We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,073)
Filter reviews
2,073 results
Traveller rating
1,032
723
237
51
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
723
237
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte restaurant show cooking thomson rep walk in shower tapas bar building work pool area lovely hotel tea and coffee making facilities older generation single room free safe age group road noise average age evening meal plenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 2,073 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are lovely and the staff are very nice. In the summer the pool area must be lovely. The food is good although the a la carte restaurant was a little disappointing (portions too large and not haute cuisine). We stayed in a Sensimar in Mexico and this was very different, not quite as special. One thing that those booking should be aware of at this time of year - this hotel is frequented by a lot of senior guests. Whilst not a problem at all it was a shock to stand out so much as a young couple, again this was different to our Mexico experience so we weren't expecting it. Perhaps we should have known due to location and time of year. Bar is very nice and drinks not too expensive. Cocktails were lovely. Entertainment was interesting and mixed. Some was fabulous like the flamenco show and singers Siobhan and Roman. But we had to leave one night because the singer was SO bad it was painful. Overall a lovely hotel but we would not return to Benalmadena, the resort is tacky and run down.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank G7986CVemmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Emma S,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Riviera for your holiday in Benalmadena Costa and for sharing your valuable comments with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and very much appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations MedPlaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We stayed here for a week, early February. Our room overlooked the building work next door and it really wasn't too bad. Room was a good size , modern and comfortable with a great bathroom. The restaurant is fine, the food of a very good standard, bearing in mind its a buffet and mass catering. The bar is huge, and although comfortable it could probably do with a revamp , the overall effect is grey and drab. Service has improved over last year. The evening entertainment was pretty dire, which in itself over the course of a week became amusing. Not sure if we will ever return though.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redmike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear redmike123,

Thank you for choosing the hotel Hotel Riviera for your holiday in Benalmadena and for taking the time to share your opinion on your recent holiday with us. We value very much your comment and hope that we will be able to welcome you again to Hotel Riviera again some time in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

I have stayed in other Sensimar hotels and this fell way below the standards. The food was OK for the first week but boring by the second week. The bed was huge and comfortable, but that is it.
The entertainment was diabolical ! Guests left within 10 minutes of most acts. They were all obsessed with Abba songs! The hotel is locked in the past. The bar did not even offer Aperol spritzer.. available in every other local bar. Staff just offered Apple Juice?
The management need to get a grip on this hotel if they want repeat clients.

Room tip: Avoid the building works.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank vonwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

First time at a hotel in Spain as we have stayed with friends on previous occasions and eaten out.

Check in was easy, although our passports were held for two days. The hotel only had British guests!

Beds were comfortable with white clean cotton sheets and a duvet. I slept very well.

Bathroom was large and very clean with walk in shower. Toiletries had the Tui logo on, therefore one didn’t feel indulged. They were not replaced during our stay.

We stayed half board. I enjoyed the breakfast options. Dinner time the restaurant was busy but we were always found a table. The food was disappointing, mainly British and we chose our meal from the grill area, which was cooked whilst we waited. Our best meal during the trip was a late lunch at a yacht club near by!

The location of the hotel exited to the promenade, so was great for walks. There is a lovely sandy beach too. Equally convenient to take public transport on local buses which stopped outside. In high season I should imagine it quite busy as there are many pubs and Indian takeaways opposite.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank GrannyD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Having just spent 2 fantastic weeks at the hotel I think it was a very relaxing experience, although their was some building work next door it did not effect our holiday, food was fantastic, entertainment every night was top class
A hotel not to be missed

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Peter B,

Thank you for choosing the Sensimar Hotel Riviera and for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are already looking forward to seeing you here again in the future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations MedPlaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews