We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed, good service, decent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport
Ranked #114 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed overnight at this property because we were changing planes and our next flight wasn't until the following day.

The Great: Very comfortable bed with good linens and variety of pillows; our room was extremely quiet (these two items are the most important to me: bed quality and no room noise).

The Good: Restaurant was good with Texas favorites like chicken-fried steak, along with healthier choices and they also had a decent variety of wine, beer on tap, and cocktails.

The OK: Rooms are small and bathroom very small..., not much the hotel can do about it, but if you are looking for a spacious room...or staying more than one night...then be prepared for the tight space in the room; also, the common areas are not particularly inviting.

The Nit-Picky: Used the shuttle to get to the hotel. It would have been nice if the driver told us how many stops he was going to make. This is a large airport and although a straight drive from airport to hotel would be about 5 minutes, we were on the shuttle at least 20 minutes circling round and round to stop at each terminal. If he could have announced "we've got 2 more stops folks", at least we'd know what the deal was.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanCohen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear Guest: I'm glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. You're right that this hotel is generally pretty quiet for the airport area. Glad you loved the bed, too! They're Simmons BeautyRest pillow top. The Good Eats Grill is very popular, and I'm glad you found us and enjoyed our offerrings. It is sort of 'downhome' so to speak, but most folks enjoy the comfort and quality.
Regards, the shuttle, I have the same challenge to the drivers. They should quickly explain and inform passengers if they need to make additional stops, which is not that uncommon at such a large airport. I promise we'll keep on them about this, (ps, there is a bit a of a language challenge with a few, but we'll try to overcome that). Thanks for staying with us! Dennis Miller, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 597 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

Came to IAH for airline training for two weeks. I found the staff helpful and clean, comfortable bed. Fridge and microwave available at first come, first serve. Hotel accomodates a lot of the airlines/carriers and others for training in the area and is sorta in a business area. The shuttle will pick up/drop off at the airport and training centers every thirty minutes. Only the one restaurant at the hotel, which was good, but after two weeks there, wanted other options. There's not really anywhere within walking distance (safely for a woman by herself) to go to. There are a couple of places if a group wanted to walk to Subway, Taco Bell - fast food. The hotel shuttle will also take you to the local mall at 6pm and return at 9pm, which was nice. The only real negative was trying to get on the shuttle for the training center - I would have to get up early in order to catch the 6:30 or 7am shuttle, to make it there for my 8am classes. Seems everyone wanted the 7:30 shuttle and these are the small shuttles - some folks would have to stand in the isle. My second week there, I rented a car, which made it easier, but did cost me $180. I would stay here again if I had to go to this same training center - but I do think I would have a couple of other folks to go in on the rental car.

Room Tip: Ask to face the swimming pool, which is further away from the streets out front. I was on the third...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkyLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for the nice compliments about your stay. You are right that over two week stay you get to see all of us. I'm glad we faired well for you. The shuttle is pretty busy and the 7:30 time is most popular. We will continue to look at ways to smooth transportaiton to the training centers and appreciate your feedback. Hope you have an excellent carreer and please call on us if we can ever be of service. Sincerely, Dennis Miller, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We required a hotel for an overnight stay while in transit to our destination. We booked this hotel on Hotwire not knowing the name until it was paid for. For a cost of $47.50 a night we weren't expecting much, however did not need much for a quick overnighter. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. When we arrived at the airport we called for the shuttle and within 15-20 minutes the free shuttle arrived. At the hotel our checkin was very speedy and we were given a small welcome package. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant onsite, "Great Eats" was very good with excellent wait staff. The hotel has a pool and small gym which we didn't have time to use but it is there. They also offer a free shuttle to the mall and pick up was on time. Rooms were clean and well appointed if a bit small. In comparison, we paid $170 for a Holiday Inn in Nisku, Alberta when we were connecting and it wasn't even close to the level of service, friendliness and amenities as this Holiday Inn. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you are a Priority Club Member
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear Guests, YEA! Loved hearing your review. Thank you so much for sharing the nice details. We all try hard for our Guests and I'm glad it showed. Hope you always have good trips and hope you can visit us again and enjoy the Houston area. Thank you, Dennis Miller, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here after a long flight from the UK. Room itself was large, had a flat screen tv etc. The hotel also put on a shuttle from the airport which is painless to use, simply call the hotel on arrival, wait 30 minutes and catch the bus to the hotel. Ideal if looking for a hotel to crash at before or after a flight. The only negative I would say is the hotel itself does feel slightly dated and after dropping the remote control off the bed I found a bottle of 'spicy brown mustard' under the bed, which makes me question how observant the cleaning staff are!


  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Hello Guest,
I am the manager of the hotel and thank you very much for your comments and feedback. I'm glad that you found many parts of the stay good. Please, however, let apologize for our housekeeper missing the bottle under the bed. This is just not acceptable. I will discuss with the entire team and remind them again that a complete cleaning always requires getting down and looking and cleaning under beds. Thank you for staying with us. I hope you will consider staying with us again.
Respectfully,
Dennis Miller
General Manager
281-449-2311

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We arrived in Houston at 9:00 on Christmas Eve. We booked this hotel on Hotwire for a little over $40. The room was pretty big, and the beds were very comfy. Since it was Christmas Eve, it was pretty empty. They don't charge for parking, but they do not have a complimentary breakfast. Their restaurant serves a good breakfast at a reasonable price, though. Staff is friendly. As for those who are worried about the age of the place, I saw none of the age that some other reviewers complained about. This is a pretty good place to stay if you're going to be there for one night because it's about 10 minutes to the airport (they have a shuttle) and it's right next to the Sam Houston highway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirbyfan1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear Guests; It was a pleasure to read your nice review. We try very hard to keep the rooms in great condtion. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We always appreciate feedback and encourage our guests to share any special requests or suggestions. Hope you have a great holiday!
Sincerely, Dennis Miller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush IAH South
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus JFK Inn & Suites
1.0 km away
Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Bush Intercontinental Airport
0.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
0.8 km away
Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport

Address: 15222 John F Kennedy Blvd, Houston, TX 77032-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: €64 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience relaxation and renewal at the newly renovated Holiday Inn hotel in Houston, Texas.With a casually sophisticated atmosphere, first-rate facilities and a welcoming staff, Holiday Inn Houston - Intercontinental Airport Hotel offers the very best in Texas accommodations. Leisure and business travelers alike will appreciate our Houston hotel's convenient location off I-45 and Beltway 8 as well as our complimentary shuttle services to the IAH Airport, which make transportation trouble-free during your stay.These modern accommodations provide easy access to many popular attractions, including H&H Ranch, the Astrodome, Sam Houston Race Park and SplashTown Houston. Our hotel is close to great shopping at Deerbrook Mall and the famous Houston Galleria, as well.Lodging at our upscale Houston hotel provides corporate travelers with top business services like a 24-hour business center, free Wi-Fi and flexible meeting space. From a beautiful ballroom to an intimate boardroom, we have the perfect facilities for your next Houston event. Our accommodations are also near major corporations like Halliburton, Continental Airlines, ExxonMobil and Nat'l Oilwell Varco.We go beyond ordinary Houston hotels to offer the best in traditional hotel hospitality and services. Relax in the outdoor pool and enjoy your favorite comfort foods at our ranch-style restaurant. Discover premium comfort and affordable rates at the Holiday Inn Hotel in Houston, Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Intercontinental Houston Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing