We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,530)
Filter reviews
1,530 results
Traveller rating
1,254
190
34
21
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,254
190
34
21
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jones hall the theater district lion's den hobby center boutique hotel within miles valet parking free shuttle service heart of downtown favorite hotel mile radius wonderful hotel night's sleep corner room bed was very comfortable free breakfast the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,530 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

This place is great. We spent two nights here in a one bedroom suite. The space was huge and the attention to detail is easily comparable to a 5 star hotel.

The bedding was literally the softest and comfiest I've ever experienced. Beyond amazing to sleep in. Also included was a delicious breakfast (hot and continental), bottled water, luxury amenities and robes. Amazing value for money.

We were flying out late in the evening and the staff extended us a courtesy late checkout of 2pm.

Also onsite is the "dragons den" where you can purchase a range of food, drinks, treats and personal items. Very handy.

The only suggestions I have would be including cutlery in the suite and maybe extending breakfast hours past 10am (even just on weekends).

Highly recommend the Lancaster to all!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank charlottevanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Our linens are a favorite among our guests. We even sell our bedding package due to popular demand. And the Lion's Den (24/7 guest lounge) is Alamo a favorite, with snacks for purchase and a computer workstation. Thank you for sharing your experience with the online community!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Loved everything about this hotel. Incredibly comfortable beds, spacious rooms, and ample breakfast. Goat cheese cake at the bar with drinks before the concert at Revention Music Center was a great way to start the evening. We had a safe and well-lit walk to and from the concert. We plan to return!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tanyasL4785TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

The Lancaster Hotel is the ideal hotel in Houston's theater district. We're just a short walk from many venues, theaters and restaurants and enjoy many theater patrons throughout the year. We hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night due to her favorite music artist (who came all the way from europe) performing just 2 blocks away. The greatest highlight for her was receiving a poster signed by the artist. Upon checking out and getting into the car and onto the road. We discovered an hour into our 4 hr trip home, that we both forgot the poster. In a panic, I called the front desk while traveling, to see if anyone had turned it in, or it was still in our room. Laura Fowler put me in hold while they went to look. After a few minutes, I was afraid we would be out of luck, but Laura came back on the phone and informed me they found it. She told me they would be more than happy to FedEx it wherever we needed to. The relief was immediate! We really thought we had lost something that would be extremely difficult to replace. This was the cherry on the top of our stay! The rooms were beautiful and clean. The complimentary breakfast was the best I have ever had, which included a very attentive wait staff. Everyone was so nice and helpful that I almost canceled future plans just to stay one more night. If you are contemplating staying at the Lancaster in Houston, I promise you will not regret it. I told her many times over the phone, but she deserves it again. Thank You Laura Fowler!!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for the compliments and thank you for choosing The Lancaster Hotel. We love to pamper our guests, going above and beyond to ensure our guests can't wait to return. Many thanks for sharing your experience with the online community.

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

My husband and I try to visit this historic hotel annually. It is in a great location - right across the street from Jones Hall. If you don't mind a 20 minute walk, you can walk to the Toyota Center, and if you'd rather not walk, the hotel provides a shuttle. The rooms have a historic feel but an updated, modern look. The complementary breakfast buffet was delicious and diverse. It offered everything from waffles to smoked salmon. The staff was friendly and helpful, including Russell at the front desk and Mark in the breakfast area. This is a wonderful hotel and it is surprisingly affordable.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adrileblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We appreciate your loyalty and thank you for the 5 star review. We can't wait to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We were in Houston to see an Astros Game. The hotel is a short walk from the stadium, but the hotel offers a free shuttle service to anything within 3 miles, which is a great service when it is HOT and HUMID, as Houston can be. Our room was very comfortable, with a great bed and lovely furnishings. The complimentary breakfast was terrific, lots of choices including lox and capers, which isn't usually found on a complimentary breakfast buffet. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Kudos to David, waiter, for being so helpful.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you for the compliments and so great to hear that enjoyed the game and your stay at The Lancaster Hotel. As you mentioned, the shuttle service is a nice amenity to get guests to and from their destination - within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. We hope we to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michelle M., Social Medina Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews