We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
76
72
37
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
72
37
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews german pastries local bakery room was clean continental breakfast clean place to stay in town older property owners live fresh pastries main street pastry ice machine microwave and refrigerator hill country outdoor pool close to downtown stay there again
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Stayed only 1 night during our road trip in Texas but would definitely come back if needed… friendly people at the front dest, quite room, pretty clean and confortable... i recommend it 100% if you're in the area

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mayrajohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

I love this hotel. They helped us when we were running from Hurricane Harvey and we have been coming back again and again. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff is super friendly and the hotel itself is pet friendly which is very important to us. The German pastries are always welcome. The hotel is exceptionally run. Thank you for all our pleasant stays.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Localyocal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

It’s an old style “motel.” Not Uber modern at all, but the room was clean, good mattress, AC unit worked great and quiet, smelled nice and not beat up. Fridge, micro, coffee maker in room. No hair dryer. Good continental breakfast. We’d definitely stay here again. Economical way to stay and enjoy hill country.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jennifermM951VD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

This is an older property located close to everything Fredericksburg at a price that makes you want to just stay a while. Get acquainted with Matt & Dora, the on-site management, for an even more welcome, home town feel.

Now for the reality check: This is not a "destination." It is an economical way to visit the destination, and Fredericksburg and the Texas Hill Country has lots to do and see. The Econo Lodge is in a great location with easy access to the region. The room we stated in had a very comfortable bed (we're told that most of the rooms are furnished with new mattresses) it was clean, smelled nice and everything worked. There were local pastries and refreshments for breakfast. The pool was clean and inviting - we didn't go in - they have pools where we live too.

We love the Hill Country, occasionally we stay in a cool B&B in the wine country or some other neat destination. Other times, we just want a comfortable and safe place to stay. THIS IS THE PLACE!

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank catalinasound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

I always hate being negative when I meet such nice people - and the owners of this property are extremely nice. I've stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions. Both times, I greatly enjoyed the German breakfast pastries. I never felt unsafe at this hotel and it's a great location, just outside of the downtown crowds. But this hotel needs some serious work. Our shower became shockingly cold every few minutes, with no warning. Our door was horribly hung in the frame - there was light coming in, all around it - and there was only one lock. No chain. The bed was clean but the chairs in the room were very old and very dirty. This place is cheap but I don't know if I can ever stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank donia1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews