We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deathtrap”
Review of Club Le Morgan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Risoul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Le Morgan
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Risoul
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Deathtrap”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

people have died here, one for the most haunted list. Ghostbuster the lot, childrens activities are fantastic, went out to the nightclub and got wrecked, (hi5)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mundungus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    28
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Castlederg,Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Food-very poor ,lacks imagination
staff -friendly and helpful
rooms-clean and warm but used looking and tired

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOHareclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The rocketski deals are great! Risoul is a great resort with fantastic skiing and a big ski area. The hotel is clean and comfortable, most of the staff were great! The food was terrible - quite literally I dont think my dog would have eaten it some nights. The simple things like soup were tasteless - something a few stalk cubes could have changed? Burnt croissants for breakfast which the chef managed to underestimate numbers. Pretty horrid maincourses every night - the pizza shop next door was the usual spot after dinner. Overcooked vegetables, goatscheese salad without goats cheese? The staff were under pressure but friendly and helpful. The manager seemed to be quite bossy and rude to staff infront of guests which was totally inappropriate! The bar was reasonably priced and quiet - the off duty staff were at times the only people there to drink with but good fun all the same! And always willing to show guests Risoul's nightlife!
What could be an amazing budget hotel is a good budget hotel - maybe if the manager focused a bit less on the immaculate carpets and put the effort into eatable food this hotel would be perfect!
The location is great a stones throw from the lifts (literally)

Room Tip: Check out rocketski's last minute deals!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gapyahher192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere In England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Clubhotel Le Morgan far exceeded my expectations for a budget hotel. From the minute I walked into the bar/reception it was warm, cosy and welcoming, and the reps and hotel staff were incredibly calm, friendly and helpful. One thing that was very impressive was that despite our coach being heavily delayed and arriving quite late in the evening, the staff still insisted on doing a ski-fit that evening. Also, dinner was pretty much ready for us, and the lift passes were sorted out for first thing the next morning. The rooms were basic (a hairdryer would have been nice, considering it was very cold outside!), but clean and spacious - all you really want for a weeks skiing.

The hotel quickly felt like home, and the bar area really felt like a place where you could just sit and chat to staff or strangers quite comfortably. The location is phenomenal - literally a 15 second walk from the bottom of the slopes, and with the ski locker right next to the hotel.

Although the bar could have been a bit better stocked, it was a nice place to spend the evening, thanks in part to the table football and pool table.

However, this wouldn't be a proper review if I didn't mention the downsides. I had read a few conflicting reviews regarding the food before I went away, and was interested to see what it was like. Although I am an incredibly unfussy eater, I am sorry to say the food was a huge disappointment. I wasn't expecting luxury, but I do know that it is not difficult to produce simple, tasty food on a tight budget. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't all bad. I finished all my courses most nights, and it was plenty filling - but there were some real shockers. A tomato and mozzarella salad made with non-fresh mozzarella and balsamic vinegar that stuck to the plate like tar; overcooked, stodgy rice, over-boiled and cold vegetables, lukewarm chicken. And worst of all, the vegetarian option on the last evening (sweet potato + goats cheese bake) looked repulsive, and was left untouched by everyone who ordered it. I also objected to the fact that 95% of the dishes were poor versions of British dishes. Surely people on holiday want a local twist? Especially in France! The eat-out night was much needed, and tempted some to not bother with the hotel food on future evenings. The breakfast however was exactly what you want. Croissants, bread, meat, cheese, fruit, porridge, cereal, muesli, juice, tea, coffee. Lovely.

Another slight drawback was a bit of noise during the night, coming from the adjacent Irish bar and discotheque. However, this didn't really seem to bother anyone. Getting back to sleep is never a problem on skiing holidays, and the week is all about fun anyhow. If you can't sleep then you're obviously not tired - so get out there and join in the fun!

All in all, this was the venue for a truly fantastic holiday. Risoul is brilliant and I will definitely be back. Just sort the food out, invest in a few hairdryers, and make tea and coffee a bit easier to get hold of in the mornings (surely self service would make more sense than someone coming round every 10 minutes with a pot that only seemed to serve 3 cups!), and this would be the perfect budget hotel.

You will have a great time here.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PartTimeReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I went to stay at Hotel Le Morgan for a school trip this week. Got back today. Words cant describe how amazing this hotel was. We made friends with EVERY staff member there. They were so helpful, kind, and sociable, there was only one fallback of the whole hotel, which was the food. The food was edible, a bit flavourless, but it was not excactly what we'd wanted. But that's just my opinion. We ended up getting dinner before the school would group in the eating area, but maybe that's just us being picky. The teachers liked it though. The resort was amazing, a variety of easily accesible shops. There was lots of entertainment, everyone was very friendly, its a clean, big, nice hotel and I would gladly go back. RECOMMEND THIS!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bieberbieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risoul
3.3 km away
La Bonne Auberge
La Bonne Auberge
#4 of 5 in Risoul
64 reviews
2.3 km away
Auberge du Rochasson
Auberge du Rochasson
#3 of 5 in Risoul
24 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Lacour
Hotel Lacour
#1 of 1 in Guillestre
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Hotel le Lievre Blanc
0.3 km away
Residence Vega
Residence Vega
#6 of 9 in Risoul
16 reviews
0.0 km away
Benski
Benski
#2 of 9 in Risoul
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Le Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Le Morgan

Property: Club Le Morgan
Address: Chef Lieu, 05600 Risoul, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Risoul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Risoul
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Morgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing