We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”

The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.00*
and up
Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza
More Info
US$71.98*
and up
JFK Assassination and Museum Tour in Dallas
Ranked #2 of 239 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the sixth floor of the Dallas County Administration Building (formerly the Texas School Book Depository) from which Oswald fired those infamous shots, this historic exhibition chronicles the life, times, assassination and legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Online ticketing is now available through our website.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Very interesting museum to go to if you are interested in all of the JFK stuff.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank hjg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,632
    1,854
    428
    83
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sterile and boring”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This used to be a pretty cool tour - "updated" and now a little sterile and lacking significant interest

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank chuck f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zena
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Iconic museum for President JFK”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The museum is well organized and uses panels, pictures and multimedia to provide highlights to the President's job while he was in office and the social context of the american society during that period. The museum also includes a life-like reconstruction of the shooting event.
I've really enjoyed the museum and I do recommend a half-day visit, anyway I'm a bit perplexed by the point of view of the exhibits, whatever he has done, any decision, any speech, was correct? Did he make any mistake during his office? Is there any controversial topic? In my opinion this is what is missing to this museum to make it an historical one, there's only one point of view about President Kennedy.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisciandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A walk through history”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The museum offers a moving portrayal of the events surrounding John F. Kennedy's assassination. It is authoritative, educational and very well presented. A must for anyone interested in history.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieHDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I thought that this would lend itself to a one-sided view of JFK and the Kennedy family. I was happily surprised that it did not. The museum took a very objective view of the very sad event that occurred in and outside this building. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Volleyball4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing