We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bed, LOUD A/C, tiny bathroom. A bit iffy in spots.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #129 of 205 Hotels in Dallas
Reviewed 4 November 2011

First, the good points:
1) Check in was fast, friendly, professional.
2) Room was clean. Bed was comfy, lots of pillows. Decent (if a bit small) for price.
3) Good downtown Dallas location. Easy walking distance to several decent bars & restaurants (Sonny Bryans Smokehouse, TGI Fridays, Hofbrau Steaks, YO Ranch Steakhouse, etc).
4) Friendly, helpful hotel staff.
5) Good water pressure, nice shower.
6) In-room fridge that was ice cold at check-in!
7) Attentive housekeeping in-room.
8) Very close to DART & bus stops. Some people like this. Some probably find this disconcerting (due to the large amount of people waiting, some panhandling). We were out walking around both nights: no problems. We noticed a large police presence at night.
9) Key for elevator is a nice security touch.
10) Close to historic West End tourist attractions http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/West_End_Historic_District_(Dallas,_Texas)

The iffy:
1) Loud AC system. The system clonked loudly each time it cycled on and off, and vibrated oddly.
Extremely HOT in the hallway (almost sauna like).
2) Very small bathroom. The vanity/sink area was so small I had to put a towel on the floor and use the toilet seat due to lack of vanity space.
3) Some problems with housekeeping OUTSIDE the room (food trays left in the hall more than one day).
4) Problems with parking gate cards not working. Attendant was less than helpful.
5) Breakfast was $15.00 for a Belgian waffle & coffee. This did not taste like a fresh waffle; it looked, felt and tasted frozen and it came with one sad sliced Strawberry. Pretty sad even for a Crowne Plaza.

Starbucks is across the street, in the Bank of America building, down the escalator, behind the CVS if you want REAL coffee.

YO Ranch Steakhouse (2 blocks down and 2 blocks over) is GREAT! Had a wonderful meal here: a mixed grill of venison, quail and buffalo -- wow! Fabulous! Great wine... superior service. Treat yourself to a wonderful meal at YO Ranch Steakhouse.

Overall:
Decent hotel for the price. The bed was comfy, plenty of pillows, good shower. Would have to think twice about staying here again unless I specifically needed to be in this area.

Be warned: It is VERY loud at night, lots of car & truck noise, DART, buses & sirens. We were on 15th floor and it was still VERY loud.

Room Tip: We were on 15th floor and the traffic noise was loud.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lulu_Pow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,079 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

The hotel was nice and spacious and modern. The food was nice and the staff were helpful, we even had a chauffeur who took us places we wanted to go.

My criticism is that in order to get to your room you had to have a key for the lifts, which is great security, however was very annoying considering there was only one key for our room!

I'm a sucker when it comes to Dallas, but I've seen better areas of the Downtown. I felt a little lost, being British. So for people who aren't familiar with the area I wouldn't recommend it. There is a DART stop a few hundred yards down the road though.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Jtribe,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

When you book into a central Crowne Plaza you don't expect the hotel bar to become a nightclub while you are out at dinner. That's what happens here on a Friday and Saturday night - the two days I was staying.

Overall this would make little difference, apart from I don't recommend popping back for a quick drink in the only bar there after 10. The problem is that if you are not a clubber you will not appreciate the groups of youngsters who head back to their room after enjoying the club.

In fairness the noise did not last long and the hotel is comfortable and well located close to the 6th floor museum and the West End restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Nice hotel over all, however the location was a bit sketchy. The hotel is downtown, and the neighborhood is not bad, but it set my spider sense tingling while driving there in the later evening.
Parking was an additional $12 to the cost of the room. Not bad, considering it is a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NattoMatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My recent stay at the Crown Plaza Downtown Dallas was somewhat pleasant. The staff was very courteous, friendly and for the most part very accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. However it was the last few hours prior to checkout that was very disappointing.

On the morning of checkout I encountered a problem with the room entry pad that resulted in being locked out of my room for almost 30 minutes as the battery pack on the door malfunctioned. I contacted the front desk at least twice and addressed the issue to management as I waited for maintenance to arrive.

I was left with a sense that management was not overly concerned with the length of time it took to fix the problem not to mention being locked out for at least 30 minutes. The housekeeping supervisor was very apologetic and waited with me until maintenance arrived. I did not receive any respond from the hotel Manager on Duty nor a follow-up to see if the problem was resolved. Up until that point the overall experience was good; however the latter experience managed to overshadow the prior.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsF4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 205 in Dallas
2,042 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#23 of 205 in Dallas
4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Downtown Dallas
Sheraton Dallas Hotel
Sheraton Dallas Hotel
#40 of 205 in Dallas
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 205 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: €103 - €230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of downtown, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Dallas - Downtown provides travelers a home base with a short walk to the Dallas Convention Center and just six miles from Love Field Airport. Contemporary decor, elegant furnishings and signature Crowne Plaza® amenities provide a haven for business and leisure guests alike.Corporate and professional travelers enjoy easy access to the West End, Bank of America Plaza, Uptown McKinney Avenue, Renaissance Tower and Earl Cabell Federal Building. 30,000 sq. ft. of meeting space for up to 600, and perks such as a Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response and a Daily Meeting Debrief. Our facility is certainly "The Place to Meet" among hotels in downtown Dallas, Texas and a great place to host a wedding, banquet or reception.Leisure guests also appreciate our hotel's convenient downtown locale. Dallas attractions, such as the West End district, American Airlines Center and the House of Blues, are less than a mile away, so you can easily walk to some of the major Dallas destinations.The Crowne Plaza® hotel Dallas - Downtown meets the needs of our guests with quality amenities, including 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, an outdoor pool and our THRIVE Restaurant & Nightclub. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle and sleep well with Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas West End Hotel
West End Hotel Dallas
West End Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing