We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Texan Guest Ranch
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen(McAllen)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home2 Suites by Hilton McAllen(McAllen)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
37
4
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
4
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinter texansweekly cleaningmcallen areafully equipped kitchenheated poolhome away from homemaintenance staffplace to staygreat amenitiescleaning ladiesbarnworkoutlaundryelectricityvalleymaidcontribute
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Stayed at the Texan Guest Ranch 3 different times and it was really great .The staff was very nice always around to help in any way .Pool was always clean in a nice area and the plants and flowers were beautiful and the landscaping was well kept .It was always a pleasure to go back for that southern hospitably keep it up it was great.Oh and it was close to shopping and South Padre Island I cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

The landscaping is really pretty, the rooms are so clean- cleaner than the 5 star hotel I stayed at in Dallas. While it is an older place, it has a sweet tropical charm, and the location is perfect- close enough to everything, fifteen minutes to downtown McAllen, and fifteen to downtown Edinberg- and SUPER quiet! No traffic noise!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I traveled with my son, daughter-in-law and 3 year old granddaughter to the Valley for a family reunion. We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit that was lovely and comfortable. We loved that it had everything we needed to prepare and serve our own meals. Although it was early April, the weather was great for enjoying your pool.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trouper5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Where do I start.... The place is ancient and so are the beds. I stayed in a large unit with 3 beds. All three were so bad that after the 3rd night I had to go purchase an airbed like the rest of the occupants cause my back couldn't take another night on their beds.
Third degree at the pool, and constant snooping while I was there. NO VISITORS, so don't even try and tell a friend to come swim with you, let alone hang out at your hotel room cause "their always watching". I definitely didn't feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rachymason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Rude staff, not accommodating at all, can't "splash" in pool, can't have guests, and the best part was getting the door POUNDED on by the owner at 7AM FOR AN INSPECTION!!!! What a joke!! Do yourself a favor STAY ANYWHERE BUT HERE!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Azcarguy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcdc1, Owner at Texan Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

For security we must have identifications of all persons on premises and especially in our pools. Diving is not allowed and is posted. 7:00 am was a different zone time and my maintenance person had an appointment to enter the unit at 9:00 am by appointment. We are careful who comes on premises and maintain security for all those that are here, if we cannot connect people to our units they are asked who they are and must show ID. We try to be accommodating of guests and allow two guests per unit if with tenant. Our tenants are our first security. S. Womack CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews