We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$113
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$132
US$106
View deal
SAVE US$26
PricelineUS$113
Hotels.comUS$110
StayForLongUS$132
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
72
86
69
53
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
72
86
69
53
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel plenty of parking visiting colchester comfortable stay comfy bed short break henry funeral hairdryer cleaners pub zoo starters
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

On arrival hotel looks ok but that was soon remedied on meeting the rude abrupt receptionist. Our rooms are paid for by the company I contract to as we’re in a different hotel every night going job to job. On check in I’m told we must make a credit card payment of £25 per person. No other hotel asks this of us. After asking the reasons I was told it was for breakages then they changed this to in case I drank anything in the room. There are no drinks in the room. A con.
As we work nights we arrange and pay for a late check out, usually as in this case 4pm. This allows us to sleep before the next job. Therefore it’s annoying when this is all agreed in advance to be woken at 12 by somebody asking what time I’m leaving.
Bathroom fan sounds like a jumbo jet taking off too with a timer overrun function so if you put the bathroom light on you can’t hear anything else for 15 minutes.
Nice enough place, terrible attitude to customers

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 712geoffp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean Whyman, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2021

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel and I am sorry to read on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations and for this I can only apologia.

We work hard to improve service and will be sure to re-train staff on how they deal with problems like this, also I'm sorry that you was woken up as you had arranged a late check out and will assure you this does not happen again

It is the hotel's company policy to ask any guest for a £25.00 pre-authorisation on arrival, even if the booking has been pre-paid. The pre-authorisation is only a pending transaction and is released on departure

Please be assured all comments, whether negative or positive enable us to improve on the level of service we offer and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

It’s on the outskirts of colchester.they have restaurant and bar and lounges to relax.clean room and they have tea and coffee facilities. Nice comfortable bed with electric heating and big plasma tv.the only thing is nothing nearby but you can go to town by taxi. The bus is quite a walk , if you like walking it took us 1hour to walk to Colchester town.bust stop in front of storage place . Just pass premium inn 20 minutes walk from hotel bus 93 every two hours.our taxi cost 8 pounds bus fare nearly 6 pounds .single fare. The most I like is that the friendliness and kindness of the staff.foods are Tasty.on COVID world they try their best to accommodate people. You must wear mask and hand sanitizer when you walk through hotel except eating in their restaurant.we enjoy our stay

Room tip: Two room is basic but nice. Good shower with hot water
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean Whyman, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2021


Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to the hotel and the lovely comments made.

I will ensure all the team reds your review as they all appreciate positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

We booked the hotel due to location to the town centre
The hotel is well positioned just off the A12 but you would not think that as there is no noise
Well arranged with COVID measures to include an auto check in but still having the option of a reception
We booked a king size room and very spacious and you even have USB plugs
Breakfast has ample selection and plenty of it
Car parking abs Wi-Fi is also included and this is a bonus
Staff are very helpful and friendly and if I would mention one is Carolyn the ops manager she would ask every time we returned daily about our house hunting

To sum up the hotel is great and trust us we will be back

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 865georgeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean Whyman, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2021


Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to the hotel and the lovely comments made especially towards Carolyne.

I will ensure all the team reds your review as they all appreciate positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed one night 21st October, room was large.... was a stain on mirror... looked like blood, only 1 set of towels even though room was booked for 2.
No hand soap in bathroom... isn't it all about washing your hands??
Saving grace, had dinner... the young waitress was a superstar, didn't catch her name, but very friendly, attentive and food was fresh.
We both had pizza, could of been cooked a little more to our likes, buy we both throughly enjoyed our meals.
Would we stay again..... doubtful!!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cut1eLS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean Whyman, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2021

Dear CuteLS83,

Thank you for leaving a review, and this saddens me you left feeling like this with out an explanation, due to covid guide lines we currently only place one set of towels in the room to reduce waste but we will give extra set from reception also this is the same for soap as this is a porous material,

I am delight you enjoy your dinner and will pass your comments back to the chefs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

This was a bad experience, not only did a male member of housekeeping let themselves into my room (which was displaying a do not disturb sign) I was naked on the bed. It was very disturbing. My stay was 3 nights & since returning home to add to my trauma I have recieved a PCN charge from the private parking company that runs their car park, trying to fine me £100 for unauthorized parking for 1 of those nights. They make it very difficult to appeal, you can not ring it has to be in writing only. They have now written to say my appeal was unsuccessful ! How is that even possible ? To appeal further is even more difficult. I can not say anything good about the whole experience. The hotel allows this parking company to behave like absolute pirates to their guests. I am totally disgusted with everyone now ! shameful .

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kathleensH8477ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean Whyman, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2021

It is the hotel's company policy to ask any guest for a £25.00 pre-authorisation on arrival, even if the booking has been pre-paid. The pre-authorisation is only a pending transaction and is released on departure

Please be assured all comments, whether negative or positive enable us to improve on the level of service we offer and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews