We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$106
US$102
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Hampton.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
13
21
21
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
21
21
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotor innother hotelsfree breakfastpalomotelpanhandlemicrowavecampustile
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We had obtained an OK for our little mini-schnauzer beforehand, except someone failed to write it down or whatever those people do, and I caught hell for having a dog in the room. They received hell in return. We had reservations for two days with either a queen or KS bed. We had two full beds. Stay away from that office! They will find some other instructions for you, like - don't let the dog pee on the grass, take the dog with you if you leave, turn off all lights (a no brainer), turn off AC-it's 98 degrees outside. It was like you were a second grader being lectured by your teacher-only these people were VERY RUDE! I just gave them my credit card & told that woman to process a refund for one night's stay immediately. She did! I switched to Knight's Inn & had a very pleasant stay the second nigt, AND a KS bed! NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornshucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Close and convenient to Palo Duro Canyon. Cheap in comparison to other places. Breakfast is doughnuts and muffins. The place is just real old--with obvious repairs that look creative, if a bit iffy, but no big problems as a result. A/C worked well. Toilet needed coaxing to flush completely. Feel like I should say that we found one and only one bed bug on the sheet in morning (checked google images to make sure what it was). Didn't see any in our stuff for the rest of our trip. Don't see any at home, but we washed everything to make sure. So--maybe it just got left behind by some unfortunate someone or was missed by an exterminator? Otherwise, no huge cleanliness qualms. It's not the Ritz and it's not the greatest, but we just needed a cheap place to sleep for one night. I'd probably try to find someplace else in the future unless price alone is your only priority.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieP6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I have always been a firm supporter of the Buffalo Inn. We have stayed there mulitple times. However, after this weekend, we will not be staying there again. We had requested a softer mattress, theirs tend to be very firm. They were not able to accomodate us the first night. We asked Sat. morning if there would be something softer available for Sat. night. They discussed it in front of us, (not in English) , the end result was they couldn't be bothered, and we were welcome to go somewhere else. To top it off one of reasons that we liked to stay there was the unique showers, dating from the time the motel was built. These have been replaced by standard tub and shower surrounds. Our room had an unused feel to it and all in all we were sadly disappointed .
On the up side our daughter's room was one of the more used rooms and she had a softer mattress.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

This is a wonderful little motor inn. Quaint and charming. I walked to the town square, restaurants, the grocery store and the Pan Handle Plains Museum. It's very retro, like stepping back in time to the 60s, yet it had microwave, refrigerator, cable TV and wireless internet.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank redhotmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

First let me start off by saying that i RARELY will stay in a hotel that is not a chain. (i.e. hilton, comfort, etc.) We were headed up to Canyon for the weekend to hike in the Canyon out at the state park, and the Best western AND the Holiday inn express were both booked! Our only option was the buffalo inn, an old motor court motel. I was apprehensive, to say the least....but what a surprise we were in for! It was a cute as a button! Spotlessly maintained grounds with flowers - right across the street from the university. The room was as clean as any chain hotel i've ever stayed in, and it was so cozy! Just like stepping back in the 70's! For $60 a night, it was fine. Mind you, don't go expecting the hilton or any amentities so to speak, but if you need a clean, cozy room while in Canyon and don't want to break the bank, this is the place! I will try to post photos soon.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bryant&henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews