We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston(Houston)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE(Houston)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$303
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$233
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$148
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$264
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Whitehall Houston(Houston)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$167
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$247
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,504)
Filter reviews
1,504 results
Traveller rating
1,231
188
33
21
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,231
188
33
21
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe theater districtjones halllion's denhouston symphonyhobby centerboutique hotelvalet parkingwithin milesfree shuttle serviceheart of downtownfavorite hotelmile radiuswonderful hotelcorner roombed was very comfortablefree breakfastdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,504 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

I just checked up on what was going on with the Lancaster after the catastrophic hurricane that hit Houston earlier this fall and was saddened to see they had sustained substantial damage.
Having traveled around the world and staying in a variety of historic hotels, the Lancaster stands out as one of the best. From the generous hospitality of the staff, the welcome comfort of the rooms, and a fantastic complimentary buffet breakfast The Lancaster simply knows how to treat their guests. My husband and I anxiously await their re-opening and look forward to many future visits.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for the kind words. We are rebuilding and should be back in operation Spring of 2018. Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I stayed at the Lancaster last year and enjoyed every minute. The beautifully appointed bedroom, the delicious breakfast and the fabulous service all added up for a great couple of days. I'm sad to hear of the damage caused by Hurricane Harvey and hope this beautiful, historic hotel is back welcoming guests soon.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeriK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your kind message and review. We are working hard to rebuild and will keep everyone updated when The Lancaster is expected to re open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I came down to Texas for a two week trip in the middle of August and started my trip in Houston to catch some Astros games at Minute Maid Park and to enjoy the good craft breweries and good food in the city.

My stay at the Lancaster Hotel for 3 nights was wonderful. The hotel staff are super friendly & caring which makes you feel like you're right at home! The rooms are very spacious & luxurious. The complimentary breakfast in the morning offers a huge variety and is very good, which helps you start the day on the right note! As well, they offer wine downstairs from 5-6PM which is nice after a long day out or before heading out for the evening.

The hotel is in a great location. About a 15 min walk to Minute Maid Park. Very close to a lot of the bars, restaurants on Main Street, just a couple of blocks. The hotel offers a shuttle service anywhere in the downtown area which is nice, its just first come/first serve though. Otherwise, getting around the city via Uber or Lyft was very easy and inexpensive, even if you decided to head outside of the downtown area.

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here whenever in Houston. A little more on the pricier side in comparison to others, though well worth it. I had a wonderful stay, and would definitely stay here again when in Houston for next time!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We are thrilled that you chose The Lancaster Hotel and had an amazing stay. From the hearty breakfast to our evening hosted wine hour, guests are sure to be pampered during their stay. We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown, close to many restaurants, theaters, cinemas, and of course Minute Maid Ballpark. Thank you for the 5 star review and we hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Service was superior each visit. Staff was very friendly and warm. They remembered our faces and what we ordered during previous visits. The food was correct temperature and good. The beverages were good. The establishment was clean and kid friendly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank LISA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

We appreciate the review and it was such a pleasure to serve you!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We were delighted when we opened the door to our stunning room! It was actually more of a suite! Gorgeous decor and plenty of room to spread out. The king bed was extremely comfy along with the pillows. Double glazing made for a quiet room. We were on the top 12th floor and had a corner room facing the street.
The bathroom was large and stocked with goodies. My only grizzles are that the towels could have been thicker, and that the shower was over the bath. But apart from that, everything was perfect.
The 'free' breakfast was far better than expected and the bar and restaurant have a great appealing menu.
The daily 3pm chocolate chip cookies freshly baked were a welcome treat!
Lovely staff and a top location.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We are delighted to hear about your excellent stay. Thank you for choosing The Lancaster Hotel!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews