We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not come back”
Review of U Stepana

U Stepana
Cuisines: Czech
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 December 2018

The place itself is really nice, I was really looking forward to come here, but unfortunately was very disappointed. I was expecting some very good steak, but what we got was below average meal. The weird mixtures and steak almost floating in the sauce is not what you expect of such a famous place.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank jr87traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018

+ really honest food with not certificated organic produce (meat and seasonal vegetables) which you can see on their own land and garden next to the restaurant
+ very tasty food
+ kids food in very best quality, very rare
+ excellent sourounding, very peaceful
+ we (4 adults 2 kids) did not have a table booked, but they seated us with no problem eventhough that the restaurant was full and our table was booked by someone else in an hour !
+ free parking
+ superb location
+ kids playground outside
+ clean toilets

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAROSLAV80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

This place started as a side business to a backcountry farm with own produce of beef and veggies. And despite being insanely popular due to great food and lovely atmosphere, it struggled to survive financially, so the owners entered a Kitchen Nightmares kind of show to give it a boost - and they gathered considerable praise at the end, along with widespread media attention. And that´s where the decline started.

Don´t get me wrong - the food is still very good and the setting is nice, yet increased capacity and prices made it more of a cash machine than anything else. The price level is now high even by Prague standards (by local standards the prices are exorbitant), yet the service and other details are so-so. At this price level, I already expect a flawless service with professionnal waiters, no excuses; I do not expect IKEA glasses and cutlery and I have zero tolerance for eventual imperfections in food preparations, especially when it comes to meat, which they boast as their flaghsip product. Needless to say that the original relaxed atmosphere is also gone due to complete change of patrons, the clientele now being more (wannabe) upscale.

So to sum it up: food-wise, this place is good. Not overwhelming, but still fine. Yet the price paid is not at par with all the other details complementing a restaurant experience.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Martinzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Very famous restaurant, I go there 1-2 times a year and never disappointed. The beef is top-quality and all the meals are very well prepared. Don't miss the desserts.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T-Traveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Very bad service and very unfreindly waiters! We received our food after 2.5 hours of waiting. The food tasted okay, but we became all four sick during the night after. Probably food poisining

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Katelijne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Stepana also viewed

Susice, Pilsen Region
Susice, Pilsen Region
 
Susice, Pilsen Region
 

Been to U Stepana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.