We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel in the heart of Benalmadena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel in the heart of Benalmadena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I've spent last week in the Hotel Riviera. All I can say... Wonderful.
The staff is very efficient and helpful. It was my 5th visit to the hotel, and I feel like at home.
The food is fantastic, rooms are very clean. The hotel is quiet, perfect for relax.
Good location near Puerto Marina.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    566
    175
    43
    23
See reviews for
115
1,223
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lothian
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Just back from a week at the Riviera, this hotel is set in a great location but if you are a wheelchair user there is an incline at the entrance to the hotel. The food was very good and the staff friendly, the reps Jamie and Tom were great.(many thanks for organising the birthday cake, and sorry for making you older in the quiz) only complaint was the carpet in the room was stained and needed to be replaced but this would not stop us returning. Fab location and the marina was gorgeous, this felt like a safe place to stay. will be back. oh and the weather was fab, shorts and t-shirts in December can't complain.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems room 101 is a good room, does not get sun but is quiet and you look ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Riviera Med Playa Benalmadena

Contrary to some of the previous reviews, I was pleasantly surprised. Yes the hotel is a little dated, but nothing to worry about. My Partner and I were on the 8th floor on the side of the hotel towards the main road. There was some road noise, but this was mostly due to people not traffic. My Partners Mum and Dad were on the pool side on the 7th floor and had very little road noise and a cracking view of the sunrise. They have started to change some of the rooms, whilst we had a carpeted floor in our room (yes there were marks on the carpet, but certainly not dirty. Mum and Dad had a tiled floor. The rooms are comfortable and the bed are quite comfortably firm. Quite typically a Spanish hotel room, plenty of room and wardrobe space.

The main reception area was quite inviting, and the staff are very approachable, from the reception area to the pool bar – main bar and restaurant.

The breakfast is your choice from porridge. cereals, cooked breakfast, to continental and fruit.. A really good variety. Evening meal, again a really good choice, infact in my opinion it is aimed for the British guests. Fish, variety of meats, to vegetarian dishes. Also lots of different desserts, including cakes, icecream and various other dishes. No one would starve at this hotel. Something for everyone. For breakfast you find your own seat and evening meal, you are shown to a table. (Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers for evening meal)

To reach the promenade, there is a lift from the hotel to take you down to the gate or
From the pool area, there are steps, which lead to the promenade which takes you to the beach and all along the length of the bay, towards various fish restaurants and the marina. We often stopped for a drink in the bar/café by the Hotel Triton and the Cabana (which made really good food) The down side is the gate that takes you out of the hotel onto the promenade is locked at 10 pm, so for anyone who is not very mobile, you have to make sure that you are back through the gate before 10.00. For the more mobile guest there various walkways which run between most of the hotels that take you up to the main road to the hotels front entrances. Mum and Dad did feel a little disappointed that due to Dad not being as young as he used to be, they had to use the gate entrance and lift and therefore be in through the gate by 10. There is entertainment in the hotel, which we did watch a little, when we sat on the terrace to have a drink.

There are plenty of sun loungers by the pool and the pool is quite nice. During the day there is a snack bar available, with plenty of choice.

There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants on the main road. A must is a walk down the marina, again there is plenty to see there. A trip up to the cable car is well worth a look, at the top of the mountain, there is a café and a bird of prey show, the view is spectacular.

The only draw back I think is that if there is anyone who is in a wheelchair, the only access to the pool side is through the dining room, which is just a bit of an inconvenience; there are quite a lot of steps everywhere.

All in all a nice place and we had a lovely holiday. We would go back there; Mum and Dad have been going there for a number of years


This is an adult only hotel which is nice if you want a peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for high room, poolside,sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WelshLady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

excellent position very clean hotel food excellent only complaint room carpet badly markded could do with replacing sheets changded twice in week lovely to see hotel trimmded up for christmas strange that your in shorts and teashirts at 22 degrees this time of year defintly would use again

Room Tip: on 6th floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TIMELORDLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The hotel looks very good and the reception and public areas were exceptionally clean and tidy. The staff obviously work very hard and long hours. Our only complaint was the poor state of the décor in the room. The carpet was marked with dirty black spots, the paint work was peeling round the door frames, and the bath surround was a bit untidy with mould forming. That said, the hotel was excellent in other respects, with the food being very plentiful, varied and available throughout the dining room opening times. All of the staff were very efficient, helpful and friendly and the towels were changed daily if required. The room was cleaned daily with the beds being made up for us and bedding changed throughout our stay. There was entertainment each night which was very good generally. However, I was a little concerned about "free trips" being offered through the tour operator which were very good. BUT, be warned, these trips include a "blanket factory tour" which involved two hours high pressure selling of quite expensive bedding products. You don't have to buy but it felt like it! Memories of "time share" experience spring to mind. We enjoyed our stay very much and we would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Essential to choose a high room, preferably seaward facing as noise from the main road is continuous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.3 km away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.0 km away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.2 km away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Property: Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing