We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ”
Review of Demeris Bar-B-Q

Demeris Bar-B-Q
Ranked #975 of 9,031 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Reviewed 15 June 2017

This is in my opinion, the best barbecue in Houston, and we have a lot of different options. The meat is fine all by itself, doesn't need sauce. But their sauce is so good and sweet you'll want to dip your meat in it. I usually get sliced beef or smoked turkey and they are great. But you'll also want to taste their fries. They are like I remember fries in the 1950's, a little sweet, soft and crispy. They really taste good with a little bbq sauce on them. Any of their 3 locations is fine but this one is more centrally located in Houston. Grab some bbq to go and head to Herman Park for a picnic. You won't regret it!!!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2017

Demeris has been in Houston for a very long time and after tasting the brisket po boy, I can see why. First, I must say that this is restaurant has a beautiful and clean dining area and condiment bar. The service was quick but not very personable. It was not bad just not very cordial. The brisket is both lean and juicy. This is exceptional, for most bbq places it's either or but not here. It has a great flavor with just the right amount of smokey goodness. The po boy bread was fresh and delicious. This sandwich is huge! The sauce... oh the sauce. I know for some Texans, sauce is not important, but this life long Texan loves a little sauce on his new. Demeris has some of the best sauce of any restaurant,anywhere. Just the right balance of sweet, tangy, and smokey. For sides, you cans go wrong with a basket of nice and crispy fries or try the potato salad. Both are great.

Maybe Demeris is not the best, but it is very close to the top in a city with a lot of contenders. Give it a try.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank gslape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Been going here for fifty years: Demeris' Barbecue is absolutely delectable and their cole slaw is the best ever. Usually I get the chopped beef sandwich, which is real beef BBQ chopped at the counter, and I recently took a client who ordered a baked potato with chopped beef. The potato was enormous and loaded with meat and cheese, sour cream (with additional condiments offered). She enjoyed every morsel and had half to take home because it was so large; always a successful meal here.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank houtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

I'm not a huge BBQ fan so I've only eaten the potato with jalapeno sausage but it was good. What really got me was the cobbler...it is delicious! My hubs though, is a big BBQ fan and he's had the ribs and pulled pork (I think it was pulled pork) and he loved it. P.S. Four stars instead of five only because of personal preference. If you're a BBQ lover, you def need to check this place out.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank loves_wineandcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

It has been thirty years since I last ate here, and everything is exactly like it was in the eighties - first rate. They offer true chopped beef - not a bunch of warmed over brisket drowning in bbq sauces. The brisket is excellent and served in large portions. My companion had the stuffed baked potato and raved about it. I had the poor boy basket - straight forward and perfect. The sauce here has always been mild and a little less smoky than what you will find at other places. Its still good, just different.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank SouthernTrifecta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Demeris Bar-B-Q also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Demeris Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing