We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with friendly staff - bathrooms need refurbishing”
Review of Hotel Gabelbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gabelbach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilmenau
Reviewed 24 April 2016

This is a pleasant hotel with modern amenities. It is set in a park and wooded area and is ideal for walking. The spa and pool area are worth a visit. The rooms are clean and well kept but are in need of refurbishment. The chairs in the room are not comfortable. The bathroom in particular shows wear and tear with ingrained marks in the basin. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel,
The restaurant serves good food which is tasty and well presented. The breakfast buffet provides something for everyone.
The staff makes you feel welcome.
If you are looking for a comfortable hotel in the area then I can recommend the Gabelbach.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2016

I can only review the restaurant as I did not stay in the hotel. But the restaurant offers excellent traditional food in a nice setting. The view from the restaurant is not the greatest but if you come for the food you will not get disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hiking-har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Don't trust your GPS..just go right on by about 3.5 km uphill into the forest to find this fine hotel. Construction in progress for a new indoor swimming pool but not a problem. There are two wings to the hotel. We were in Rm 250, a large suite with free excellent wi-fi, two TVs (but no English channels I could find). Radio plays through the TV however. Breakfast included. mini-bar, Kleenex but no wash cloths no a/c evident, good lighting, free outdoor parking but if you want your Rolls Royce in a garage you can pay extra..And smoked salmon on the breakfast buffet, my measure of an excellent breakfast. Stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Hotel is placed in the forest just outside of Ilmenau, Germany, on a private country road. Our initial view of the Hotel was from the side as this is how the road enters the property. After we parked, we walked to the front of the Hotel and saw its magnificent charm. The view from the Hotel toward their private property is a nice view. Statues and interesting places for children to explore and sit. The view, was something I took advantage of in the early mornings as I sat with our windows open to enjoy a cup of coffee and listen the the song birds greet me and my family. Our room was clean and pleasant in the newer part of the Hotel. The grand lobby is a glassed roof enclosure with two taxidermal wall mounts of birds and mammal heads. The indoor pool was something we enjoyed as not many guest occupied the Hotel at the time we visited. We also enjoyed the trails around the property. One trail took us up to a view point that overlooked the countryside. Here we climbed a long spiral stairway in a tower. The view was breathtaking. Our morning breakfast was enjoyable in the restaurant. I recommend this place. The Staff was especially helpful. They understood English very well. Side note: We stayed June 2012. The 'when did you travel?' option does not allow me to enter this older date. I have been following the new remodel of this place. I hope to return and see the NEW LOOK.

Room Tip: Summer time: get a room toward the front. I enjoyed my morning coffee sitting by the open window ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulOlivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We arrived at the hotel on a busy Saturday evening and we were very disappointed. The location is indeed beautiful, right in the middle of the woods of Thuringen. The hotel is however not the romantic and stylish place that we had expected according to the the reviews we had read and to the hotel website. Our room was acceptable, but the rest of the hotel was overcrowded and overdecorated, with loud music in the hallways and plastic decorations all over. We had booked a special "half pension"deal, but we quickly switched to "a la carte" since the set menu was just not good. Service was friendly, but it looked like they had just recruited some extra staff (nice but poorly trained) to help out on a busy week-end. Things got a bit better after the week-end, but we still do not think that this hotel deserves the "4 star superior" rating that it proudly displays on its website.
Please also be aware that the "Gourmet" restaurant (displayed on the site) only has a few tables and is not the place where most guests end up eating).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SilNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilmenau
3.4 km away
Hotel Tanne
Hotel Tanne
#1 of 3 in Ilmenau
65 reviews
13 km away
Treff Hotel Panorama Oberhof
12.9 km away
Chalet Sonnenhang Oberhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Berghotel Oberhof
Berghotel Oberhof
#1 of 13 in Oberhof
108 reviews
15.2 km away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
6.1 km away
Waldhotel Rennsteighoehe
Waldhotel Rennsteighoehe
#2 of 3 in Frauenwald
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabelbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabelbach

Address: Am Gabelbach 1, 98693 Ilmenau, Thuringia, Germany (Formerly Romantik Berg-und Jagdhotel Gabelbach)
Region: Germany > Thuringia > Ilmenau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilmenau
Price Range: €113 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabelbach 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on the mountain Kickelhahn (777m) close to City Ilmenau / Thuringia. 90 Rooms/suites are available. Non smoking Hotel & Restaurants daily open noon - 10pm. Hotelbar daily open 6pm - 1am. Gabelbach SPA: indoor pool & fitness-area daily open 7am -10pm Sauna daily open 2pm-10 pm. Free secured wifi. Parking for 4,00 EUR/night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gabelbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing