the pool area and off in the distance were the Maspalomas sand dunes and the sea. It was beautiful to wake up to. Due to the design of the building, this room lost the sunshine from approximately 3.30pm, so if you want an afternoon sun balcony get a low numbered room. Rooms on floor 1 had larger terraces but I'd imagine no view. There was a chargeable minibar and safe. Take your own hairdryer as the one provided was not very good. There is no kettle provided. There are also duplex family bungalows known as Riu Palmitos within the grounds if this would suit your needs.

We opted for full board but only had lunch once out of the two days, as the second day we drove to Las Palmas, the islands capital. Food was very hot at all meals. Breakfast had a good selection of cereals and cooked fare with several egg dishes including omelettes and scrambled. Lunch was taken in the main restaurant and was of good quality, but of limited selection due to only a handful of guests being on full board. Lunch was served between 1 and 2pm. If lunch was on longer we may opt for full board again if we ever returned to this hotel but the 1 hour time slot was simply too restrictive.

Dinner was in two sittings, 6pm and 8pm. Food was of a very good quality. Tables were assigned to you on your first night but you could change your time with the head waiter. A gripe for this hotel is that most of the tables are very crammed together and you feel like you are eating with a load of strangers. When my partner and I were taken to our table the couple on the adjacent table looked at us as if we were interrupting their meal time and gave us a few evil looks which continued for most of dinner! It's not our fault that this is the way the dining room is set out! I'm sure you could be moved if you spoke to the waiter but we were only at that table one night as our second night we ate at the gourmet restaurant Sir William.

It's free to book for dinner at Sir William which is an a la carte option, but you must make a reservation with the head waiter beforehand. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was much quieter and refined than the main restaurant. A more relaxed dining experience that I'd thoroughly recommend and our waiter, who was running the restaurant alone, was very friendly. The food was not rushed and each course came out very well presented. Tables were of a good drainage from each too!

I can't comment on any evening entertainment as I did not see any and we did not venture into the bar either so I'm unsure if any is provided. We did hear bingo at the pool bar around late afternoon with only a handful of participants. We ate an ice cream at the pool bar which was fairly priced. Free pool towels are provided and there are many loungers but they are all quite close together. Also some lost the sun around the time our balcony did due to the design of the building so it may be a case of sun chasing if you're after a suntan.

The clientele are nearly all of the older generation. In the UK, for a package holiday, this property is sold through Saga; so if you're looking for somewhere to hang with a younger crowd, this hotel is not for you. I saw no young families during our brief stay and I would say 98% of the guests were over 55. We were aware of this when we booked so this was not a problem for us but may be for others.

We hired a car online before departure and collected and paid for it from the airport. We booked with Autoreisen. Payment must be by card. No hidden charges and return vehicle with same amount of fuel. Very easy and highly recommended. We have also used Cicar in Gran Canaria and would recommend them too, you can pay in cash with Cicar, we just go with whoever is cheaper at the time we book!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again but only for a few days as the hotel has very little atmosphere and is so quiet around the pool area that we felt if you spoke you were going to get scolded by another guest! It is also looking a bit tired and is in need of a renovation, with wifi added in the rooms and pool area to bring the hotel into the 21st Century. Hopefully that will come in the not so distant future.

Any questions just drop me an email.

Room Tip: High floor for good views. Low numbers for afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank davey_baby100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Good food and plenty of choice. Very clean hotel with lovely big heated pool. Near beach and bars. Entertainment most nights. Wonderful staff very helpful. Bed was hard so they put a large mattress cover on and solved the problem.

Room Tip: First floor rooms come with a big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 km away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,336 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,759 reviews
0.1 km away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,562 reviews
0.9 km away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#11 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
699 reviews
1.2 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos

Address: Avda. Estados Unidos de America 1 | Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: €137 - €302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Palmeras / Palmitos is located in Playa del Inglés, in the southern coast of Gran Canaria, 350 m from the 6 km-long beach and its wide range of entertainment options and watersports facilities. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal due to its proximity to Gran Canaria Airport LPA (about 30km) and Maspalomas (5km) and invites you to explore the island. The hotel has 266 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax with a massage or get in shape in the gym. 1 outdoor pool, 1 children's pool. For the youngest guests there is the RiuLand Kids Club (ages 4-7 & 8-12 years) and for adults, day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Sir William a la Carte restaurants, 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palmeras Hotel
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing