We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More to this hotel than meets the eye ..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bull Hotel Escorial & Spa
Ranked #27 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2016

The Escorial looks to be a conveniently located value for money hotel however there is so much more to it. The usual things like rooms, restaurant pool etc were all as expected ie good 3 star standard, rooms large clean and airy with large balconies.A wide selection of reasonable food. All inclusive drinks always available with fresh machine made real coffee. What makes it outstanding are the extra facilities. There is a fabulous roof terrace complete with jacuzzi giving views across the sea / dunes or in the other direction the mountains. Seemed to be very little used so always sunbeds free. Includes a screened naturist area, water fountain, toilet and shower. Then there's the spa located on the 2 lower ground floors. There are steam rooms, sauna, indoor pool with bubble beds and jets, a cave like dead sea area for floating all of which are free to use. Also a well equipped gym. You can also book reasonably priced treatments. On the lower floor is also a huge games room with snooker tables, bowling lanes, games consoles and also PCs for internet ( good free wifi throughout the hotel ). Outside along with the pool is a garden area, a tennis court , table tennis, darts etc. All in all something to keep everyone amused.
Evening entertainment is little quirky !
Previous reviews mention the army of ( unsmiling ) German pensioners who were definitely in residence when we arrived mid week but by the start of the following week had largely been replaced by a more normal range of ages and nationalities.
Anything we didn't like ? there was building work next door which was quite invasive during the day for those using the pool or garden area ( not the hotels fault ) We hired a car and went out each day so not an issue for us.. We also found it quite noisy at night with significant traffic noise, loud people out till the early hours and glass recycling collections early morning..It did keep us awake most nights but maybe those who are used to traffic noise at night wouldn't notice it.
Overall the hotel exceeded our expectations and with the exception of 1 grumpy female receptionist all staff were charming and friendly. Highly recommended for those wanting a relaxed break.

Room Tip: High floors have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Tkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

99 - 103 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2016

It's pricy but you get what you pay for. Good location being 10 mins walk from beach. Good selection of food for each meal. The evenings entertainment is pretty good but be warned this hotel is geared toward OAPs. It is favoured by German OAPs. One highlight is the friendly staff, not all but most. Especially Carlos the night security Guard who I lost 5 euros to on the champions league final. And Elle the receptionist who greeted me on arrival and had a massive smile on her face for the whole of my time there. I did have some issues with those with poor English. The leisure facility's are also a plus. Over all it is pricy but a nice experience.

Room Tip: High floor facing the sea requests are listened to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a weeks break with our 13 yr old and 2 year old daughters the staff were really polite and helpful if we needed them the entertainment wasn't up to much only one animation member and her was an older guy so didn't bother with the kids or English in that fact the food was ok but we ate out most evenings could do with better labeling on the food as was hard to work out what it was from the labels that are there plenty t of choice in the mornings tho rooms were ok but could do with upgrading other than that was a lovely holiday

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank beckieottley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

I spent a week at the Escorial with my 12 year old daughter and we both hated it ... Boring, rude, don't waste your money.
CONS: This hotel is for German and Spanish if your English you might aswell be invisible. There is 1 animation man who arranges bingo, darts, and dancing for over 50s he never spoke to us once. There was supposed to be aqua aerobics, kids disco, and games in the pool but we never saw this the whole time we were there. The music round the pool is 60s and 70s music and the evening entertainment is awful. The rooms are basic tv is all in German not 1 English Channel and our patio door was broken. Don't expect anyone in this hotel to talk to you they will just barge you around at dinner time like a pack of starving animals.

PRO: The spa is great and the spa staff are the only people that actually talk to the English. They were lovely and very helpfull.
The roof top hot tub was nice with a nice sunbathing area and an enclosed bit at the back for the nudists..
The food was ok it gets a bit dry under the heat lamps so I'd advise to go earley there was allways a nice salad and bread selection chips rice veg and a grill at the end with a chef cooking meat just ask her to leave what you want cooking an extra 5 mins or it will be underdone.
Please book somewhere else unless your over 50 and German

( The hotel next door looked fabulous )

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
6  Thank katie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Arrived at the hotel late Saturday evening and were served up a buffet which was a nice touch. Rooms ok but in need of some general upgrading. The hotel caters for the older guest, predominantly German with their entertainment. Disappointed to find only a couple of TV channels in English both news. I know you do not go on holiday to watch TV, but it would be nice to watch when getting ready or relaxing. Our room did have a good strong free wifi connection.Food was Ok not the best but definitely not the worse I've had. Getting sun beds was never a problem. The Spa was great and never too crowded, The games room was also very good but for some reason was rarely used. Our experience at the hotel was spoilt by the building work next door which was only yards from our pool. Overall a hotel that needs some updating in a resort that is looking very tired..

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.1 km away
Bull Eugenia Victoria & Spa
Bull Eugenia Victoria & Spa
#37 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,646 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#29 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
259 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#24 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,594 reviews
1 km away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,351 reviews
0.3 km away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#35 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel Escorial & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel Escorial & Spa

Address: Avenida de Italia 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: €101 - €214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bull Hotel Escorial & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel Escorial & Spa *** is located a 5 minute walk from the enchanting Playa del Inglés, at the south of the island of Gran Canaria, and a 30 minute walk from the spectacular Dunes of Maspalomas. It is a holiday hotel, with half-board and all-inclusive options available, located in one of the most renowned tourist areas of the Canarian archipelago. The rooms of the hotel are spacious, comfortable, and ideal for relaxing in one of the best areas of Gran Canaria. They have a private balcony, the perfect complement for resting and recharging your batteries. The establishment’s cuisine is another of its strengths, as it is varied and delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bull Hotel Escorial & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escorial Playa Del Ingles
Escorial Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Bull Hotel Escorial & Spa Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing