We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mediocre”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Jardin Restaurant
Ranked #140 of 328 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Great Mexican food and top notch service
Restaurant details
Description: Great Mexican food and top notch service
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Thought we would try this for lunch due to the good reviews on this site. Was a mistake. Perhaps breakfast would have been better. The very minimalist surroundings with zero ambience should have been a tip-off. The waiter although nice, had a startling appearance with his facial tattoos that was off-putting. Salsa was mediocre with greasy cold chips. The dishes were bland and not well prepared or presented. I had fajitas which were more like carnitas than the actual skirt steak they are supposed to be. They were overcooked, tasteless and tough. The tortillas are strange; overly thick and also tasteless. My partner had a combination plate that was also not to his liking. There are so many excellent Mexican restaurants it is hard to see how this place survives or gets these good reviews. I will not return.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

I am not a huge breakfast person, but this place is GREAT! My personal favorite is the Migas a la Mexicana (I get them to hold the jalapeños) extra crispy with pan sausage and cheese taco. Make sure you ask for the ranchero sauce. They really do an excellent job on the way they do all of the tacos/burritos. Very reasonable prices for what you get. I am not a big fan of the lunch items, but they serve breakfast all day (they close at 2pm)

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rita H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

By Far, El Jardin's Homemade Flour Tortillas are the best in Town! These puppies are too hot to handle when served! The Atmosphere is very family and very family friendly! When you say I want a large orange juice You get a LARGE ORANGE JUICE complete with pulp! I highly recommend this restaurant for breakfast, I am still leaving the jury out on lunch since my one and only visit for lunch experience was way average and thus the rating above!

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank garthedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Great Mexican breakfast food
Diner style
Family atmosphere
Fluffy generous tortillas
Enjoyed the local conversations

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ShAronmarie3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Don't bring a date here expecting to impress her. This is down home yummy mexican food where the locals eat. Just about any other Mexican restaurant on the Island is fancier, but few are better. This is a great breakfast place - it's like a scene out of a movie. Rich in color and people, sometime a little noisy, always excellent. I love this joint.

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EnMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Jardin Restaurant also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to El Jardin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing