We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel kicked us out”
Review of Hotel Ylem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ylem
Ranked #271 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We booked 3 nights but hotel forced us to leave after 2 nights. They said they don't have our reservation records. We have to leave with all baggages and two kids. Don't know where to live tonight. So stupid!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Asian Garden D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly T, Director of Sales at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

I am so sorry that we did not have the availability to extend your stay. I sympathize with what happened and hope you were able to find accommodations without too much trouble.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

We were coming into Houston for a concert this past weekend. We made our reservations with no insurance because we knew for sure we were going and were looking extremely forward to the trip for a long time. Hurricane Harvey came and the hotel were extremely nice and accommodating. They were understanding about our travel needs and very helpful. They stayed in touch with us and were very quick to answer any questions we had. We didn't end up staying at this hotel due to the storm, but they helped clear our reservation and were extremely understanding and helpful. I would highly suggest this hotel due to customer service alone.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly T, Director of Sales at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm glad our team was able to take care of you especially during the hectic time everyone faced. We'd love to have you with us another time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. Close to MD Anderson. This hotel put their money into their beds and bedding. Awesomely comfortable. I wouldn't call the front desk staff rude but perhaps aloof would be a more accurate description. The coffee machine in our room was an "Olly" and put out a great cup of coffee. Breakfast is typical of what you'd expect at any mid priced hotel.The only downside is the musty smell in the room. Sadly it got worse when we took showers. The problem being, no exhaust fan in the bathroom and nowhere for all that moisture to go. We will be staying there again I'll bring Febreeze.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charben57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly T, Director of Sales at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for letting us know how we can fix things! I'm glad you were comfortable and we are always working to improve and be the best hotel around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Made a reservation 3 weeks in advance, then on day of check-in, while waiting to get discharged from the MD Anderson I get a call from the hotel that my room was given away because the were overbooked. (kind of sounds like the excuse the airlines give) The only justification they gave me was that there was a U2 concert in town and for me to look for another hotel. All this while I'm going through all my health issues. All I wanted was to go to bed and rest instead I had to drive all over Houston to look for a place to stay. THANKS Ylem Hotel!!!! for your giving away my room.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gonzalez3sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear gonzalez3sisters,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased to see you liked the location of our facility. On the other hand, I am sorry for the inconvenience you had due to your reservation. I would like to look into this further, therefore, I have sent you a private message to obtain some details. Thank you for staying and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

I lived here for a month between selling and buying a home locally. I had 2 teens and a dog with me. The breakfast was awesome and pool were great. Staff was nice and I always had a clean room to come home to. Great pub called Chupacabra Craft Beer and Salado Lone Star Winery that we enjoyed hanging out at. Good overall experience.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#247 of 518 in Houston
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ylem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ylem

Address: 8080 Main St, Houston, TX 77025-2808 (Formerly 8080 Main)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: €98 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ylem 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and welcome! We would like to invite you to come and experience a stay at the 8080 Main. Whether you are coming in for business or pleasure, see how we can make your stay a personal and unique one. We are conveniently located near the Texas Medical Center, Rice University, the Museum District, and NRG Stadium. Just minutes away from Houston's world renowned MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's & St. Luke's hospitals, our hotel may be just what you need for your home away from home. For all you sports fans out there, we have just the thing for you too. Come and enjoy Houston s very own Texans, or see your favorite college or soccer teams battle it out on the field. The NRG Stadium is also located nearby. Shuttle service is available to the Medical Center area and Reliant Stadium. Taxis are available for all other locations. Relax in our elegant yet modern rooms with amenities such as a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. High-speed Internet access, both wireless and wired, along with a variety of movie channels are also provided free of charge. Enjoy a deluxe complimentary breakfast, Smart Roast coffee and choices of hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ylem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Houston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston Medical Center
Holiday Inn Express Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing