We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!!”

Paw Paw's Catfish House
Ranked #2 of 121 Restaurants in Bastrop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Paw-Paw's has something for everyone. Their specialty, delicious Fried Catfish is straight from Paw-Paw's recipe from the 1950's. It's 100% American farm raised and always Gluten Free. In fact, most of the food is created using the same recipes the owners enjoyed as kids. They also serve Fried Jumbo Shrimp, 1/2 lb Burgers, Huge Chicken Tenders and great Salads. Locals and out-of-towners alike are flocking to Downtown Bastrop to visit - Paw-Paw's Catfish House. The service is outstanding and the food even better! It's old school cooking at its best. Have you ever eaten a Deep Fried Deviled Egg? Well, once you go to Paw-Paw's, you will brag about them to your friends! Paw-Paw's serves cold beer, wine and margaritas as well. Be sure and save room for the Chocolate Chip Brownie Sundae or the Banana Pudding. They have great weekday lunch specials and are open Tuesday- Sunday. Catfish & Cold Beer, Now that's American! We'll "See ya at the House."
Restaurant details
Description: Paw-Paw's has something for everyone. Their specialty, delicious Fried Catfish is straight from Paw-Paw's recipe from the 1950's. It's 100% American farm raised and always Gluten Free. In fact, most of the food is created using the same recipes the owners enjoyed as kids. They also serve Fried Jumbo Shrimp, 1/2 lb Burgers, Huge Chicken Tenders and great Salads. Locals and out-of-towners alike are flocking to Downtown Bastrop to visit - Paw-Paw's Catfish House. The service is outstanding and the food even better! It's old school cooking at its best. Have you ever eaten a Deep Fried Deviled Egg? Well, once you go to Paw-Paw's, you will brag about them to your friends! Paw-Paw's serves cold beer, wine and margaritas as well. Be sure and save room for the Chocolate Chip Brownie Sundae or the Banana Pudding. They have great weekday lunch specials and are open Tuesday- Sunday. Catfish & Cold Beer, Now that's American! We'll "See ya at the House."
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Seafood was fresh. Friendly staff although small restaurant. There were 3 tables outside so we sat out there so it wasn't inside with the crowd.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank cburkett66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

We are visiting Bastrop and read reviews on Paw Paw's and decided to give it a try. The catfish were great. They were cooked perfect, the hush puppies were the way we all like them, NOT SWEET but seasoned just right. If we lived here it would be a definite go to restaurant for catfish.
The margaritas were tangy not sweet. That is the way I like them.
Give Paw Paw's a try and you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank RHR288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

very very good fried food and I don't eat fried food, so its gotta be good for me to leave a review did I say very good yes it is

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

On our road trip to Austin, we wanted to try something new and I researched possible restaurants to have lunch off Hwy 71. We decided on Paw Paw’s based upon the reviews on TripAdvisor. We had never heard of deep frying a deviled egg and just had to try them! They are beyond great and we would definitely order them again.

We ordered the shrimp basket for my husband and I ordered the combination basket (shrimp and catfish) with homemade tartar sauce and cocktail sauce! We had to try the onion rings too. All of the items were absolutely fantastic. The fish was so fresh and the batter was just right. The onion rings and French fries were perfect additions to the seafood. Although we ordered baskets instead of platters, we still couldn’t finish our lunches and took them with us to our hotel. We reheated the leftovers for dinner and everything was wonderful reheated.

Not only was the food great but the service was excellent. It’s so nice to see a commitment to outstanding service and our server was very helpful. It was a perfect lunch and we absolutely will be back…there are so many other items we want to try.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatyTXLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Best burgers by far! Little gem hidden in downtown Bastrop. Will be going back for sure to have another Burger.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Allison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paw Paw's Catfish House also viewed

 

Been to Paw Paw's Catfish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing