We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing evening I have had in a long time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Guesthouse on Allen Street
Ranked #4 of 24 Dallas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2016

It's very Californian/European. It is one very nice room, with a very nice bed. It is located in an upscale neighborhood and is close to great eating establishments and entertainment. There is a running trail nearby as well and you will see people out walking their dogs up and down the street. If you're like me, you may work in the evenings, and you can do so while enjoying the lighted view of your garden and water feature. There is a bookcase wall full of books and it has a TV as well as gas log fireplace. Kay walks you through and you never hear or see a human being again, unless you want to. It was the most peaceful and relaxing evening I have had in a long time.
I have booked it again for next month.

Room Tip: One room, and it's very nice!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for The Guesthouse on Allen Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2015

Thanks to Kay and Jack for a wonderful stay in Dallas!

The Guesthouse is everything we wanted, but everything we never expected while staying in Dallas. Jack and Kay delivered a delicious breakfast every day that we were there and were very accomdating when it came to food preferences. They had great advice when we asked for it, but were never overbearing.

While I wasn't sure, based on the pictures, what we were getting ourselves into, the room is better than any standard hotel room or suite. The linens and pillows are incredible. There was daily roomkeeping, complimentary soft drinks and water (replenished daily), delicious chocolate squares, and a library surely containing a book for everyone. Aside from having to use the provided bug spray to deter the numerous mosquitoes, we couldn't have asked for much more.

My boyfriend and I flew into Dallas Love Field and rented a car for a quick drive to The Guesthouse on Allen Street. If we could do anything differently, we'd have skipped the rental car and just Uber'ed everywhere that wasn't within walking distance.

Room Tip: There really is only one room!
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

My husband and I just celebrated our 6th Anniversary at The Guesthouse on Allen. From reading the glowing reviews before we booked, I was expecting a relaxing retreat from hectic city life, and the reviews were right on! The stay was VERY relaxing and private with the lovely terrace that we had all to ourselves. The beauty of a guesthouse having only one room is that the guest feels like they have the entire property to themselves. The room itself was beautifully and tastefully decorated. The butler's pantry contained complimentary beverages and all the glass ware needed for celebrating with a bottle of bubbly. The location is IDEAL and it only took us 10 minutes to drive to our dinner destination -- The French Room. Overall, I would recommend The Guesthouse on Allen to anyone who truly wants to get away from it all, if only for a night. You will leave refreshed and reinvigorated!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DSeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We have just enjoyed a lovely two days at The Guesthouse on Allen Street. A very pretty neighbourhood. A ten minute walk from the free M-line trolley that takes you most of the way downtown. Lots of good restaurants/bars within walking distance. Fantastic Tapas restaurant called "Si" immediately next door with happy hour 4pm to 7pm. We ate their both evenings. Highly recommended. The accommodation itself was pristine. A large and very comfortable bed. Very friendly hosts who helped us to find our way around Dallas. Breakfast was of a very high quality. Kay serves it in your room wearing chef whites. When we were there the roses in the garden courtyard were in full bloom. All very relaxing stay after the long flight from London. Top tips for Dallas : If hiring a car ask for a sat nav. There are so many highway exits close to and overlapping each other that is confusing. You must also visit the 6th floor Museum at Dealey Plaza. Set aside two hours for the tour. Enjoy your stay.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BaggyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

My husband and I stayed here the night after we got married. The location was spectacular and the house beautiful! The hosts were great and made our stay comfortable. The room was large and there was a small backyard right outside of the room to enjoy. The next morning one of the hosts (I've forgotten their names by now) made a delicious french toast breakfast. When we left they were decorating their house for Halloween - there was a giant inflatable spider on top of the house! We both really liked our stay there and recommend it to others.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 205 in Dallas
1,181 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 205 in Dallas
2,042 reviews
Oak Lawn
Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
#61 of 205 in Dallas
594 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse on Allen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse on Allen Street

Address: 2203 Allen St, Dallas, TX 75204-2607
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dallas
Hotel Class:3 star — The Guesthouse on Allen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Guesthouse on Allen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing