We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,528)
Filter reviews
1,528 results
Traveller rating
1,252
190
34
21
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,252
190
34
21
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jones hall the theater district lion's den hobby center boutique hotel within miles valet parking free shuttle service heart of downtown favorite hotel mile radius wonderful hotel night's sleep corner room bed was very comfortable free breakfast the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,528 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I stayed at the Lancaster last year and enjoyed every minute. The beautifully appointed bedroom, the delicious breakfast and the fabulous service all added up for a great couple of days. I'm sad to hear of the damage caused by Hurricane Harvey and hope this beautiful, historic hotel is back welcoming guests soon.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeriK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your kind message and review. We are working hard to rebuild and will keep everyone updated when The Lancaster is expected to re open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I came down to Texas for a two week trip in the middle of August and started my trip in Houston to catch some Astros games at Minute Maid Park and to enjoy the good craft breweries and good food in the city.

My stay at the Lancaster Hotel for 3 nights was wonderful. The hotel staff are super friendly & caring which makes you feel like you're right at home! The rooms are very spacious & luxurious. The complimentary breakfast in the morning offers a huge variety and is very good, which helps you start the day on the right note! As well, they offer wine downstairs from 5-6PM which is nice after a long day out or before heading out for the evening.

The hotel is in a great location. About a 15 min walk to Minute Maid Park. Very close to a lot of the bars, restaurants on Main Street, just a couple of blocks. The hotel offers a shuttle service anywhere in the downtown area which is nice, its just first come/first serve though. Otherwise, getting around the city via Uber or Lyft was very easy and inexpensive, even if you decided to head outside of the downtown area.

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here whenever in Houston. A little more on the pricier side in comparison to others, though well worth it. I had a wonderful stay, and would definitely stay here again when in Houston for next time!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We are thrilled that you chose The Lancaster Hotel and had an amazing stay. From the hearty breakfast to our evening hosted wine hour, guests are sure to be pampered during their stay. We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown, close to many restaurants, theaters, cinemas, and of course Minute Maid Ballpark. Thank you for the 5 star review and we hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Service was superior each visit. Staff was very friendly and warm. They remembered our faces and what we ordered during previous visits. The food was correct temperature and good. The beverages were good. The establishment was clean and kid friendly.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LISA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

We appreciate the review and it was such a pleasure to serve you!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We were delighted when we opened the door to our stunning room! It was actually more of a suite! Gorgeous decor and plenty of room to spread out. The king bed was extremely comfy along with the pillows. Double glazing made for a quiet room. We were on the top 12th floor and had a corner room facing the street.
The bathroom was large and stocked with goodies. My only grizzles are that the towels could have been thicker, and that the shower was over the bath. But apart from that, everything was perfect.
The 'free' breakfast was far better than expected and the bar and restaurant have a great appealing menu.
The daily 3pm chocolate chip cookies freshly baked were a welcome treat!
Lovely staff and a top location.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We are delighted to hear about your excellent stay. Thank you for choosing The Lancaster Hotel!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We had an amazing 4 night stay with our 18 months old
Staff were always warm and friendly, especially Laura from guest services who took care of everything we needed.
The location is just perfect, right in the heart of downtown and minutes walk from the Houston Aquarium, also close to many restaurants and bars.
Breakfast was awesome, many different options to choose from.
The hotel lobby and rooms are designed in very good taste, looking very modern and luxurious yet staying traditional and keeping with the hotel's rich history.
I was lucky enough to have stayed just before Hurricane Harvey, so I'm praying for everyone in the hotel to recover soon and to get back to doing what they do best

In short: I would highly recommend it, well worth the price and out of dozens hotels I've been in , this is in my top 5 and that says a lot!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EladAvigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Many thanks for the 5 star review and thank you for choosing The Lancaster Hotel. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews