We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Servatur Waikiki(Playa del Ingles)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IFA Buenaventura Hotel(Playa del Ingles)
US$112
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Occidental Margaritas(Playa del Ingles)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Seaside Sandy Beach(Playa del Ingles)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$306/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bohemia Suites & Spa(Playa del Ingles)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AxelBeach Maspalomas(Playa del Ingles)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
LABRANDA Playa Bonita(Playa del Ingles)
US$193
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$351/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$79
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Hotel Riu Don Miguel(Playa del Ingles)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
153
94
30
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
94
30
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teammain poolshower traysqueen tribute bandfish poolamstel lagerturn left out of hotelquality towelsenjoyed the evening showssnacks round the poolsand dunespowerful hairdryerrabbit stewrefurbished rooms areencourage guestsbathroom floorrainfall shower
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were welcomed by very friendly staff on arrival and had emailed hotel requesting a high floor room which we were given. We had a sea and sand dunes view and a balcony with sun all afternoon. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean with a fridge and kettle etc You do pay for a safe. Yes, the shower does leak water but it is manageable if you are careful. There are good quality toiletries in the bathrooms. The food was excellent with a huge choice including fabulous creamy porridge at breakfast and the quality of the 'all inclusive' drinks was first class. Wonderful coffee served all day. There was a microwave In the main restaurant if you felt the food was a little on the cool side but this was some of the best all inclusive food we have ever had. The outside pool food and ice cream was available nearly all day and sandwiches in the main hall 24 hours a day. There was plenty of sunbeds and they have recently opened a further large pool at the top end of the complex. There are also some very nice quiet sunbathing areas. The hotel is about 5 mins walk from the sand dunes and about 15 mins to the main beach area with sunbeds etc The hotel does run a bus service down to the main beach. Plenty of shopping areas close by and an excellent cheap bus service out of the resort. Porta Rico is worth a visit and Mogan (little Venice) is beautiful and about 1 hour bus ride. You can also get the glassbottom boat from Porta Rico for about 11 Euros return. We travelled in late April so the hotel was not full therefore we had no problem in the dining room at all and there was always 'outside seating' available. All in all we had a wonderful holiday in a great hotel with wonderful staff

Room Tip: High floor with sea view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank forest62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeinGon, Guest Relations Manager at Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest forest62,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Abora Catarina Hotel in Gran Canaria and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are taking the opportunity to thank you for your kind comments about the food. We always trying to provide the best quality service and offer a big variety of food and drinks for the entire hotel guest and we are very happy to know that you enjoy it.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we are grateful you took the time to specify it. We would especially like to thank you for the comments you made concerning our staff. We are sure that they will be very satisfied to hear that there are guests who appreciate their job.

We hope that you will continue to give us the pleasure of hosting you when next you are planning your vacation as we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the hotel was fantastic. the all inclusive was the best iv ever been too. you can serve your own beer, wine, slush puppys, any coffee, food is on going all day. the selection was brilliant the hotel has little gems allover.there are two main pools and whirl pool. and childrens pool then theres another pool and bar right at the other end of hotel. we only found it after 3 days. the hotel and grounds are massive there is sunbeds in different areas all over in secluded sections. only draw back for me as a smoker i payed 48 pound extra for a balcony because i smoke (filthy habbit i know) but wasent allowed to smoke on it even though i could smoke on the balcony at reception which was directly under mine but i would definetly go back again

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egiersbergICA, Manager at Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dave,
We are very pleased to read your comment and we appreciate very much that you shared your experience. We do know about the smoking facilities and we have to got further especially having many kids around.
We would be much more happy to welcome you and your family again to the Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels and wish a nice remaining spring time.
With best regards and... hasta pronto,

Enrique Giersberg Carrión
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve broken this review down to paint the whole picture.

Hotel location:-
The hotel is huge and located in Maspalomas next to the round a bout for the main beach. This is one of the large hotels and comprises of 5 blocks. The hotel has a bus service to beach but you can walk through the Riu Palace to the dunes, (not for the faint hearted)
The location makes walking to many areas very easy, Yumbo three roundabout away perfect for pride. The parade float also started right by the hotel and went straight past it. All in all perfect location for our needs.

Reception and check in:-
We were greeted by the friendly team at reception and very efficiently dealt with, our room was on the top floor with sea views, meal times etc were explained. All inclusive wrist bands given straight away. Off we then went to find are room. Now word of warning get your bearings quickly as a few of us on a few occasions got lost.

The room:-
We had a suite which faced the beach/ sea view, it was spacious, little fridge (no water provided) good sized bathroom with plenty of good quality towels provided.
The shower had two shower heads but leaked all the time very badly even making its way out into the corridor, this meant we used all the towels everyday to ensure we didn’t slip, in my opinion badly designed and drainage clearly not up to the challenge.
The hair dyer was great do not need to pack your own.
The air conditioner did not work at all! On three occasions I asked reception to sort this out but to no avail which meant the room temp
Never went below 26c making sleeping a problem due to sun shining straight onto the balcony early in the morning. We mentioned both the shower and air con to reception. I note many guests I spoke to a round had issues. For the money we were paying this was unacceptable and a basic for any room of a 4 star establishment. The maids were wonderful and almost every day paid a visit, clean towels given and more for the leaky shower.
I must also note the linen was not change frequently enough given the length of stay and the lack of air con. Another basic for a 4 star.
The balcony was massive with stunning views - see pictures.

The all inclusive:-
The food was very nice given the size of complex, the restaurant served the main meals with pool and lobby serving snacks at various times. Word of warning for men you are not allowed vests or sleeveless tops at dinner time however woman were allowed and with a lot out on display as well. Really Annoying.
The quality of the food was consistently great and not Iceland quality food!
The bar areas served all inclusive spirits till 12 midnight but sometime depending of who was working the bar would finish earlier without warning. Bar service times displayed but not always followed, the lobbies had a wine, beer, soft drinks coffee machine service 24 hours, but sometime the coffee machine was out of order.

The pool area and animation teams:-
Their are 3 pools with one located at other side of the grounds through beautiful kept grounds. The jacuzzi only worked half way through the holiday. The main pool was more for family’s with other playing music.
Plenty of sun loungers available! Which was great. The Animation team were so friendly hard working they made sure we were kept entertained and if you didn’t want to play any games they didn’t keep bothering you.
At night they put on must of the entertainment which some times was really cheesy but you could see they did their best with what they had. I suggest the hotel chain looks at booking more entertainment from outside the hotel adding a bit more variety.

The staff were always so helpful, most friendly, and all but a few not polite.

With the amount of money this hotel charges the refurbished areas need finishing, as showers leaking, tiles on Floors stained or cracks, air con not working, jacuzzi not working.

I personally will not be back to this hotel, certainly not for what they are charging and what you get.
Their are other facilities available for use I.e safe (payable at reception) slow WiFi, tv in room, tea making facilities, beach towels with deposits.
I would also say this hotel isn’t for younger adults, but more family’s and older clients.

All in all we had a great holiday but with these aspects mentioned it’s not 5 star, get them sorted and am sure you’ll receive many 5 stars in the future.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Terrybakeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egiersbergICA, Manager at Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Terrybakeruk,
Thanks for your review and thanks for the detailed comment that we have read carefully. We want to point out that what you pay for a package is not what the hotel charges and bare in mind that this rate include transfer, flights, fees for transport, airport and so on.
We are sorry that we could not match completely your expectations and we do a big effort to keep and maintain all in best shape.
We wish you a great spring time and we do hope to welcome you again in another period when every thins has been settled.
With best regards,

Enrique Giersberg Carrión
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a fun, happy and pleasent stay. The food is excellent, service really good and we loved the location. 300 m to the dunes, easy to find bus rides to Anfi and Amadore beach for a day trip, Supermarkets close by and nice shopping centers, markets, entertainment just a few blocks away. You could easily enjoy morning walks by the sea as well as evening walks in the dunes or up among the centers and resturants.

We changed our first room, that where by the road, to a one above the garden. A really good choice for us as a family. Nice view, close to the playground, garden and both of the pool areas. We never, not once had problem finding sun beds. Lovley!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annamartina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeinGon, Guest Relations Manager at Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Annamartina78,

We would like to start off by expressing how appreciative we are that you have taken your time to dedicate this great review online about our Hotel Abora Catarina.

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us 110%. For our part, we can only commit to continuing to improve going forwards so that you can continue enjoying your time in our hotel in the future.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We spent an entire week in the hotel and we had a very nice stay. We spent very nice time and had a good relax for the week we spent in the hotel. The hotel is a bit far from the beach, but it is very close to the dunes of Maspalomas, it is a very nice place to see.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tfourgeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeinGon, Guest Relations Manager at Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest tfourgeux,

Acting as a second home for our visitors is a great responsibility for us. Our desire is that everything should be perfect so that our guests’ only concern is enjoying both the hotel and this beautiful island. Comments such as yours encourage us to continue, to keep working
hard, reminding us that the work is worth it. We are happy that your time with us met your expectations and we hope that it will not be too long until we see you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews