We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel with great views of the dunes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Ranked #4 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The hotel was easy to find and is better than average but less than very good.I would say it is a little over priced but has some very fine features.The decor is minimal with an Ikea feel to the whole hotel. Rooms clean and tidy with good paint work and no mould/damp that I could see. Lift is very small and more than two people in it is cosy to say the least.
TV is decent but could do with a few more English channels as there are many German channels. No English paper in the breakfast room which would have been a normal touch .
Room cleaned daily but shower gels etc not replaced on a regular basis.

Gym looked fine and sauna was good.

Buffet breakfast was excellent .Great range of cold and hot food. Good coffee machine too.

Pool lovely and plenty of loungers .Bars fine with decent prices and ranges of drinks.

Wifi reasonable / good especially in public areas.

Local restaurants are pretty average to be honest but the dunes and the beaches are lovely.

Well worth a trip to Puerto de Mogan,which is about 30 minutes away. Pretty little town with some better restaurants and a lovely port

Staff friendly without being sparkling .

All in all about a 3.9 out of five as the cost was on the higher side of reasonable.

Room Tip: .Only ground floor rooms are allowed to have sun loungers.None on balconies on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 39Liam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMedia-SMSH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Santa Monica Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Mr. Liam,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the comments you made concerning our staffand environment.

We will certainly pass on your comments and we are sure they will be received with great excitement.

Regarding your comments about that it is over priced in general, we will pass your comments to the Management.

Secondly we must say that we loved hearing that you enjoyed staying in the hotel, our daily effort pays off with comments like yours.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

With kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

I stayed there for one week and I really loved it. A beautifull view to the sea and the dunes. The diner buffet is very good (maybe there are a few suggestions for improvement). The breakfast buffet is top (fresh orange juice, spanish sparkling wine.. ). Very nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nogwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMedia-SMSH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Santa Monica Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing our Santa Mónica Suites Hotel for your holidays at Gran Canaria.

Thank you for giving us a positive rating. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us 100%. For our part, we can only commit to continuing to improve going forwards so that you can continue enjoying your time in our hotel in the future.

We have taken note of your feedback as well, which will helps us to improve in the future.

We hope to see you soon again and remain

with kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We were here for 10 days and didn't even once hear our neighbour hotel visitors which is great. The beds were large enough to fit us tall dutch people and the rainshower was really great! The staff was really friendly and really helped us with our luggage that came damaged and later from the airport.
The only things we didn't like was the bad (machine) coffee, the really terrible Wi-Fi and the food would sometimes be cold.. but this didn't ruin our great stay at Santa Monica suites!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SNNpnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMedia-SMSH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Santa Monica Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our hotel and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on the website Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we are especially glad about your positive valuation of our environment and the service.
Your detailed description and the professional analysis of your travel experiences are not only valuable for other travellers, but also a wonderful feedback to share with all members of our team.

Regarding the cold food and the coffee at the restaurant, we will pass your comments to the department in charge for further improvements.

And of course regarding the wifi connection we are searching day after day to improve it.

Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Room with view on dunes. Very nice decorated. Bathroom with good shower. We like that breakfast is served till 11AM. We did not had lunch here so we cannot comment on lunch or dinner. Breakfast is extended and very good

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HenkBOvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMedia-SMSH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Santa Monica Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.

Our main objective is offering excellent service to our clients. We work hard day after day to be able to achieve this and there is no better reward than reading an opinion as positive as the one which you have written. Thank you.

We hope to maintain this connection in the future and have the pleasure of a visit from you in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon here last week. It is a beautiful hotel, modern and impressive throughout.
We were greeted with a complimentary drink of champagne and two bottles of water in the fridge in the room which was a nice touch. Although the room itself didn't have a kettle however I assume this is just a British expectation!

We had been allotted the 7:30-9:00 slot for breakfast, it was quieter the earlier you went as can be imagined however even during the latter period there was still plenty of room to enjoy the delicious and vast spread of food laid out. My husband found the food to be lacking however he does enjoy a traditional style full English whereas this is mostly a continental style buffet.

The hotel is in an idyllic location with views of the dunes and beach from the balcony. The beach is just a short walk away (5-10 minutes) which we visited everyday. There are also plenty of restaurants and local shops for refreshments without having to go too far.

I was impressed with the contemporary style of the hotel in general. The pool area was spacious with plenty of sun beds free when the pool opened at 10.

My only issues were that the hotel room bed was actually two single beds pushed together which was a disappointment. It would be nice if there was an option for a double bed. The WiFi was very intermittent also evening entertainment started around 10pm through to 12 and could be heard from inside the rooms which isn't ideal when trying to sleep however I appreciate the hotel wish to offer entertainment for guests at the bar.

Apart from those small things I would recommend the hotel highly. Very professional and friendly staff, high standard of cleanliness and great location.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Áine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMedia-SMSH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Santa Monica Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and having chosen our Santa Mónica Suites Hotel to spend your holidays.

We will certainly pass on your comments and we are sure they will be received with great excitement. Secondly we must say that we loved hearing that you enjoyed staying in the hotel, our daily effort pays off with comments like yours.

Regarding the kettle service and the double bed, we will pass your comments to the department in charge for further improvements.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

With kind regards,
Guest Relations


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 km away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,650 reviews
0.8 km away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,324 reviews
0.7 km away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,745 reviews
1.6 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,442 reviews
1.3 km away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Suites Hotel

Address: Paseo Costa Canaria 116, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: €123 - €315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Monica Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Monica Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartmentos Santa Monica Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Santa Monica Suites Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing