We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB HOTEL YOU MUST GO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villamarina Club
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We are a family of four 2 adults, 2 kids age 8 and 10, stayed here 6th-13th Oct. Had a fantastic holiday, staff lovely and helpful, food the best I've ever had, fantastic range of choice.Roast of some kind every evening,even for the most fussy eater you would find something to eat.fab puds too.
Stayed in the apartments around the corner 2 min walk, lovely and clean, maid in every day.
Loved our stay here, spoke to people around the pool, they were saying that this was their 5th year in a row!! so the Villamarina must be doing something right, pool area lovely and clean.
10 min walk down the street to the beach, or jump on the train or the number 2 bus to Portaventura well worth a vist approox 8 euros for family of four.
To sum up great value hotel, fantastic staff, fantastic food would recommend you to stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Pick the 2 bed apts around the corner lovey and big
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,608)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villamarina Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,752 - 1,756 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I visited this hotel with our two children (13 and 10 years) in August 2011. The rooms were small and dated, the shower certainly was not a power one! However, I can't think of anything else bad to say. There was plenty of variety of food and we always found something to try - I was particularly fond of the gravy and stuffing available every night with a freshly cooked joint. We never once had an upset stomach which I think says a lot. I was really pleased to find there was a coffee machine available all day and my son was particularly impressed with the hot chocolate and biscuits for afternoon tea. The staff were friendly and helpful. the entertainment staff were great and really made an effort. The brought in entertainment was also good.
Salou is a wonderful place and we really enjoyed walking along the beach in the evening and playnig in the fountains.
This was a reasonably priced holiday and I think that the hotel more than met our expectations. I can only imagine that people writing bad reviews want 5 star hotels for a 2 star price!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank higgy111270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Had a fantastic time at this hotel dont know what people are complaining about yes the hotel does look shabby from outside but thats down to wear and tear...
On arrival the hotel assistant manager came out to greet us all and told us our rooms wouldnt be ready until after 12 so we could go and get a late breakfast and enjoy the facilities while we waited.
The rooms are basic but who goes away to spend all there time in there room...they are clean and comfortable with a tv in and the shower has plenty of hot water.
This is the first time i have been away to spain and its all british people and all british food and had a sunday roast with yorkshire pudding on a sunday,the choice was fantastic and food very good and first time i havent had to fill up on chips and desserts,there is a snack bar which serves burgers,hotdogs and chips open from 12 until 6 if you dont want to go for dinner in the restaurant.
This hotel is excellent if you have children and the entertainment team work very hard to keep them entertained as well as the adults we have no children but this didnt stop us enjoying our holiday as they tried involve everybody.
The rooftop terrace is great if you want get away from the children in the hotel,the beach is about 10 minute walk away and there is a supermarket a couple of minutes away from the hotel,all the staff are very friendly and the assistant manager is always around and does take time out to talk to you,the hotel was closing the day we left and the assistant manager came outside to wave us all off...a fantastic place to stay and would definately return

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angie40Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

staff very nice especially assistant manager and food staff,unfortunately hotel very shabby and in desperate need of refurbishment and proper beds to replace camp beds would be a good idea also food very plain and not very appealable.Blackpool in the sun comes to mind definetly not ideal for couples wanting a break from their kids because they are everywhere,rooftop terrace for adults only good idea pity you had to go down 3 floors to get a drink as barman on a permanent break.I am not the only person to feel like this whether they are vocal about it is another matter.Do not intend to offend anyone please accept this and act on it positively,1st time in salou and i am sorry i had this poor experience but will never be back.Maybe apartments better?

Room Tip: definitively not ideal for couples.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandy300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Villamarina with others.
The Villamarina is well known as a very family orientated hotel offering value for money all inclusive packages and apologies that you did not find this appealing for yourselves as a couple.
As you have mentioned we do offer an adults only roof top solarium with bar for those wanting to escape from the family activities and children in the main areas. The bar man is on duty on the roof top form 12.00-18.00, however due to the end of season and the roof top not been used to its full advantage he was advised of other duties that needed to be done, apologies if this caused you any inconvenience as this was not our intention.
Thank you for your comments with regards to the assistant manager as he is there to ensure everyone is having a good time and resolving any issues that they may have, apologies you did not feel it necessary to advise him re your concerns of the roof top barman as I am sure this could have been resolved straight away.
Thank you once again everyone’s comments are taken as a positive to ensure we can move forward in offering good value for our future guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Arriving at the hotel 17th October, we did have to wait 45 mins for the room to be ready but it was early morning and they locked up our luggage whilst inviting us to have a late breakfast. We were placed in the block separate from the reception block and was pleasantly surprised as it was more spacious than expected so am unsure what people on here have complained about?? The food is gorgeous, over 10 choices everynight and they change all the time with plenty of salad, fruit and other foods to supplement. The beach is only a 10 minute walk away and thats with a two year old and a ten year old in tow so am unsure how some people have described it as 20 mins. The beach is lovely and the sea is a lot warmer than the hotel pools so highly recommend. The entertainment is geared towards children and the adult stuff doesnt get going into really late but this is a FAMILY HOTEL, if you dont have children, then unless you fancy being over run with them all holiday then dont pick this hotel but for families and good value I dont think you can complain one bit. One word of warning, the pools are right by the opening to the hotel which is on a busy road so if you have young children you cant truly relax as they could run out at anytime as there are no gates, also at night you need to watch them as the pool area is dead but close to the entertainment so one adventurous child could be dangerous. Other than this the hotel is fab, the rooftop terrace is a sun haven and lovely break from kids, the entertainment for the kids is fab, there are playstation rooms, pool tables, ice creams snacks, play areas and table tennis etc. There are extensive queues for meal times but this is due to people queuing right round the restaurant in true british style whne they only want two of the dishes, if everyone just waited where the dish was they wanted which happened the first few days then there would be no problem! But please dont let this put you off, complete value for money and if you expect complete luxury then pay more and go 4 star or 5 star!

Room Tip: Choose the block away from reception as the rooms are spacious and less noise at night.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tennant2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
4.1 km away
Festival Village
Festival Village
#11 of 93 in Salou
1,529 reviews
1.1 km away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,054 reviews
3.7 km away
H.TOP Molinos Park
H.TOP Molinos Park
#72 of 93 in Salou
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.4 km away
H10 Salauris Palace
2.4 km away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villamarina Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villamarina Club

Address: Carre Ciutat De Reus, 42, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Hotel Villa Marina Club)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: €66 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villamarina Club 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Marina is a friendly family orientated hotel offering all inclusive holidays for families to enjoy and not have to worry about entertainment, food and drink for the duration of your stay. Everyone can relax and enjoy the facilities of 2 swimming pools, one with child section, adults only rooftop solarium with Jacuzzis, buffet style restaurant, snack bar, Play Park for the children, outside cinema screen, large terrace and bar area. Our resident English Speaking Entertainers are here for you 7 days a week keeping all the family entertained day and night, and to give you that little bit extra in your evening entertainment we have external, professional shows, to add to your all inclusive package. To ensure our customers have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday the entertainment and bar finish at 00.00 This friendly 3* all inclusive hotel is only 15 minutes away from Reus Airport, 10 minutes away from the Port Aventura theme park and a 10 minute walk to the beach giving you the ideal holiday base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villamarina Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villamarina Club Salou, Costa Dorada
Villamarina Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing