We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It'll Do” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Galveston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Galveston
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It'll Do”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This was a one nighter stay and For the price it fit our needs....don't expect a lavish breakfast or even a filling one You'll be disappointed, There's No pool so keep that in mind if you have lil' ones.....It's not on the seawall but it was priced about 20$ less then other comparable hotels....so for those of You that are needing to find a deal and can do without a few luxuries check this place out........Best of Rest to Ya!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curtis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    64
    67
    43
    59
See reviews for
120
62
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DFW, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This place is off the beaten trail but affords easy access to the cruise terminal and will let you leave your car there for the week with a permit from their office. Decent rooms with nice staff. We have been staying here for our pre-cruise night for years with no problems and have recommended it to friends and family. If you are on a budget, it is just fine. If you are on vacation in Galveston for any length of time, you might want to be closer to the action and the beaches. Our room was clean and quiet and at no time did we hear the guests on either side of us. We could hear noise from the parking lot at times, but not very much once the place filled up for the night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lajollamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Over Memorial Day weekend, a group of us ( 3 families of 4) went to Galveston for a family beach trip. All of the rooms in Galveston were outrageously priced and we ran across a good bargain on this hotel. Read the review and we all were a little skeptical. To our surprise, the hotel suited us just fine. Rooms were clean, decently furnished, management were friendly and although all rooms were filled, it l was pretty quiet around the hotel. I would put it in the Motel 6/ Super 8 category. It is a little out of the way but only 4 minutes to the pier/strand and about the same to the seawall (depending on traffic) Would definately stay again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wandacraig3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

In my room (#114) at the end of playing tourist, I turned the TV on and relaxed on the bed. I initially thought the radio was on because I could hear something that wasn't the TV. I turned off the TV and realized that I could clearly hear and understand the people in room 115. It was if they were in the same room with me. I complained to the manager about Midnight and was told that I could switch rooms in the morning. At 1:30, I complained again and he came to the room to see what the problem was. He came into the room and listened to the conversation next door. He told me the wall was plywood, that he would go over there and ask them to "speak more slowly." I put that down to his problem with the English language. He then (quite rudely) told me that he could switch us to another room, but that on Saturday night they were going to be full and that if I had another problem, I could "survive or check out". His words, not mine. The other room was quiet and we were able to go to sleep. The day manager asked me the next morning if we had any further problems because of the "argument next door in 115". I him that it had not been an argument, just a normal converstion, and that it was still completely audible in the room next door. His night manager had incorrectly reported the problem to him.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlywoodWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galveston hotels

texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

i chose the place for free parking, didn't care for there room, didn't care for them watching my car... For cruise parking I recommend LIGHTHOUSE PARKING (http://www.lighthouseparking.org/)
I am a firm believer of you get what you pay for and I don't expect much from a room. All I need is a place to sleep and shower... BUT this place was the worst! There was an annoying musky odor lingering in the air... it turned out to be the carpets. My theory is, carpets got soaked and the easy fix was to let them air dry and then mask the odor, as opposed to replacing them. (seems convenient to blame it on hurricane ike). It was so disgusting that I went to both gas stations in search of Lysol/Glade/anything.
I went to bed just waiting to get up, shower and get the heck out.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cruisintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 km away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#26 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
4.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#23 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
4.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Galveston

Property: Howard Johnson Galveston
Address: 8216 Harborside Dr, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-7199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Howard Johnson Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Galveston Hotel Galveston
Galveston Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing