We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
259
113
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
113
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand dunes pool area modern hotel plenty of sunbeds direct access to the beach exceptional location glass lift short walk palmitos park and aqualand the ground floor british channels gran canaries breakfast and dinner buffet booked bed and breakfast big bed rooms are huge cita shopping centre
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SocialMedia-SMSH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Santa Monica Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

You won't be disappointed if you stay here. Ideally placed between Playa & Melonaras. Bus stop nearby to explore the island.
Spotlessly clean hotel with wonderful friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble. Great pool but so near the Dunes & beach it'd be shameful not to visit. Lovely breeze in beach too.
Welcomed with Cava & chocolate. Free water in room on arrival. Fantastic terrace room. Fridge, air con & safe all in the price. Fabulous selection at breakfast (hot & cold). Towels for pool & beach provided.
If you plan to eat in restaurant at night gents need long trousers.
Would definitely return if ever go back to Gran Canaria

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMedia-SMSH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Santa Monica Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen in our hotel and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on the website Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we are especially glad about your positive valuation of our environment and the service.

Your detailed description and the professional analysis of your travel experiences are not only valuable for other travellers, but also a wonderful feedback to share with all members of our team.

Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Hotel is very good very modern! However just listened to the worst DJ I have ever seen Sundancegc if you go to the bar on the first floor and he is setting up leave straight away don't waste your time.......Barry White music should of be condemned years ago!
Santa Monica please please please sack him he is ruining your hotel!!!!

Room tip: Shame about the shower flooding the bathroom......spirit levels are such an important piece of equipment!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gwilliams01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMedia-SMSH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Santa Monica Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our hotel and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on the website Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you liked our Hotel.
Your detailed description and the professional analysis of your travel experiences are not only valuable for other travellers, but also a wonderful feedback to share with all members of our team.

Regarding the DJ, we will pass your comments to the direction for further improvements.

Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Myself and my daughter stayed here from the 30th August to the 6th September, we had an amazing stay. The hotel is very modern and beautifully decorated, very clean in all areas. Staff are friendly and very helpful, nothing is too much of a problem for them. Right next to the beach and an array of restaurants and bars. The Cita shopping centre is a short walk up the road and you can get to Palmitos park and Aqualand by bus from the shopping centre., otherwise it's €50 in taxi (way too expensive). British channels on the TV were BBC 1, 2 and ITV other channels were mainly German or Spanish. Food in the restaurant was nice, we only ate breakfast there and ate out otherwise. Plenty of loungers at the beach and water sports/activities. We did Parasailing for €40 per person. We did have a small problem with ants in the bathroom and bedroom area but that was soon sorted by the hotel staff. Also found a dead cockroach in the bathroom one morning but that was the only one I saw throughout the whole week there. The pool area is nice with plenty of loungers. Overall we had an amazing stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay her again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Spiritroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMedia-SMSH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Santa Monica Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guest Spiritroc,

First of all, thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your trust in us by choosing our hotel for your holiday stay.

We fully understand that some of these details you inform us about, like regarding the ants in the room and bathroom, have contributed to a bad image and memory about the hotel, but we trust that you will also remember your hole stay and will return to give us a new opportunity to do it better.

We assure you that your feedback has been forwarded to the management and to the head of the Technical Service department, so that our services can be improved and we apologise for the inconveniences. We appreciate, therefore, that you took the time to inform us about it, as we are sure that it will help us in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Look at this place! Playa de Ingles is a dump someone forgot to burn to the ground in the 80s. From run down hotels, to run down "shopping centers" to restaurant that serve garbage for food. This place is a hell hole for people to cheap to spend money on their vacation.

So how does the Santa Monica Suites Hotel fit in here?

It's a freshly renovated 4-star hotel. Pricing is moderate and staff is friendly. It does have free WiFi. There is nothing between the hotel and the beach.. except for some lovely dunes.

Since all the interior was upgraded recently, the large rooms all sport a flat screen TV, modern air conditioning and even USB plugs for your phones. On the other hand, I couldn't find out what some of the light switches actually do, other than just being there.

The fridge take up a lot of room under the desk but can't store bottles larger than 1 litre.

Bed and sofa are very comfy and since there are little exterior light visible at night it is perfect for a relaxing sleep.

Downsides:

Yes, the rooms are clean and taken care of very well... except the floor, which is a shame.

WiFi is flaky, so if you rely on a stable network conection, this might be difficult. Strange enough it seems to work better for Notebooks than mobile devices. We had problems getting a stable and fast-enough connection on our phones, were unable to connect our tablet, but the notebook, never had any issues connecting.

The kitchen is nice for breakfast. They try to make a good impression to change smale thing on a daily basis, but fall short in the details. At Check-in you will be asked to upgrade to a dinner option at a special rate. If you really have to, only take the the discounted "trial" for your arrival day. There are tons of other options around the island to spend money for a good dinner.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bindermichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMedia-SMSH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Santa Monica Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guest bindermichi,

First of all we would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and for having chosen our Santa Mónica Suites Hotel this year.

In our daily improvement process the comments of our guests are one of the most important part for being able to continue fulfilling wishes and expectations and we apologize to hear that in your case we did not manage it at all.

We are very sorry to hear that you had problems with the wifi connection. We've already informed our Technical Service Team to have a look where there problem should be and fix it.

As for your comment about prefering to have dinner outside in the town rather than having dinner at our Hotel, we are really sorry to read that and we would like to inform you that we have transmitted your comments to the responsible departments and to the Manager to improve every day and satisfy our clients.

Regarding your comment about the cleaning(floor), we have already informed the Housekeeper in order to take it into account.

If there should be any problem or question you have in advance our public relations department is always glad to help you and find solutions for making your stay as comfortable as possible.

We would like to assure you that we take all guest feedback into great consideration as it is your opinions that count the most.

Thank you again for your stay and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews