We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,799)
Filter reviews
3,799 results
Traveller rating
1,077
1,472
807
263
180
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,077
1,472
807
263
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team british bar no air con banana bar honolulu bar quiet pool quiet side salad gran canaria snack bar great holiday large hotel pool area slush puppies busy hotel plenty of choice half board
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 3,799 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to this hotel from 28th August to 11th September, had a good holiday, staff were great, cleaners were lovely very friendly rooms kept well clean every day, and animation team were brilliant with entertainment every day and night apart from sunday as they deserved a day off they worked really hard, only problem we had was with going all inclusive, not all the bars were included,you had to pay for drinks after 11pm, dining room was bedlam, food repeated weekly some of it bland, we ate out most nights so good job we took more money, plenty to see and do outside the hotel we did a few trips they were great, buggies,quads,jeep safari,and went on Africat a boat with food and drinks included plus speed boat, banana boat and jet ski was extra, last time we stayed here 13 years ago it was only halfboard which was better as they had at the time 5 al a carte restaurant's but now they are gone so you dont get much choice which is a shame it has been spoilt since adding all inclusive, decor is still the same we had to smile at that, so that's why we gave a 3 star rating sorry but won't be going back as was mistake going a second time because it ruined the memories of the first time we went, but will be going back to gran canaria as we love the island itself. Pictures are views from our room

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenaventura255, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kim,

First of all thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays in IFA Buenaventura.

We would like to apologize that this time your stay with us wasn´t as good as you expected and we will report the comments to the departments in charge.

Anyway, we would like you to give us a third chance and visit us in a future holiday!

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just come back from Gran Canaria after a week.
We arrived late with food provided when we got there. Was greeted by friendly staff who served us promptly.
Pros:
- Food was always fresh and plenty of it. Always two meats, fish, veg and 3 different types of potato. Plenty of salads & desserts.
- Drinks were always available & could taste the alcohol! Not watered down. Good amount of choice for all inclusive.
- Animation team were lively and spoke brilliant English. Had something for everyone.
- Hairdryer in the room was fab, a little thing but helped with the frizz!
- Rooms were spacious & very clean. Cleaners came in every day changed our towels and made our beds.
- Staff were all very friendly and always kept our drinks topped up on the evening with excellent, fast service.
- Seating area outside on the evening by the pool was lovely.
- 5 minutes walk from the beach, in a great location. Surrounded by loads of restaurants and bars.
- Shops in the hotel if you needed anything, also a vending machine for pharmaceutical bits.
- British bar on site if you wanted to watch the football.
- Pools were clean and always got a sun loungers (was probably due to being out of season).
Cons:
- Food was sometimes repetitive, just need to use your imagination!
- No air-conditioning, caused a nightmare when trying to dry & straighten hair. You can hire a air con unit which is worth it - however price tag was a shame.
- Dining room can get quite busy, isn't really a bad thing. It's just what you get from busy hotels. Only thing is, people then push - not the English we love a que!

Overall the hotel made our holiday very enjoyable and we would love to stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lissy3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenaventura255, Gerente at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lissy,

We would like to thank you for your review about your stay with us in IFA Buenaventura. Thank you specially for giving such a complete feedback, which we are sure it can help other future guests.

We are very satisfied to see that we have met your expectations and that you have enjoyed of your stay with us! We would love to welcome you again.

With our best regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room Tip: Big rooms although they don't have air conditioning
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
buenaventura255, Gerente at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just arrived back from staying at this hotel for a week as a family of 3 adults.
Overall the hotel was clean and the staff were usually friendly but the food was very basic and there is no air con.

The woman that checked us in was very rude, she didn’t say hello or greet us in any way, instead all she said was “paperwork and passports on the desk”. We didn’t have any of the confirmation printed as it was all on the travel agent’s app, and as this is 2018 other hotels accept this. I let her see the information and she took down our booking references and I could see our booking on the screen but I still had to email her over the paperwork. She was very awkward about the whole process and it made us a little apprehensive about how the rest of the staff would behave. The rest throughout the week were very helpful.
The hotel is in a good location as the beach is only 5 minutes away, the hotel does offer a bus but this takes longer than walking. To the left of the hotel there are a few bars and shops but at this time of year we found the bars to be very quiet. To the right of the hotel there are 2 shopping “centres” one called Kasbah and the other Yumbo. Both have shops, restaurants, night clubs and bars. They are both within walking distance of the hotel but if you are going for bars and nightlife I would recommend a hotel closer, Pacha is in the Kasbah centre. There were also lots of places to play mini golf if the entertainment at the hotel wasn’t great or if you wanted to stay up past 10.

The entertainment team at the hotel were good and did try and get people to play games at the pool during the day. The entertainment at night started at 7 for young children and then there was the animation show at 9 and finished at 10, then there was music until about 11 and then that was it. This was quite disappointing as it would have been nice to have something else going on for longer, a cabaret show would have been good to see later at night.

The pools are both good sizes with one being classed as the lively pool as there is music played at this end and games. We stayed at the quiet pool as we found it easier to get sunbeds here. If you want to get a sunbed at either pool then you would be best to be down by 8am to select your beds, some people were queuing from 7.30. We found that some mornings it was cloudy and the sun wasn’t properly up until about 11. The pools were clean and there was a bar but the quiet bar did close at about 5/6.

Our room was on the 4th floor and looked onto the lively pool. The lobbies and the rooms are all very dated with no air con and fridge. You could get the room "upgraded" and they would put a mini fridge in your room, we were more concerned about the air con but reception said there was nothing they could give us. They couldn't even offer us a fan so we had to sleep with the balcony doors open which wasn't ideal. We did have an issue on our first night with how thin the walls were as we were woken at 3am by our neighbours who had returned from a night out and were shouting in the lobby and in their room. We did inform reception and we didn't have an issue with them again. You can hear the rooms beside you and above all running water and walking about. The sealant around our bath was worn and this meant that when we had a shower the bathroom floor flooded and the bed nearest the bathroom wall ended up getting wet covers. Someone did eventually come and sort this for us but we had to inform them a few times. The balcony is a good size, there are a lot of trees and these covered some of the other balconies on the building to the left.

We were all inclusive and the food is very boring and very average, fussy eaters will be living on pasta, pizza and chips. There were only 3/5 bars where you could get drinks in the all-inclusive package which we thought was ridiculous as this takes away the point of being all inclusive, on top of this drinks (including water) were only served from 11-11. There was the drinks machine at the snacks bar but over the last few days these were turned off so we had to go the shops and buy bottles of water. You could order any spirit and mixer drink but there were only 4 cocktails you could choose from. There is only 1 dining room and you have to selected which time you would like to go for breakfast and dinner for your staff. The food at breakfast is very basic; eggs, sausages, bacon, bread, yoghurt, fruit and pastries. Lunch was severed form 1-3 and had a more exciting choice of food than dinner. Hot dogs and burgers were always available and you could get these at the small snack bar as well. Dinner would have been better if there were themed nights where you could try proper Spanish/local food or if there was something exciting for desert. Pasta, chips and pizza were always on offer. We did have an issue when my mum had chicken which was raw at one end and when we told the staff they weren’t bothered, probably used to this complaint. All-inclusive includes a snack at night, in other hotels this is usually leftovers from supper or lunch but not here. Every night the snack was Margherita pizza and ham sandwiches, a total waste of money. If you do stay here then take half board or bed and breakfast the food is not worth the money you pay.

There was free WIFI in the meeting bar and this sometimes worked when you were outside at the pool. Taxis were easy to get as the usually sat outside the hotel and the red and white taxis were cheap and you could see the meter.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenaventura255, Gerente at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Claire,

Thank you very much for staying at our Hotel IFA Buenaventura for your holidays in Playa del Inglés as well as for giving us such a complete feeback about it. We believe that this kind of comments like yours could help better other future guests to make up their mind when choosing a Hotel to stay at.

We are satisfied to see that in general we resulted to be what you had expected, but would like to apologize for all those other aspects you have not been that happy with and that could have made your stay with us greater. In relation with the lack of air conditioning, it is true we do not have. We regret you were not aware of this before, as it should be stated in all catalogues and brochures from the travel agencies and touroperators we work with.

In regard with your comment about our all inclusive food, we are very sorry if it did not match your expectations. We offer every day a great variety of food according to a 3-star Hotel and we try to please every different preference of all our guests. We are aware that this task could be tough as there should be many many diferences in taste between the almost 1500 guests we welcome, but we certainly try our best. We will pass this comments to the departments in charge.

On the other hand, concerning your comment about our staff, we would like to apologize for any misunderstanding that could have happened during your check-in process.

Either way we thank you again for participating and writting a review about your stay. We sincerely hope you would give us a second chance and you visit us again in the future.

With our best regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came here with my 2 friends for my birthday, for our first girls holiday. Our plan was to come on holiday just for a nice time to relax and get away from reality back in England. We arrived to the hotel at 11pm we were greeted by a friendly lady who quickly checked us in and gave us a bag with a sandwich, an apple and orange in with a bottle of water which we found very kind been as we were starving and very thirsty from travelling all day. She gave us our room key and directions to our room. We found our room in time, as we got inside the room was very hot so straight away we tried looking how to turn the air conditioning on because we specifically booked a hotel with air con in as anyone does when going to a hot country. So I went back down to ask for help to be told we have to pay €70 and a €30 deposit ! So for that night we rented a fan for €3 a day and €10 deposit however the fan did absolutely nothing you could not feel cold air any where near the room, so the next morning by 9am we were out looking for a fan to buy from shops near the hotel been as it would’ve worked out cheaper for us all to chip in to buying an electric fan than paying those extreme prices for air con. By the 3rd day I thought to check on the website I booked the holiday off to see if the hotel had changed their description logo from saying they had air con included to find that they have now changed it and saying they haven’t got it included. The animation team were the best part of my holiday, very friendly and tried getting everyone involved in everything, the night time shows were great and very thought about. The food is really nice but not a lot to choose from, nearly the same every night but just different meats. Hotel is very clean and the maid comes round everyday to change your towels, make your bed, empty bins and mop the floor. One day my friend left a lot of stuff out of her bag on her bed so the maid never made it which I thought was a very polite thing to do been as she must’ve felt like she shouldn’t be touching other people’s personal belongings. Some staff were nice and helpful however the waiters/waitresses let the rest of the staff down for me because they seem very arrogant and just rushed off and they didn’t even make an effort to smile or feel welcomed. There were 2 bar men who were quite rude towards me and my friends on numerous occasions. We went to see how much it would be for a Thai massage and the man showed us where he would be doing the massage and it just looked like a mattress on the floor with a blanket over the top with 2 pillows. We went all inclusive and went to one bar in the hotel where we had to still pay for the drinks. 2 days before the end of our holiday my friend jumped into the pool and had to quickly get back out because of cutting her foot on broken marble at the bottom of the pool, her toe was pouring with blood because of how big and deep the cut was, which had then ruined iher last couple of days because she couldn’t go in the pool because of how much it stung her.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenaventura255, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chelsea,

First of all, thank you for choosing Hotel IFA Buenaventura to spend your holidays.

We would like to say, that in our website (lopesan.com) you can ckeck all the services we offer in the hotel. Unfortunately, we don´t have air con in the rooms as we are 3 stars hotel, but we work with an external company that provides us different services so that guests can rent them. So regarding the information provided by the hotel you can check there is no missing information or that we cheat our guests. If you enter the website you could also see that there are two bars that aren´t included in the All Inclusive service.

For any other further information, please enter in our website lopesan.com

Best regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews