We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Texan Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McAllen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Texan Guest Ranch
Coington,La.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have been here over a month. The staff are helpfull. The place is SPOTLESS,
The people are great. A HOME away from HOME.
a 11 on a scale of 1 to 10.
Mike Taylor

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmikeCoington_La_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    1
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
6
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Stayed at the Texan Guest Ranch 3 different times and it was really great .The staff was very nice always around to help in any way .Pool was always clean in a nice area and the plants and flowers were beautiful and the landscaping was well kept .It was always a pleasure to go back for that southern hospitably keep it up it was great.Oh and it was close to shopping and South Padre Island I cant wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

The landscaping is really pretty, the rooms are so clean- cleaner than the 5 star hotel I stayed at in Dallas. While it is an older place, it has a sweet tropical charm, and the location is perfect- close enough to everything, fifteen minutes to downtown McAllen, and fifteen to downtown Edinberg- and SUPER quiet! No traffic noise!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

I traveled with my son, daughter-in-law and 3 year old granddaughter to the Valley for a family reunion. We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit that was lovely and comfortable. We loved that it had everything we needed to prepare and serve our own meals. Although it was early April, the weather was great for enjoying your pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trouper5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apache junction
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

Where do I start.... The place is ancient and so are the beds. I stayed in a large unit with 3 beds. All three were so bad that after the 3rd night I had to go purchase an airbed like the rest of the occupants cause my back couldn't take another night on their beds.
Third degree at the pool, and constant snooping while I was there. NO VISITORS, so don't even try and tell a friend to come swim with you, let alone hang out at your hotel room cause "their always watching". I definitely didn't feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rachymason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McAllen
10.1 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
11.2 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
11.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburg Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
14.9 km away
Texas Inn & Suites McAllen Airport / Mall
9.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Texan Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texan Guest Ranch

Property: Texan Guest Ranch
Address: 8301 N. Ware Rd, McAllen, TX 78504-9612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Hospitality at Affordable Weekly or Monthly Rates. Fully Furnished Apartments/Suites. All Bills Paid, Weekly Maid Service, Hi-speed Internet, Pool, Fitness Center, On-Site Laundry, Secluded and Quiet. Enjoy your business stay or bird watching in this unique 20-acre complex or BBQ on your tropical patio and just relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Texan Guest Ranch Hotel Mcallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing