We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tanne(Ilmenau)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mara Hotel(Ilmenau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
35
39
17
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
39
17
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspointspagoetheforestrangeenglishwallrestaurant
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2016

I can only review the restaurant as I did not stay in the hotel. But the restaurant offers excellent traditional food in a nice setting. The view from the restaurant is not the greatest but if you come for the food you will not get disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hiking-har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Don't trust your GPS..just go right on by about 3.5 km uphill into the forest to find this fine hotel. Construction in progress for a new indoor swimming pool but not a problem. There are two wings to the hotel. We were in Rm 250, a large suite with free excellent wi-fi, two TVs (but no English channels I could find). Radio plays through the TV however. Breakfast included. mini-bar, Kleenex but no wash cloths no a/c evident, good lighting, free outdoor parking but if you want your Rolls Royce in a garage you can pay extra..And smoked salmon on the breakfast buffet, my measure of an excellent breakfast. Stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Hotel is placed in the forest just outside of Ilmenau, Germany, on a private country road. Our initial view of the Hotel was from the side as this is how the road enters the property. After we parked, we walked to the front of the Hotel and saw its magnificent charm. The view from the Hotel toward their private property is a nice view. Statues and interesting places for children to explore and sit. The view, was something I took advantage of in the early mornings as I sat with our windows open to enjoy a cup of coffee and listen the the song birds greet me and my family. Our room was clean and pleasant in the newer part of the Hotel. The grand lobby is a glassed roof enclosure with two taxidermal wall mounts of birds and mammal heads. The indoor pool was something we enjoyed as not many guest occupied the Hotel at the time we visited. We also enjoyed the trails around the property. One trail took us up to a view point that overlooked the countryside. Here we climbed a long spiral stairway in a tower. The view was breathtaking. Our morning breakfast was enjoyable in the restaurant. I recommend this place. The Staff was especially helpful. They understood English very well. Side note: We stayed June 2012. The 'when did you travel?' option does not allow me to enter this older date. I have been following the new remodel of this place. I hope to return and see the NEW LOOK.

Room Tip: Summer time: get a room toward the front. I enjoyed my morning coffee sitting by the open window overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulOlivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews