We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value and had a fab time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Sol Dor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Sol Dor
Ranked #37 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Watford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value and had a fab time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We throughly enjoyed our 10 day stay in Best Sol Dor and La Pineda. An excellent 3 star hotel, a pleasant resort, not overcrowded with a beautiful beach which is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

When we first arrived at the hotel we were disappointed as we were put in a very noisy room over the entertainment area and pool. But the staff were very helpful we we were moved to another room on the other side of the hotel which was fine. Although beautifully clean and maintained, the rooms in the older block could do with updating. We had a musty smell in our room!

The pool was great and again beautifully clean, there is a life guard on duty and was attentive in not allowing inflatables in the pool, but the children could bomb and chuck each other in, which sometimes was very dangerous.

The restaurant was great with a good selection of food and very plentiful! There can be queing by the grill for the freshly cooked food, but it was lovely. You also have time your arrival to avoid the queue into the restaurant, which we always seemed to manage!

The hotel is good location for aquapolis water park and Porta Aventura and the water park which are all excellent trips. We also went on two trips to Barcelona organised through Bus Plana (found on the main promenade). We went on the Barcelona panoramic and Nou camp/magic fountains trips. They were well organised and cheaper and easier than trying to do it independantly.

We found there was a good mix of nationalities and the children made friends with other English children.

The evening entertainment was a bit hit and mix, but the animation team worked really hard, were not in your faces and helped to make an excellent atmosphere.

All in all we had an excellent break, enjoyed our food and was very happy and would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view if you want a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hellsbellsWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    168
    117
    42
    27
See reviews for
271
119
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel from 11 July 2011, with my husband and 2 children, aged 8 and 11. When we arrived we were checked in quickly and given wrist bands and our all inclusive information, which was very clear. Unfortunately the reception staff did not come across as friendly and did not tell us how to get to our room. This was truly the only complaint I would have about our stay here. The rest of the staff were wonderful. Freindly and helpful, no matter how busy they were. Manuel in particular was always joking with the kids.
Food was as you would expect, and it really is worth queuing for the fresh grill. (fresh meat and fish cooked as you wait for lunch and dinner, pancakes and omlettes cooked fresh as you wait for breakfast), Milton is a whizz on the grill!
The dining room is very busy and sometimes the queue for a table was horrendous, but you soon suss out what time to come to avoid this. You wait to be seated, which some people complain about, but there are so many people it would be chaos if you didn't do it this way.
All the staff speak some English, and we could always make ourselves understood.
There must have been some changes made since some of the other reviews were written. There IS a hairdryer, there are toiletries, and the bar staff had no problem with one person getting 4 drinks for the family.
All inclusive is great value, includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, all drinks, ice creams, hotdogs, sandwiches, chips. The only not included was crisps, which is no problem with so much on offer.
Entertainment was better than at some other hotels, karaoke etc, water polo every day. There always seemed to be something happening.
Great position for beach and shops.
Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyspeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strabane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Just come back from a week's holiday there. food was great and so was the location, only 5 mins from the beach.
In the restaurant some of the staff very rude and unwilling to help especially Natalia. Twice I asked for help and twice she muttered something and walked away. Wouldn't put me off going back tho as everything else was great about the hotel. Selection of food available at meal times was brilliant and was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

clean,food good,entertainment ok...5 min walk to beach,which was lovely,waterpark 5 mins away
Overall loved it and wouldnt hesitate to return

Room Tip: Dont leave lilo's,out on balcony overnight if on a ground floor as they get stolen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinces61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Just got back from sol d'or. Very clean place as your rooms are cleaned everyday, and the food was amazing! Loads and loads to choose from! I am very picky with my food but here there was something for everyone. The Staff everywhere were friendly and welcoming!The beach is about a 3-5 minute walk away and i would definetly recommend going to aquapolis waterpark as it caters for all ages.Our only bad comment was that our room was on the bottom floor and in front of our room was a stage where the entertainment took place at night, the only thing seperating us from the stage was a hedge so it was fairly hard getting to sleep at night! Apart from that it was a great hotel! Friendly, clean and in a great location!!

Room Tip: A bit noisy when on the groung floor at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meggymoomoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salou
1.4 km away
Best Cap Salou
Best Cap Salou
#47 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.9 km away
Best San Diego
Best San Diego
#48 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Mediterraneo
Best Mediterraneo
#43 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.2 km away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.5 km away
Apartamentos Pineda Park
Apartamentos Pineda Park
#1 of 8 in La Pineda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Sol Dor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Sol Dor

Property: Best Sol Dor
Address: Cami del Raco s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Sol Dor 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Sol D’Or is located only at 50 m. from Playa del Racó (La Pineda), at 300 m. from Aquopolis Water Park and 3 km from Port Aventura theme park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Sol Dor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Sol Dor Hotel Salou
Sol d Or Salou
Sol Dor
Best Sol Dor Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing