We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique gourmet experience "in the middle of nowhere"”

Guesthouse Puukarin Pysakki
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Valtimo
Price range: €17 - €58
Description: Great lunch and diner middle of the hinterland in eastern Finland. We have earned a full-star Finnish Luomua Ravintola (organic restaurant) rating on the Steps to Organic program. The immediate atmosphere, authenticity, cordiality, and outstanding food - these are what we are praised for. Guesthouse has also charming country romantic rooms to stay overnight.
Restaurant details
Description: Great lunch and diner middle of the hinterland in eastern Finland. We have earned a full-star Finnish Luomua Ravintola (organic restaurant) rating on the Steps to Organic program. The immediate atmosphere, authenticity, cordiality, and outstanding food - these are what we are praised for. Guesthouse has also charming country romantic rooms to stay overnight.
Reviewed 28 May 2021

A lovely local Northern Karelian guest house with exceptional organic cuisine. It is located in the nice area in the countryside in Valtimo, far from any mainstream tourism areas. The experience is worth to make visit though.

Accommodation is simple and clean, the best parts of the visit are the meals. We had the best private dinner for just two of us and exceptional breakfast next morning. The food served is remarkable because of it's simplicity and pure tastes. Everything you eat is either self grown or locally produced. The roots of the dishes are deep in the Karelian culture and the presentation of the food suits to it character. Also extra ordinary wine selection and recommendations are available. Keep open all your senses and gratefully accept what is served. Definitely hope to visit it again!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Annekreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2020

The atmosphere is relaxed and the guests are welcomed warmly. Like you were visiting a good old friend who you have not seen for a long time. The owner and hostess Anni Inkeri is an interesting person with stories from past and today. The food is cooked from local indegrients with love and you can taste it.

Date of visit: July 2020
3  Thank Leena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2020

We had a perfect stay. Delicious local organic food, relaxing sauna and a lovely, homely atmosphere. A very family friendly place. Thank you hostess Anni. We will be back.

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank TomazRoberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2019

This is nice place with nice atmosphere and good service. We came here with my wife and my mother to have lunch little late considered to be Finns. Yet we were served with big amount of food to eat, from starters to main dish. And everything was excellent! This is not expensive at all, if you compare it what you have or will eat:)

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Awesome food, good location and facilities and great service. A big sauna. All food is produced with ecological methods and raw incredients are acquired from own or near fields. Food is hand made. Tee was great, I think it was spearmint.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Jet373342
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to Guesthouse Puukarin Pysakki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.