We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
AxelBeach Maspalomas(Playa del Ingles)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cordial Biarritz Bungalows(Playa del Ingles)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Margaritas(Playa del Ingles)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$172
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Seaside Sandy Beach(Playa del Ingles)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$218
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bohemia Suites & Spa(Playa del Ingles)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Nayra(Playa del Ingles)
US$252
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apartamentos Dorotea(Playa del Ingles)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveller rating
423
324
82
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
324
82
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish restaurantdunas barmain restaurantlovely hoteldunes barno smoking signsspecialty restaurantsindoor seatingpool areawalk in showernon smokinga garden view roomseparate toiletentertainment teamsunbed situationlarge flat screen tvlounge bar
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 846 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016

recently returned from a week at this hotel , its only a few weeks old and you can tell as everything Is brand new, modern , tidy , works as it should and no sign of damage or disrepair so this gave it a nice feeling , I saw some photos of what it looked like before the refurbishment and its an amazing transformation well done. food was acceptable to good for an all inclusive not the best I have ever had but certainly nothing to complain about either , tried the Asian restaurant which was nice as well for a more relaxed change still buffet style but less people in at once , food was always plentiful , the pool was overcrowded and you had to be up very early it seemed to grab a sunbed , many days we came down before 9 and it was a struggle to find a bed - always did I will note but not always in the nicest spot to spend the day , this action is fine if you really want to up at the crack of dawn but I was on holiday and didnt , Hotel STATE no reserving of Sunbeds then please be brave and enforce that I saw many days towels draped over sunbeds and no sign of people for literally hours expect as in the shade morning and sun later this was why and thats not acceptable Riu , bar service was on the whole good but can get very busy but if your on beer / wine self service helps this , - location is ok not great beach is 10 mins walk if you don't want bus service and there are local bus stops within a 2 min walk from hotel if you dont want to hire a car you can then see a little more of the island at a reasonable price and regular service Puerto de mogan was lovely - hotel wise you should not be disappointed and worth a visit while everything is so nice and new :) hope its kept up like that for many years - enjoy !

Room Tip: Higher floors give best views , garden view is better
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank max97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

The newly refurbished hotel is stunning. Check in was quick and easy. Theres free wifi in reception and around the pool area. Our room was spacious, modern and the bed was huge and comfortable. We had a garden view room which over looked the neighbouring hotel pool and had views down to the sea. Room was cleaned every day with fresh towels. Theres a card to leave on the bed when u want ur bed changed. We never had a problem getting a spot at the pool even at 1pm one day we jus moved sunloungers around to suit us. Entertainment staff are hard working and friendly, evening entertainment wasnt great bt not that bad either. Bar staff were really efficient amd friendly and there was a great selection of drinks including a little fizz!! Food was great, good selection at all times and snacks and drinks throughout the night. Japanese restraunt was lovely. Hotels an easy 10 min walk to beach. Its close to both Kasbah and Yumbo centres. Theres a great Irish bar called Mulligans near by too. Couldnt fault hotel or staff. Would definitely reccommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank kellyann_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Just come back from a 2 week stay at this hotel.the hotel was fantastic,food excellent always a lot of choice.the asian restaurant is very good.staff very friendly and worked extreamly hard.the refurb is amazing.pool area nice but very overcrowded,have to get out early in morning to get sunbeds.the hotel would benefit from another pool.would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wigan7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay here.

Ok the pros
Rooms very clean, great shower.
Hotel fully refurbished and modernised.
Staff friendly, polite and helpful.
Animation team work so hard and they try their very best.
Food was good standard and plentiful and restaurant staff very attentive.
Lovely pool.
The staff with the exception of the maids are all very nice.

As for the cons
Maids not so friendly, one in particular decided to throw our swim wear in the bathroom bin! Along with my nieces expensive face wash! When asked why she shrugged her shoulders and refused to apologise!!
Mould in my marmalade.
Chef in such a hurry he splashed hot oil on my 6 year old daughter.
No professional evening shows throughout our stay, just left to animation team.
Riu Papayas states 24hour all inclusive, however, no food to be found after dinner!
No jacuzzi either which is a shame.

I expected much more from the Riu.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Flora765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Papayas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond. First of all, we are glad to see that you have had a pleasant stay at RIU Hotels&Resorts. We do our best to make our guests feel like welcome.

Our staff in RIU signed a compromise to minimize a non-professional treatment to our guests. All kind of offensive behavior and complaints are taken seriously and immediate measures are taken to protect our beloved guest. We are very concerned to hear that you didn’t experience a good treatment from some of our staff. However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and upset that you experienced during your stay.

Furthermore we would like to inform you that at our Clubhotel Riu Papayas we provide 24h of all-inclusive. At our Lobby Bar there is drink and snack service as well during the night.

On the other hand we are glad to read that you liked the hotel and rooms.

We hope to see you again in RIU so that you can enjoy the quality, service and attention that define our hotels.

Bets regards,

Clubhotel Riu Papayas
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

I stayed here for a week in July 2016 with my cousin (18 and 19) and we both really enjoyed our stay! The transfer from the airport was roughly 30 mins including other stop offs. We arrived late at night so not many staff around.. Ensure you ask for your room number and all inclusive bands as we were not told this or given them at first.
Sunbeds around the pool were usually filling up at 7:30am so if you want one, get down early! The ones further away from reception had sun all day, the ones nearer reception had sun after lunch so were better if you didn't want the whole day in the sun.
The rooms were lovely and spacious, we stayed in room 536 which was bang in the middle of the hotel on the fifth floor with a view of the pool so definatly recommend asking for this room. Each room had a complimentary safe and mini fridge, there was a table and sofas, table and chairs on the balcony, walk in shower. The room doors don't automatically close so make sure you close them and check it locked.
The food was really nice with a great choice.. Breakfast from pastries to cheese and biscuits to cooked breakfast.. Lunch from rolls with various fillings to meats, fish, salad, cakes, ice cream.. Dinner similar to lunch sometimes with treats like pate, smoked salmon and prawns. Drinks throughout the day and meal times was self service including wine and beer, spirits and cocktails available at the bar.
All the staff were very friendly, the entertainment team were wonderful, always smiling and makkng everyone happy, filled with entusiasm. Never spoke to anyone apart from Kuba (Not sure on spelling) so can't comment on others but he was really nice and an amazing dancer and taught us to do some latin dancing during the Riu Fit slot of the day. Please give him a shoutout from me :( They work hard helping with activities from darts to rifle shooting to water activities. The evening shows performed by them were also very good and funny which starts at 9:15 for about an hour.
The surroundings are very towny, follow the road opposite the hotel a bit to the left to take you to the beach, about 15/20 mins walk where you'll find a sandy beach with bars, shops and restaurants. There is a free shuttle bus several times a day.
We went on an excursion to Palmitos Park which costed €30 each with €4.40 return bus number 45 ticket from outside the hotel. They have everything from meerkats to birds to parrots to dolphins.
Taxis are a good way of getting around if you don't want to walk.. About €6 for a 15/20mins drive.

Room Tip: 5th floor gives great views.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Beckie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews