We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and will only get better, I would stay again, location EXCELLENT”
Review of Hotel Ylem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ylem
Ranked #270 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Excellent location, you can walk to all kinds of food and shops. The beds were super comfy, it was quiet, clean, room and bathroom very large, snazzy bar that serves cocktails. Free breakfast - it's not fancy but edible and very well maintained. They are still doing some renovations in this boutique hotel but I would stay again no doubt.

Room Tip: If you want the curtains open don't stay on the lobby side of the building, flood lamps are righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlbuquerqueCissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly T, Director of Sales at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon to see how we've grown and improved the last few months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2017

While attending Rodeo Houston this week, we've been s​taying at Hotel Ylem, and it's made us really think more about the type of people we want to be. Didn't know a hotel could do that, but it has.

It's a family-owned hotel that wants to not only bless their guests, but also make a difference in the world. They donate to charity: water and recently finished super cute, artsy hotel renovations where just about everything in the rooms has been purchased from businesses who also give to charities. From the paper products to the bedding, it all has a story.

Hotel Ylem intentionally chose items that would be a blessing to other people, even though it wasn't necessarily the most cost-effective for their business. When we asked one of the owners why, she said they just really want to be faithful with what they have and to encourage others to make a difference. It sure has motivated us to do so, so thank you Hotel Ylem!

Also, free continental breakfast, walking distance to NRG Stadium, shuttle service within 3 miles, and free wifi...so an all-around win.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly T, Director of Sales at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for the great feedback! We hope you guys will join us for Rodeo 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Although the hotel is still under renovations, the staff and housekeeping were hospitable and seemed to do everything they could to make our stay as good as possible. The hotel is in a great area and the shuttle takes you to good locations and the driver was conversational and friendly as well. The newer rooms look soooo much better than the older ones, and the painting/mural on the front side is amazing! We did not see it finish, but we are sure it'll look beautiful. Thank you so much for a great time. The only downside is the slightly limited breakfast options. ☺

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have bigger windows and the hall' ceiling is super tall! ☻
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald S, General Manager at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Dear Mikal,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I hope that your niece recovers. It is good to know when a guest enjoys their stay and enjoying our hotel's great mural! I will share this review with my associates. We are looking into expanding our breakfast options to better accommodate our guests. I look forward to hosting your next stay when you are in the area.


Sincerely,
Donald Santee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

This hotel, which may never have pretended to be more than functional, is undergoing NOW a revamping. The intentions are good, but whoever designed the remodeling might want to seek another profession. Lighting is terribly mislocated. The bath has NO flat surface on which to place one's needs while performing ablutions. The lobby begs for some comfortable seating. Meanwhile, the room is spacious, and the WiFi works well. Attendants are affable. Beds are wonderfully comfortable.

Room Tip: Carry a lantern; you may need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank leefontanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald S, General Manager at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Dear Leefontanella,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I appreciate your candid review and will share this with our team. Our hotel is still being re-imaged and updated daily. Once the hotel is competed it will have all of the amenities you suggested.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Donald Santee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

First the good ones:
Staff amazing, nice location. Really close to medical center and nice restaurants walkable distance. Also the metro is nearby.
The rooms are a little small for my taste, and is currently being under some construction (but they keep this area closed).
The price is really good, and breakfast is ok. I would definitely will stay here in our further visits.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald S, General Manager at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear Laura C,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is good to know when a guest enjoys their stay. We look forward to hosting you future stays with us.

Sincerely,
Donald Santee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#247 of 518 in Houston
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ylem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ylem

Address: 8080 Main St, Houston, TX 77025-2808 (Formerly 8080 Main)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: €98 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ylem 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and welcome! We would like to invite you to come and experience a stay at the 8080 Main. Whether you are coming in for business or pleasure, see how we can make your stay a personal and unique one. We are conveniently located near the Texas Medical Center, Rice University, the Museum District, and NRG Stadium. Just minutes away from Houston's world renowned MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's & St. Luke's hospitals, our hotel may be just what you need for your home away from home. For all you sports fans out there, we have just the thing for you too. Come and enjoy Houston s very own Texans, or see your favorite college or soccer teams battle it out on the field. The NRG Stadium is also located nearby. Shuttle service is available to the Medical Center area and Reliant Stadium. Taxis are available for all other locations. Relax in our elegant yet modern rooms with amenities such as a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. High-speed Internet access, both wireless and wired, along with a variety of movie channels are also provided free of charge. Enjoy a deluxe complimentary breakfast, Smart Roast coffee and choices of hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ylem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Houston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston Medical Center
Holiday Inn Express Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing