We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation in the heart of Playa del Ingles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #11 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good value accommodation in the heart of Playa del Ingles”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just returned from a week staying at the Buenos Aires and enjoyed the break. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff are professional and polite. The complex is located in the heart of Playa del Ingles but the accommodation feels fairly private, with its own enclosed pool / sunbathing area, snack bar and small private parking area. There are a couple of small supermarkets and cafes / bars nearby and the Yumbo Centre is just around the corner, hosting a full range of shops, restaurants and entertainment. It's about a 15 minute walk to the sand dunes and beach, although you can get a bus or taxi right outside the Buenos Aires ... you might want to head slightly further along the beach to Maspalomas or Melenores (next to the lighthouse) for a nice change of scene. Seemed to be mostly couples, singles or groups of friends staying at Buenos Aires, so not many kids here in January ... mix of nationalities, mostly British, German and Scandavians of all ages. Only a few very minor niggles that I have with the Buenos Aires - (1) there was no hair dryer (not really an issue for me, but you might want to take your own); (2) all the TV channels were in Spanish (which is probably not much use for the majority of guests); (3) bedrooms face onto a corridor and main road at the front of the building (so there's some background noise if you're a very light sleeper, and this is likely to be more of an issue during the peak of the summer season ... you may want to take ear plus just in case); and (4) there is no air conditioning (which isn't a big issue in January, but again could be at hotter times of the year). But overall the Buenos Aires presents good quality, affordable accommodation in a central location and I would happily stay here again if returned to Gran Canaria.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same. At the rear of the building they have a balcony that overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anon092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    305
    75
    15
    9
See reviews for
89
343
74
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Second time at this hotel. Rooms clean and tidy. Staff friendly and service very good. Had two small technical problems in the room which were fixed within 15 mins of making reception aware.Pool area is nice and clean. There was one family here rest were all groups of friends or couples so was nice not to have lots of screaming children.
One small downside was the maid service, although its good they come everyday, on 2 days I put the do not disturb sign on the door only for it to be ignored and the maids come in and wake you up anyway at 10am. This probably wouldnt be a problem if was on a top floor as maids wouldnt be so early then. Will stay here again next time I go

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenjust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have just returned for a weeks holiday at the Buenos Aires hotel.

The hotel was booked through hotels4u.com who came out cheaper than other hotel websites. The website (and others) claim this is a 3* hotel however I would say it is more 2* and this is confirmed with the official 2* rating at the main entrance.

Firstly as mentioned in previous reviews the location is excellent. Next door to the Yumbo Centre (a gay hot spot) and about a 10 minute walk from the beach.

The apartment itself was compact but well equipped and very clean. We asked for a double bedroom but they only had a twin room apartment and as the hotel was full we were unable to change rooms. The beds were rather firm and we found it more comfortable to sleep on the sofa bed - for some reason I always find this when staying in Gran Canaria! The shower was very powerful and usually lovely and warm although on a few occasions it wasn't however I assume this is because everybody tried to shower at the same time. Only one small bar of soap is provided to remember to bring your toiletries especially as they are more expensive over in Gran Canaria.

The pool area is nice with plenty of sunbeds/umbrellas and is quite protected from the wind. Thankfully there was no need to wake up early to run down with your towel to get a bed. It was a nice touch that the pool was heated although beware that one side is very deep.

The hotel was mainly full of older (45+) straight couples, although speaking to friends who visit Gran Canaria often this is very common in January.

We booked half board and wished we had gone self catering. The food was served buffet style and was of an OK standard however it just simply was not hot enough - even if you went to the restaurant as soon as the buffet opened! A previous review mentioned that there was a microwave to heat food but the plates were too big to fit in (I tried!) and this should not be necessary. The small older lady who waited on the tables in the evening was lovely.

It was very frustrating that we wanted a late check out but were told everyday to come back the next day to organise it only to be told on the last day that it was not possible. Not sure why they could not tell us this from the beginning?

In January the weather was very mild (20 degrees most days) so the room was always at a pleasant temperature however the hotel does not have air conditioning or ceiling fans so I'm not sure how comfortable it would be to stay in the hot summer months. Bear this in mind when booking.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you choose a self catering option and are not looking for a romantic get away - after all Playa del Ingles is great to party!

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool so it does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talktomarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

It was several years since we last stayed at The Buenos Airies aparthotel which has since undergone a complete refit. Whilst the rooms are quite small, everything is well fitted and kept spotlessly clean. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and the public areas were kept to a very high standard. The location of this apart hotel is on the corner of the Yumbo Centre and conveniently situated for restaurants, shops and bus services to all parts of the island. However, if you are looking for a quiet holiday, this location would probably not suit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here in July 2011 and can say i was aprehensive as to what the accomadtion was like because we only paid 200 pound for the week. I have stayed in gran canaria before but over the other side of playa des ingles and couldnt find the yumbo centre. Upon arrival i was pleasently suprised it was a superb hotel rooms were spacious and had everything you needed for self catering. Maid cleaned everyday it was spotless and they even did the washing up. The pool area was perfect and was always plenty of sunbeds. All staff were really friendly. Because this hotel is right next to the yumbo centre which is where the gay nightlife happens there are gay people staying here but they are the most nicest politest people you can meet. Have just tried to book up to go back in March but it is fully booked :(. Highly reccomened and if you stay here pay a visit to the red cow accross the road and shenanigans underneath the red cow. If you fancy a tatoo there is an immaculate tatto shop in the red cow prestint veryyyy verryyy clean. Best holiday ever.

Room Tip: every room looks onto the pool so you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danielle159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.4 km away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,566 reviews
0.4 km away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,491 reviews
0.4 km away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,570 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,238 reviews
2.1 km away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Buenos Aires

Property: Aparthotel Buenos Aires
Address: Avenida Alfereces Provisionales 29, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Aparthotel Buenos Aires 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Buenos Aires Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Aparthotel Buenos Aires Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing