We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Dinner”

Brennan's of Houston
Reserve with OpenTable
Brennan's of Houston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 9,037 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Stuart
Description: Since our 1967 opening as a sister restaurant to the world-famous Commander's Palace in New Orleans, Brennan's of Houston has evolved into the city's premier destination for memorable dining served with true Southern hospitality. From the reservationist to the waiters, chefs and every associate behind the scenes, our team is focused on the highest standard of excellence and equally dedicated to creating enduring memories of snapshots in time: the sealing of business deals, wedding proposals, joyful celebrations, and the marking of significant milestones along life's way. And the proof is in the (bread) pudding, with loyal patrons returning time and again to create new memories.Reflecting the same warmth as our friendly greeting, each farewell concludes with Brennan's signature lagniappe: an abundance of unforgettably fresh pecan pralines.
Reviewed 5 November 2018

I had the Sugarcane Smoked Beef Ribs. Oh my. My wife had the Snapper Ponchatrain, I believe.
Those ribs were amazing. They had a great glaze, and had been smoking for hours. The taste, texture and portion size were all fantastic.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2018

I don't live in Houston and had not been to Brennan's in years. I ordered the old favorites of eggs benedict and bananas foster. I was not disappointed in the least. Such an elegant restaurant, including the food presentation. Thomas was our server and was excellent. Great brunch place!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We just had brunch today at Brennan’s of Houston when we were visiting for a family wedding. We had the best meal ever. The petite seafood platter was fantastic and not very petite. I had the best gumbo ever. My husband and daughter both had egg dishes they really enjoyed. Can’t say enough good things about it.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank lisats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful five-star experience! You have to valet park here, do remove or lock up valuables. Nevertheless, the valet staff were professional and fast. Parking is only $5.00. We were here just for drinks and appetizers. The crab balls were delicious. But, you have to try their signature turtle soup, which was topped of with sherry. Kind of a funny story...I asked the waiter where they get their turtles and he replied they use the large sea turtles. I was shocked, then he laughed and said that they use a turtle farm in Louisiana. Funny!
Anyway, even though we ordered just s few appetizers and drinks, we had a five star experience. Don’t forget the complimentary pralines on the way out.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank MaltaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brennans1967, Manager at Brennan's of Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Hello MaltaBound, we are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope you will join us on any upcoming celebrations you have in the future. Have a wonderful week and thank you again for taking the time to leave us feedback and a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

We hosted a rehearsal dinner for our son's wedding for 34 people in the Coast Room at Brennan's of Houston (BofH). We are from the New Orleans area where the Brennan family operates several nationally known, award winning restaurants AND we have been to all of them several times. But we had never tried BofH. We liked the idea of serving NOLA cuisine to our Texas guests in Houston. Needless to say, our "expectations bar" for BofH was set very high, but being in Texas, we were thinking it would be very good, but expected maybe a little less than what we are accustomed to in NOLA. Well, BofH hit the ball way out of the park. Overall, we are elated, as were our guests, many who commented to us during and after the event, at the exceptional quality of the food and service. From selecting the restaurant, the banquet room, the hors d' oeuvres, the 4 courses, the wines, champagne, liquors, beers and etc., there is not a single thing we would change if we were to do it all over again. Brennan's banquet managers that we worked with - Nicole and Kelly, were very helpful in answering all questions, providing recommendations - especially regarding food and beverages, capturing all of our requirements and delivering the plan to perfection. Our lead servers the night of the event, Wally and Jesse, did an exceptional job. They were very friendly and constantly attentive, not missing a thing, serving drinks, hors d' oeuvres during our cocktail mingle, then the 4 meal courses, clearing tables, and addressing all our needs we had during the event. It was absolutely perfect in every way.

Our menu was a knockout by our measure and according to our guests. Beginning with hors d'oeuvres including petit crab cakes, hill country quail poppers, and marinated tomatoes & chili spiced Texas Feta bruschetta. The meal began with seafood gumbo, followed by a petite Brennan's salad and main course offerings of pecan crusted gulf fish, Texas shrimp & grits or Mesquite wood grilled sliced beef tenderloin. Exactly an equal number of guests chose each of the 3 entre alternatives. Similarly exactly half our guest chose the Bananas Foster & ice cream dessert while the other half enjoyed the Creole Bread Pudding. So the menu alternatives we chose appears to have been perfectly balanced to our guests liking. Rounding out the evening was a champagne toast and coffee. All of it made a wonderful evening. We'll definitely be back to BofH in a future trip back to Houston.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LesterFamily1436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brennans1967, Manager at Brennan's of Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hello LesterFamily, It is truly our honor to be able to celebrate such an occasion with our guests. We love that it was a hit and are simply delighted to pass along the kudos to our team.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for others considering us. Have a wonderful week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brennan's of Houston also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Brennan's of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing