We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location Downtown Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #2 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This is a very nice hotel with nice rooms and as many people have commented, has great sheets! The location is very close to great restaurants and local entertainment. Would definitely stay there again. The complimentary breakfast was unbelievable. The smoked salmon was fantastic.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaRick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Our breakfast has such variety - from smoked salmon to homemade pastries and much, much more. Thank you for choosing The Lancaster Hotel and for the 5 star review!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

This place is great. We spent two nights here in a one bedroom suite. The space was huge and the attention to detail is easily comparable to a 5 star hotel.

The bedding was literally the softest and comfiest I've ever experienced. Beyond amazing to sleep in. Also included was a delicious breakfast (hot and continental), bottled water, luxury amenities and robes. Amazing value for money.

We were flying out late in the evening and the staff extended us a courtesy late checkout of 2pm.

Also onsite is the "dragons den" where you can purchase a range of food, drinks, treats and personal items. Very handy.

The only suggestions I have would be including cutlery in the suite and maybe extending breakfast hours past 10am (even just on weekends).

Highly recommend the Lancaster to all!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank charlottevanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Our linens are a favorite among our guests. We even sell our bedding package due to popular demand. And the Lion's Den (24/7 guest lounge) is Alamo a favorite, with snacks for purchase and a computer workstation. Thank you for sharing your experience with the online community!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Loved everything about this hotel. Incredibly comfortable beds, spacious rooms, and ample breakfast. Goat cheese cake at the bar with drinks before the concert at Revention Music Center was a great way to start the evening. We had a safe and well-lit walk to and from the concert. We plan to return!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

The Lancaster Hotel is the ideal hotel in Houston's theater district. We're just a short walk from many venues, theaters and restaurants and enjoy many theater patrons throughout the year. We hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night due to her favorite music artist (who came all the way from europe) performing just 2 blocks away. The greatest highlight for her was receiving a poster signed by the artist. Upon checking out and getting into the car and onto the road. We discovered an hour into our 4 hr trip home, that we both forgot the poster. In a panic, I called the front desk while traveling, to see if anyone had turned it in, or it was still in our room. Laura Fowler put me in hold while they went to look. After a few minutes, I was afraid we would be out of luck, but Laura came back on the phone and informed me they found it. She told me they would be more than happy to FedEx it wherever we needed to. The relief was immediate! We really thought we had lost something that would be extremely difficult to replace. This was the cherry on the top of our stay! The rooms were beautiful and clean. The complimentary breakfast was the best I have ever had, which included a very attentive wait staff. Everyone was so nice and helpful that I almost canceled future plans just to stay one more night. If you are contemplating staying at the Lancaster in Houston, I promise you will not regret it. I told her many times over the phone, but she deserves it again. Thank You Laura Fowler!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for the compliments and thank you for choosing The Lancaster Hotel. We love to pamper our guests, going above and beyond to ensure our guests can't wait to return. Many thanks for sharing your experience with the online community.

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

My husband and I try to visit this historic hotel annually. It is in a great location - right across the street from Jones Hall. If you don't mind a 20 minute walk, you can walk to the Toyota Center, and if you'd rather not walk, the hotel provides a shuttle. The rooms have a historic feel but an updated, modern look. The complementary breakfast buffet was delicious and diverse. It offered everything from waffles to smoked salmon. The staff was friendly and helpful, including Russell at the front desk and Mark in the breakfast area. This is a wonderful hotel and it is surprisingly affordable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrileblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We appreciate your loyalty and thank you for the 5 star review. We can't wait to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#9 of 517 in Houston
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
875 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Hotel

Address: 701 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-2712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#5 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: €194 - €313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lancaster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently accepted into the Historic Hotels of America with Stately elegance and Outstanding service in a Historic Downtown location with Luxurious accommodations. These are the hallmarks of The Lancaster hotel. Here at The Lancaster Hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, classic luxury and a grand tradition of hospitality blend perfectly with modern technology and warm, personalized service. Our stylish boutique hotel combines classic modern design, pampering services, amenities and superior comfort to exceed the expectations of the discriminating business or leisure traveler. The Lancaster is perfectly situated in Houston’s theater district near all the entertainment in downtown Houston, including Houston’s finest culinary, cultural and entertainment destinations. Experience luxurious comfort in our 93 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites designed with the amenities and ambiance you have come to expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Unwind in the plush comfort of down duvets and feather pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, plush bathrobes; complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary courtesy car service to nearby attractions and businesses and much more. Relax with the knowledge that we are completely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing