We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
38
4
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
4
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winter texans heated pool maintenance staff cleaning ladies place to stay mcallen area contribute internet accommodations maid valley laundry property shopping gym
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Rude staff, not accommodating at all, can't "splash" in pool, can't have guests, and the best part was getting the door POUNDED on by the owner at 7AM FOR AN INSPECTION!!!! What a joke!! Do yourself a favor STAY ANYWHERE BUT HERE!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Azcarguy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcdc1, Owner at Texan Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

For security we must have identifications of all persons on premises and especially in our pools. Diving is not allowed and is posted. 7:00 am was a different zone time and my maintenance person had an appointment to enter the unit at 9:00 am by appointment. We are careful who comes on premises and maintain security for all those that are here, if we cannot connect people to our units they are asked who they are and must show ID. We try to be accommodating of guests and allow two guests per unit if with tenant. Our tenants are our first security. S. Womack CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I rented 4 rooms for 2 months with some colleagues of mine for the summer of 2010. Immediately there were problems with privacy, ie counting of cars coming and going, restriction of visitors including our wives (we were away from them for 2 mo.), pool usage and more! We were not afforded any of the conveniences of an extended stay rental. We felt babysat and never welcome. After 2 mo of jumping throughout their many hoops are stay was over. We vacated on July the 14. After numerous attempts and reminders I received an accounting of our $1800 in security deposit 30 DAYS after we left. I was very upset to find out that we would not be getting ANY of our deposit back. We had pre arranged to pay $250 in cleaning fees upon vacating. They more than doubled that amount without any justification. They charged us $200 for an old peice of furniture that was damaged when we arrived and was brought to their attention within 2 weeks of us being there during one of the many Inspections that was required of us to even stay there. They even charged us $5 a spoon and fork(they supposedly inventoried every piece of silverware
In the units. 8 pieces of silverware=$40. They charged us $69 for mold in the Ac ducts of one of the units!! like we put mold there! the list goes on and on... Our stay was so unpleasant and I truly wish we would have just stayed at the studio 6 extended stay. We are salesman and for 2 mo dealing with customers it became very obvious that the Texan guest ranch has a horrible rep in the area and We would strongly urge you to choose a more professionally run hotel rather than this family run daycare of a "ranch", that is unless you are a Mexican "babydropper". They are very accomodating to those guests as I was informed by the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Cliftondmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcdc1, Owner at Texan Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

the previous objection to this SAME review was written for Trip Advisors management response for Corporate ONLY and was not meant to appear below the response. Under your own guidelines the "Mexican Baby Dropping" clause is sadistic and racial to any ethinic group and that in itself should have it removed. Thank you for your attention to this matter. S. Womack CEO, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

The Texan Guest Ranch is a rare find. It is good for short stays and really good if you need a place to stay for several days or weeks. It is a very comfortable setting with easy access to everything in the McAllen area. I recommend trying this location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiders55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Having a fully equipped kitchen and a back patio for BBQ was a great difference from a "hotel" experience. Made it feel like coming home. Beautiful tropical landscape on 20 acres made it feel like an "Osais". I am a bird watcher and on any given day can see a variety of different species. One resident birder has documented over 100 + different sightings on the property. My apartment was very clean .. I am very picky.. and the staff was helpful. Queen Beds comfortable and workout "Barn" was great. All in All I will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank birdteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews