We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B with a Luxury 5 Star Feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Guesthouse on Allen Street
Ranked #4 of 24 Dallas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2011

It all begins with driveway parking and a beautiful iron gate. The style of this home has a very mysterious yet inviting Spanish-style feel in the open breezeways and dark corners lit by flickering candlelight. On the way to the room, you pass the lovely private (all yours!) rose garden complete with fountain and high walls that block out the uptown hustle and bustle.

The room is spacious, comfortable, and the owners have a knack for attention to detail. Freshly baked cookies awaited underneath a glass dome and a freshly cut rose in a crystal bud vase accented the welcome treat. The morning breakfast was also splendidly delivered in presentation, not to mention absolutely delicious.

Everything was within easy walking distance and the uptown neighborhood was quite lovely and well-kept. Highly recommend this guesthouse over any of the luxury hotels in this area!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLA_318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for The Guesthouse on Allen Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed here on August 12th 2011 to celebrate our 40 anniversary. We're an active couple for 59 and we travel a lot professionally. We have stayed in numerous BnBs across the US. We live only 35 miles away in Denton so have a good handle on what is available in Dallas and Fort Worth.

We looked at the others like the Bailey Inn, The Corinthian, and the Daisy Polk and we kept coming back to this one. The reviews were simply too good to ignore.

Let me just say we weren't disappointed. Kay and her husband made us feel very welcome without being intrusive. The moment my wife stepped in the first word she stated was "elegant". That's not a word my wife says very often. She's pretty jaded and a place has to have a certain "wow" factor for her to make such a statement.

Let me describe this place. The structure in a three story Tuscan/Mediterranean style that is very impressive. There is only one suite, but very private. Basically one enters through an electric gate, walks down a portico on the first floor and one enters a large room with an adjacent courtyard with lovely covered patio table and a small fountain. The attention to the little things is what really sets this suite apart. Technically it is only one room with a fireplace, a connecting vanity room, and the toilet and shower connected to that.

One kingsize bed, a fireplace, one whole wall full of books, and numerous tourist information and maps if one needs them. The room is actually about the size of a suite at the Embassy Suites.

One has a great view of the downtown skyline. About four blocks east of the main McKinney thoroughfare in the State and Allen area. It has a tapas bar right next door and several dining options within easy walking distance.

This is in the middle of the most dynamic area of Dallas in Uptown and yet it feels like an urban hideaway.

Kay fixed a great eggs benedict for breakfast the next morning and was a most gracious host.

This truly is a great little hideaway and worth every penny but less than the upscale hotels in the area. I wouldn't come back to any BnB other than this one in Dallas. We've been spoiled.

We will definitely be back and recommending this place as a great getaway to our friends.

This place is just about perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dentonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Great location in the center of it all - yet it was very tranquil and relaxing.
Highly recommend it for a day or a week.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazak9313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Of the dozen or so small B&Bs Trip Advisor has found me in as many countries the Guesthouse on Allen Street has to be at the top. The owner, Kay, has really thought of everything - the attention to detail is quite staggering! This spacious comfortable room has everything you could need - the bed is as comfortable as everyone else has said, the home-cooked breakfasts are delicious, the whole place is spotless, the towels and robes are as fluffy as can be, and the little touches give it an extra little something. Its location, in Dallas's Arts District, came as a very pleasant surprise as well. All in all I can't recommend this B&B highly enough and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This B&B is the BEST by far that we have ever been to!!! The location was near the downtown arts district and not too far from fair park so we didn't have a long commute. The room was so elegant and quiet for a peaceful nights sleep. I am in LOVE with the bed and pillows!!!! If you plan to stay in Dallas you must stay here and enjoy a romantic night with your spouse. Also, the breakfast was impecable and arrived with a smile from Mrs. Kay. She greets you with a smile and provides superb service. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank HDIndigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 205 in Dallas
1,179 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 205 in Dallas
2,041 reviews
Oak Lawn
Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
#61 of 205 in Dallas
594 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse on Allen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse on Allen Street

Address: 2203 Allen St, Dallas, TX 75204-2607
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dallas
Hotel Class:3 star — The Guesthouse on Allen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Guesthouse on Allen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing