We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hilton. Right on the seawall in the heart of Galveston.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average Hilton. Right on the seawall in the heart of Galveston.”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel was a little dated and tired. The rooms were still comfortable and clean. The views were ok, basically the parking lot and street were between the hotel and beach. The pool is also located in the middle of the parking lot, but I didn't have time to check it out more. It's right in the heart of the touristy areas. Breakfast was pretty bad though, runny eggs and watered down biscutts and gravy. Overall, and average Hilton hotel, just in need of some renovation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms. We feel confident that our product will shine brighter than ever! Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    542
    306
    164
    109
See reviews for
670
583
58
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Very nice hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Lovely heated pool, hot tup and sauna. Unfortunately, we did not stay long enough to enjoy all the amenities. The beds were very comfortable and we had a great view of the Gulf and also the volcano at the Rain Forest Cafe next door (Room 306). If you are over 40, you will enjoy the night life at B. Jiggles at the Holiday Inn a block away. When we got in that evening, they had left a few mints and Mardi Gras beads on our pillows, nice touch!

Room Tip: Go for the balcony view with a view of the volcano at the Rain Forest Cafe, especially if you have k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GmaLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2016
This is a popular time for the hotel and it is great to hear that we shine in this moment. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Hotel clean, nice. Free parking while on cruise and organized shuttle to cruise ship. Getting off the ship we were told they have continuous shuttles but we had to wait 1.5hrs. Other hotel shuttles came by more frequently. They do this shuttle every weekend so I would think they would have it more organized by now.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank donna6776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms. We also have addressed the cruise ship transportation issue and we encourage our guests to use. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed one night prior to leaving on a cruise. Very nice rooms with plush bedding and robes! The products in the bathroom were of high quality. We also parked our car there at no additional charge for 7 nights while on the cruise. The shuttle was there to pick us up as soon as we exited customs.

Room Tip: Internet was only free is you were a Hilton Card member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasBahamamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2016
I am glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we made your trip a great one. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night after flying into Houston for a 7 day cruise. My brother and his wife picked us up at the airport (Hobby) and worked out great. We got a good discount from my bro's airline miles, so that was wonderful. Nice amenities. Great service on the park, ride and pick-up for the cruise passengers. The staff was very helpful with out bag transport and pickup from the terminal at the cruise port early. We tipped generously for that help. We were slightly disappointed that we could not get two rooms on the same floor or together and had a 2 double bed room. The hotel was full with cheerleading competitions and cruise passengers. Pool looked fine and mostly kids swimming even in 50 to 60 degree weather. Parking was OK even with a full hotel. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AttorneyinGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms. With new staff coming aboard over the years we feel that these ladies and gentlemen will go above and beyond for your needs. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
4.7 km away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.7 km away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
5.1 km away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Property: Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing