We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly prepared”
Review of Koko Beach Club

Koko Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 50 Nightlife in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Booked weeks in advance and they were told via email there were several vegetarians and vegans attending. Despite the advance notice we were told there were no vege burgers available. So instead of one pizza and many types of vege burger to choose from we only had the pizza available to us. I couldn't stomach another pizza for the third night in a row (vege options are few and far between around salou, evidently!), so they offered me patatas bravas and a Spanish omelette. I'd been looking forward to the burger, but accepted this, hoping to try something local. It was AWFUL! Cold cubes of egg and cubed potato with tomato ketchup and mayo. I left it all, minus the bite I tried. Didn't want to cause a fuss on my cousins hen do, so I just paid for it, and even though I'd quite clearly not eaten a bite there was no apology or attempt to rectify. Review score is increased somewhat by the fact that the vegans at least were well catered for and the cocktails were good too (although the cava was somewhat disappointing).

Thank sarahmg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonnyliddle, Owner at Koko Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Hi Sarah. Thank you for your review.

I have looked back through the messages from your booking and we have to admit that there was some confusion and we apologise for that.
As there was quite a lot of emphasis to prepare food for the vegans in your party the vegetarian burger was overlooked. As we make the burgers fresh it would have taken to long to prepare one from scratch for this reason we offered you the other options available.
We offered you pizza as you booked the pizza/burger deal. We didn't know that you had eaten pizza all weekend.
As this wasn't suitable we offered what we could. Our kitchen is very small so we only serve Burgers, Pizzas and Spanish Tapas.
We are sorry the Spanish tapas weren't to your liking, we did the best we could at the time.

We remember that your party all had a good time at Kokos. It was a really nice group. We are sorry that you felt that you had a bad experience with us.

Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"strawberry daiquiri"
in 13 reviews
"great cocktails"
in 12 reviews
"tasted amazing"
in 3 reviews
"fluffy blankets"
in 3 reviews
"chilled vibe"
in 3 reviews
"lovely bar"
in 6 reviews
"hen party"
in 4 reviews
"views are amazing"
in 3 reviews
"the main strip"
in 4 reviews
"feel very welcome"
in 4 reviews
"lovely evening"
in 3 reviews
"first night"
in 5 reviews
"staff were lovely"
in 3 reviews
"cant wait"
in 4 reviews
"keep up the good work"
in 3 reviews
"visit salou"
in 4 reviews
"sun loungers"
in 4 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

We booked this night before we travelled to Salou, we visited on the Saturday evening just in time for a gorgeous sunset it really was beautiful, sadly a bit breezy so not so good for our photos lol, we had champagne on arrival and fantastic cocktails, our tapas wasn't traditional more like finger food, we paid extra for our hens table to be decorated but disappointly all we got was a pink table cloth

1  Thank 66buster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonnyliddle, Owner at Koko Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Thanks for you review.

We are glad you enjoyed you cocktails and champagne. We do serve traditional tapas but we adapt them slightly to British/irish tastes. Squid and pork belly generally don't go down to well with groups of hens. (Especially if you have a hangover hehe)

The only thing i'd like to point out is that we don't charge extra to decorate the table. We do it free of charge. Unfortunately that night, as you pointed out, was windy and all of our balloons and other table decoration would have blown away as our venue is 100% open air.

The sunsets are alway beautiful at Koko.

Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We went here for cocktails before going out for dinner..and do get a bit of the views! Really nice relaxed area to sit and the views are amazing.. Looking right over the water to the lights of Salou...would be the perfect place to watch the sunset..the cocktails were really strong as well! Hubby had a vodka cocktail which came in...a paint pot!! vodka, ice strawberries and lime.. And there was a fair bit of vodka in it! A bit more expensive but worth it!

Debz & Stevie

Thank STEVIEDEBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

I visited this venue for a hen do which was a part of 16 and the staff could not have been more accommodating, friendly and welcoming. Location is gorgeous if you get the good weather, lots of space to play games and beautiful area for pictures! They also serve the best cocktails!!!

Thank cdoc1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Great cocktails,manager was really freindly, great location with stunning views

Very laid back.atmosphere

Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koko Beach Club also viewed

Salou, Costa Dorada
Salou, Costa Dorada
 
Salou, Costa Dorada
 

Been to Koko Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing