We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
72
1
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
1
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern charmhouse is beautifullovely groundsher husbandoatmeal cookiesthe main housefresh fruitevery corneri'm gladdelightful weekendkoi pondplan to returnspur of the momentpresent ownersplantation styledelicious breakfastplace to stay
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Truly a gem of a home in the heat of a charming, historic town. The owners and staff, Clint, Tiffany, and Alex, were friendly, professional, and exceptionally hospitable. The beds were comfortable, the breakfasts delicious, and there was a clear attention to detail to make the atmosphere both warm and timeless. This is the type of place where you can while away the hours sipping drinks on the veranda, or simply use as a base to explore the fascinating history of the region. This was a father-son trip, both history buffs looking for a relaxing place to unwind, and we liked Belle Oaks so much that we decided to stay a third night. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PhillipNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belle0aks, Owner at Belle Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

It was a pleasure having you and your father here at Belle Oaks. He was a delight and entertained us all with his fascinating and many times, humorous stories of his world travels. So glad you enjoyed Belle Oaks and the area. We appreciate you staying with us and for the opportunity to share a bit of good old southern hospitality. Best of luck on your new assignment abroad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Serendipity has done it to me again. She pushes, pulls, shoves and tugs. Thank goodness. On a spur of the moment trip to Gonzales, I checked out B&B’s rather than hotels. All of those magnificent white soaring columns of the Belle Oaks Inn sucked me right in. I'm glad they did.

This place is gorgeous; there aren't enough superlatives. The inn is beautifully and imaginatively decorated with a flair-defining elegance, excellent taste, and touches of western art. Our room on the second floor glowed with welcoming warmth. Along with a cozy looking bed you want to immediately fall into, there is a fireplace and two wingback chairs, a basket full of magazines in the corner, a closet-like nook that contains a mini-fridge, stocked with water and soft drinks, wine glasses and a coffee maker. The closet contains extra pillows, robes for two, an ironing board and an iron. The bathroom has a selection of toiletries in case there is something you forgot to pack.

After returning to our room at 10 p.m., when we opened the door we were greeted by the soft sounds of music and the glow of lamplight. Our bed had been turned down. The pillows fluffed. There were two giant cookies under a glass dome on the bedside table. Before falling asleep I told my husband, “We have to come back and stay here again.”

The grounds are gorgeous; the breakfast delicious. Staying here was the loveliest experience. I felt like a pampered guest.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mama_Chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belle0aks, General Manager at Belle Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you for allowing us to be your hosts. We welcome you back with open arms. It was our pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

A premier experience at a B&B requires several things: property personality, cleanliness, privacy, good food, a good bed, a peaceful neighborhood, and a genuinely hospitable host. This place takes the cake in every category. As a B&B owner, I think the most telling comment I can make is that I am glad I do not have to compete with Tiffany, at Belle Oaks Inn.
For starters, the house is filled with a history that is haunting in both the stories of it's owners and it's historic uses. It's a little like the present owners bought a lovely pasture, only to find it included a lost silver mine. Wood floors, once covered with wall to wall carpet, gleam with inlays of maple and walnut. Personal traces of the owners life are tastefully interwoven with images of previous owners. Interior colors and furniture appointments fascinate and challenge the critical eye. The decorators are tasteful, skilled, and gutsy. And to top it off, so much of the place (drapes to spreads) is crafted by hand. The grounds are as appealing as the interior. Shady, ancient trees surround the property. The courtyard echoes dances and celebrations, yesterday or a hundred years ago. And the pond at night erupts in a chorus of frogs.
The only thing that's better than the house is the hostess. She is a story to herself. Loaded with personality, hospitality spirit, and cooking skills, Tiffany makes Belle Oaks proud. I think I'd return if for nothing more than breakfast. And she'll give you her receipts!
So, here is my two cents: Gonzales is a historic Texas town. It should be required visiting for any deep-roots Texan. All that being said, book a room in this B&B. Take in the surround. Have a glass of wine. Sleep tight and wake to coffee and a good, homemade breakfast. Then see Gonzales.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lmarkhamdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belle0aks, Manager at Belle Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review! It was a true honor to have been your hosts. We look forward to having you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

A stunning setting for friends to share stories, celebrate accomplishments and travel down memory lane. From the front porch to poolside, a beautiful respite for a group or single who want to getaway. Appointed with antiques and art this jewel transports you to an era of grand plantations where cool porch breezes and rocking chairs are the order of the day. You won't want to leave. Clint, (owner) can fill you in on the history and Tiffany (caretaker) will take care of all your needs. Great breakfast served in the morning, with a scrumptious orange coffee cake. You will find charm around every corner.

Room Tip: All rooms are above expectations.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kathrynnash2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belle0aks, Manager at Belle Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Thank you for allowing us to be your hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed your company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We had a wonderful experience recently at the Belle Oaks Inn. The house is absolutely gorgeous, the rooms are spectacular and the food was wonderful. Could not recommend it highly enough for a weekend away from the hustle and bustle and craziness of modern life.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackay2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belle0aks, Manager at Belle Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for allowing us to be your hosts. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews