We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Rural El Recuerdo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Izan Trujillo(Trujillo)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$80
US$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Peru(Trujillo)
US$47
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal San Miguel(Trujillo)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$111
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hostal Hueso(Trujillo)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoria(Trujillo)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Julio(Trujillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
40
14
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkreturn triphis knowledgedining roomplaces to visitpool areahis wifeclaudiasightingsmartinsbirdwildlifehidevulturesmortonlandscapelounge
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Claudia and Martin spoilt us to bits . What a beautiful hide away in paradise . In a tiny hamlet with one tavern . The house is stunning and beautifully renovated , preserving its original stone and brick work . The dining room has preserved the original grape bath for stomping and the juice sluice.

Beautiful rooms , clean and wonderfully presented . Claudia and Martin opened there stunning home to us and shared their Christmas with us . Martin prepared a stunning traditional turkey feast on Christmas Eve with all the trimmings . Claudia is gorgeous , makes you feel right at home and special . Martin is an icon , his birding skills are utterly amazing . His knowledge and obvious love of the region is second to none .

Close to Trujillo and the national park , El Recuerdo is perfectly located .

After a week in Madrid and Barcelona , we relished Claudia and Martins piece of paradise .

I am missing sitting in the lounge with the log fire going and Morro the dog at my side .

Brilliant breakfasts and evening meals , prepared by Martin . The tortilla was to die for .

Beautiful place and truly lovely people .

Thank you Claudia and Martin for such a wonderful experience for our family .

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elrecuerdo, Propietario at Casa Rural El Recuerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for such wonderful feedback! We are so happy that you came to stay and that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We stayed again at this Casa for 5 nights between 29 May and 4 June 2016. Another very enjoyable stay, and as a consequence we have booked again for next spring. Really like the peaceful location, where the main disturbance comes from the abundant birdlife in the surrounding olive groves. This year we diversified our eating habits, straying from the Casa a little to try a bar in the village which is under new and friendly ownership. That worked well until the last night, when it was unexpectedly closed, and as we had not booked our dinner we had to have an unplanned meal in the square in Trujillo. However the atmosphere there was really relaxed and added a different experience, and we will try that venue again. Monfrague National park, about 45 miles away, is worth a visit, but personally I find just exploring the local country roads in the local area is just as rewarding, and Michael and Claudia are well placed to recommend good places to visit for birds. Highly recommended. One delight was using a commercial hide near Torrejon El Rubio where carrion is put out to attract feeding vultures, which was a bird table with a difference. Once in the hide you are there for 5 hours, but it was a very entertaining morning.

Room Tip: Book early if you want to chose a room but all the rooms I have stayed in have been fine.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elrecuerdo, Propietario at Casa Rural El Recuerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you so much Brian! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

A family trip full of fun, exploring culture places like Trujillo, Cáceres, Guadalupe and Mérida, but also great place for nature, all places possible to visit from El Recuerdo. Claudia and Martin are great hosts, giving us all the information and taking care of the whole family. We had some delicious meals during our stay, nice olive oil and tomatoes! Breakfast is also good plenty of choice for everybody. Gracias.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elrecuerdo, Propietario at Casa Rural El Recuerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Megan is was lovely to meet you and your family, thanks for taking the time to write your comment and for al the smiles and good fun we had with your children. Hope to see you all again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

the lodge run by Martin and Claudia is a home away from home. Excellent rooms and great hosts. Martin is an natural history guide par excellence. His knowledge of the area and its avi fauna is incredible. Claudia serves up the nicest dinners in the lodge (on request). I believe Extremadura to be the finest birding destinations in Europe and Martin knows all the hot spots for the birds. A must stay

Room Tip: The rooms overlook the driveway or the Olive garden at the back. Both are great views
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nikhil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elrecuerdo, Propietario at Casa Rural El Recuerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you Nikhil!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015

This place is excellent. Best accommodation for Birders. Beautiful surroundings packed with birds. Hoopoe in the Garden. Martin Kelsey can help you find the more difficult birds. Without his advice, we would not have found Black Wheatear and Black-shouldered Kite. Claudia and Martin are extremely friendly hosts. Delicious home cooked food. Next stay in April 2016 is already booked.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Birding_Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews