We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveller rating
307
367
154
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
367
154
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plenty of sunbeds lounge bar pool side great holiday evening entertainment german guests salad room upgrade reception staff fabulous location spent two weeks cold pool bars and restaurants the air conditioning stretches for miles friendly hotel ice cream
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 917 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 wks in this hotel and we really had an enjoyable time. The hotel was lovely, clean and spacious, the staff were really helpful on the reception desk, very friendly and made us all feel welcome. The children had a fab time... staff were very friendly to them at all times. Sunbeds was a bit of a mission as they were all taken by 9:30am but being so close to the beach and areas to explore we didn’t really find it a problem. The pools were lovely and very clean too. It has been an overall lovely holiday and would definetly recommend staying there.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dhipgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFA_Altamarena, General Manager at IFA Altamarena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Estimado cliente,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at IFA Altamarena. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 
Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Saludos,
IFA Altamarenateam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

1) NOISE - The entertainment & its aftermath  go on until midnight & beyond. The guests seem to be very loud & i have been woken up every night since i got here. They seem to have no manners & talk & laugh loudly down the corridor regardless of the time.
2) NOISE FROM HOTEL RENNOVATION NEXT DOOR- This isn't just a renovation, its an empty shell of an entire hotel being built. The other day i was woken at 5am with drilling and hammering and this noise also travels/echoes far down the beach! It wasn't every day but enough to be an annoyance.
3) ROOMS AND RECEPTION STAFF- GERMANS DEFINITELY GET PRIORITY AS OTHER REVIEWS MENTION! I requested a room towards the end of  corridor 3 months in advance but did not get it and after 4 nights of being kept up by the entertainment & people passing my room i asked if there was a different one. The lady almost offered me one in a few days time then her colleague who was the older german man with glasses told her in a different language not to confirm to me, not realising i understood, extremely rude man.He also kept me waiting for 6 minutes stood at reception because he was in the back room laughing around & didnt even say sorry when he finally noticed me! German guests given the best rooms, i expect because the receptionists allocate them & they are mostly German. This is the first hotel ive been to in 15 years that hasn't fufilled the request when asking so in advance.
4) MEALS & WAITORS - The other morning i went into breakfast just to get some coffee & accidently spilt a drop on the table. A waitor came marching over waving his hand at the drop because he'd just changed the tablecloth. I was so embarrassed &intimidated as a single female travelling alone. A few days later he asked me to move tables when i was already eating, again as i think he had just changed it, so unbelievably rude!! All guests should be entitled to fresh tables!
FOOD - Erm, basic. Alot of fish. Flies a frequent occurrence. Queues ridiculous whatever time you go.
5)RECEPTIONISTS - Most of them very rude. Their manner is not at all professional. They don't acknowledge you at all until they've finished what they are doing &don't smile. Staff seem unhappy. A couple of them are lovely (Spanish) but the taller older German man is a real let down.
6) OTHER GUESTS - Mostly German. Mixture of young & old. I would say its not a very classy clientelle. On my first night i had to call reception at 11pm as there was a women screaming & shouting & kicking doors & walls in the room next to me, for at least 15 minutes before i decided to call down to reception. Those guests then went on to slam doors, speak loudly, open & close the balcony continuously.
7) HYGIENE - My bed sheets were dirty. My pillow case was dirty & looked like someone had sneezed on it about 3 times. Footprint on sheet. Disgusting.
8) CONDITION OF ROOMS - My towel rail is hanging off the wall with a cracked tile. The shampoo holder the same.
9)LATE DINNER - Two times dinner started later than it should. In one instance it was half an hour late & reception was building up with cross people. It was the evening of the Columbia V England game so all the Brits had planned to grab a quick meal but instead this wasn't possible due to the hotels disorganisation. Apparently they changed it to half an hour later  randomly, would have been good to know this in advance!
10) TOILETS BY POOL - On 3 occassions i was told i couldn't use them as they were being cleaned. I'm female &on 1 occassion I needed to use them urgently! The cleaner was only cleaning the mirror!!
11) PLASTIC - This hotel is seriously harming the environment. Single use plastic everywhere. Cups, plates, spoons, straws. Very irresponsible to the environment. This needs to be sorted urgently!

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. I always stay in Rui's & they are ALOT better. If you want a budget holiday & don't mind it not being peaceful its ok. The standards are too low & basic requests aren't met. The staff have alot to learn about customer service. They are are too complacent/ slack &discriminate English guests.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Trip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFA_Altamarena, General Manager at IFA Altamarena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear client,

Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our IFA altamarena, please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported.

RESTAURANT & RECEPTION STAFF: We first would like to extend our sincere apologies for the imperfections of service you describe, in your review and although your comments do not seem to match the usual feedback we receive both onsite and online, we will make sure to discuss your review internally so as to avoid giving this kind of impressions from our dedicated employees.

ROOM: Thorough cleaning is an absolute must for us and we follow very strict protocols to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness in our hotels, for future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our Reception in the event of finding any area of uncleanliness, this will give us an opportunity to bring your remarks to the attention of our housekeeping management.
About room wishes, rest with our assurance that any effort has been done to fulfil your desires, although, for many reasons, sometimes is not possible to accomplish them.

LATE DINNER: The day of Columbia-England game (3. of July ) the opening time was 19:00 - 22:00, we already changed our timetable ( from the 2. of July ) and have informed in advance our customers with info sheets in the elevators, restaurant, reception and bars.

FOOD: We have also taken good note of your remarks on the dining expériences and sincerely lament reading that we fell short of your culinary expectations on this occasion, although I would like to take the opportunity to point out that our Executive Chefs follow a two weeks menu rotation including a wide array of both local and international delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, this is why we are sorry to read that we were not able to conquer yours and will make sure to discuss your critics with our team.

OTHE GUESTS: We have read your comment regarding the type of clientele we accommodate at our hotel, and would like to take the opportunity to clarify that in IFA Altamarena we welcomes all guests who book to stay with us regardless of their origin, skin tone, religion and age, and strongly believes that everybody has a right to a well-earned holiday.

Your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Lopesan will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

With best regards,
Valentina Congiu
Assistant Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Ifa Altamarena for 2 weeks on all inc basis. We arrived at the hotel through front reception we was told the minute we arrived to leave our suitcases in the middle of the hall in order to catch dinner at 930 due to us arriving at 9. Reception staff were rude and not very inviting. The food in the hotel was the same every day! Of which we was disappointed with and became very boring! The hotel is very German orientated with outdated German entertainment (we’re a young couple)in the evenings and should not be offered to UK customers. Also to mention right next door is a huge building site and the noise makes it impossible to relax. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful at times though on all inclusive you shouldn’t need to pay for bottles of water! Also sun beds by the pool are taken early morning with holiday makers leaving their towels on the sun beds for the whole day with no staff checking meaning some days no opportunity to lay by the pool to relax. To sum it up we will not be returning to this hotel as we have had better experiences in the Canaries elsewhere

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank aneczka2945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFA_Altamarena, General Manager at IFA Altamarena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Aneczca,

Thank you for sharing a review of IFA Altamarena. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best regards,
IFA Altamarenateam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We are A couple from Belgian, we have no kids and were looking for a place to relax. This hotel was perfect. We went all inclusive (first time). We were afraid that we woud get tired of the food after a week, but we really did not. The buffet was slightly different everyday, also a lot of typical spanish food, we loved to taste everything. The desserts were delicious! There are a lot of German People going to this hotel, a lot of the staf speaks the language. It did not bother us. We really had a relaxing holiday at a quite, not too big hotel near the sea and we loved it! Only one improvement would be a space outside to eat breakfast dinner or lunch. The staff was very friendly and smiling all the time!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lunaclaes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFA_Altamarena, General Manager at IFA Altamarena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Luna,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at IFA Altamarena. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.
We certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
IFA Altamarenateam


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

A friend and I have just returned after a great week at the IFA Altamarena!
Yes the hotel is a bit dated, but is spotlessly clean everywhere and the rooms are comfortable.
In terms of location, it’s great. It’s a quiet resort, largely German tourists. The hotel nestles on the Main Street where there are shops, bars and restaurants. It’s a 2 min walk out of a door by the pools to the beach which rivals some of the Caribbean resorts I’ve visited. You can walk down to Morro Del Jable in around 10 minutes along the boardwalk which is beautiful. It’s a lovely walk we did twice a day and you can feed the little chipmunks at the big wall just before the seaside restaurants.
The pools at the hotel are again spotless and this is the only hotel I’ve been to where you don’t have to be up at the crack of dawn to get a sun bed - in fact they are strict on not reserving the beds until you go out to sunbathe which I loved. There were always sun beds free around the modest cluster or pools there.
Bar service was excellent, apart from spirits you can serve yourself which means you rarely wait for any drinks.
I’m a pescatarian and so always found plenty to eat. I do agree with some reviews that vegetarians would be restricted and it would be great if the hotel could heed these comments and have a few more veggie options. The puddings are lovely! Everything we ate was delicious at every meal.
The hotel is probably 40% German, 40% Spanish and 20% English so we didn’t speak to many people but it didn’t bother us.
You do have a fridge in the room however my only real negative is that they don’t provide bottled water which I feel should be. There is however an excellent, reasonable supermarket over the road.
Entertainment isn’t anything to write home about in the evenings but we made our own fun and I’ve seen worse!
We had a lovely week and given the time of year, felt we got excellent value for money.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Amyhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFA_Altamarena, General Manager at IFA Altamarena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Estimada Emy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards,
IFA Altamarena team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews