We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wanderer”
other travellers have booked this property
Front Entry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Entry
Rear Porch Dining & Sitting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Front Entry
Rear Porch
Dining & Sitting
Sleeping
Kitchen
Hill Country Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bandera, Bandera County, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa A
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
“Wanderer”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a wonderful find La Buena Vista was! Came down from OK with a friend on motorcycles to ride the scenic Hill Country roads. Was so nice to come back in the afternoon to this little gem. Quiet, scenic, clean. Had everything we needed. The hosts, Jan and Bob were wonderful. Fresh fruit, juice, and baked goods delivered each morning for breakfast was such a lovely touch( as were the welcoming beers!)

I would come right back again without hesitation..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
It's an interesting phenom...we obviously enjoy hearing that guests were pleased with their stay and would come back, and, we just as much enjoy meeting guests like L.A. and her friend. While we tell all guests they won't see us unless they want to, getting to know our guests is truly part of the fun! Thanks L.A.!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber D
1 review
“Always love staying here!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My fiance and I have stayed at the La Buena Vista guest house twice within 3 years and we are always excited to plan our next trip back! Bob and Jan are absolutely fantastic and sweet as can be. We love how the property is nestled back out of plain sight from the road and the guest house is so beautiful. It's wonderful being able to sit on the back porch and enjoy Jan's delicious breakfast while watching the deer graze and the humming birds feed. It's such a peaceful, beautiful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Jan and Bob's hospitality; the guest book; the stained concrete floors.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thanks for your kind comments. It is always fun to have return guests, and having returning guests lets us know we are providing the service level we hope to provide. Thanks again, and we hope to see you in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msjanmc
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Wonderful place and incredible hosts!”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

There were only two reviews and they were so very nice. The pictures do not do this rental justice. The pictures made me a little skeptical but the rental was wonderful. Bob and Jan are as delightful hosts as you could ever hope for. The house , the hospitality and everything else was amazing. Our group was a group of four sixty something's. Cozy for four but workable. By all means consider this place as a Bandera rental!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Our guest and her three "sixty-something" companions were delightful, and we're pleased they chose La Buena Vista for their get-a-way, and all the way from Oklahoma to boot! Back in the day, we called this a "chick-trip"! We interpret the skepticism as questioning if the Guesthouse could handle the four of them, which she indicated was cozy but workable. The Guesthouse works well for a family of 4, and we're glad it was workable for our guest and her three unrelated companions. Thanks again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon L
Kyle, Texas
1 review
“Quiet and Secluded”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A definite must if you are going to Bandera. The house was very clean and had everything you need for a weekend stay or longer if you want. Since the property is located on land outside of Bandera it is extremely quiet and serene making it a great way to get out of the city and relax. The back porch is nice and provides a great vantage point to watch the wildlife that is on the property. The fresh scones and orange juice that were given to us were great and a nice touch to start the day. The owners, Bob and Jan, are very friendly, and very easy to work with. They are located on the property so they are just a phone call away if you need anything. They offer great tips for local dining. This is a great place to go, to be out in the country, catch up on sleep, pluck on a guitar, or a home base to explore the area. We will stay here again when we come back to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners are great and friendly. House was clean.
Liked least: Nothing I disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
B, we're glad you and the Mrs chose to spend a weekend at La Buena Vista and greatly appreciate your comments. With any luck we'll cross paths again at the next Garrison Brothers bottling!

Bob & Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwc7376
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a great find...”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I have had very good luck with Trip Advisor over the years, but I have to say this is one of my best finds. The cabin was perfect, EXACTLY as advertised, which isn't all that common these days. Very comfy bed, and the cabin was well stocked for a worry free stay. Plus, get up in the morning to a breakfast of fresh baked muffins, fresh fruit, and a jar of orange juice..!!!

The owners are on site, very friendly & helpful, but only if needed. My privacy was respected. Couldn't be happier with my choice. Thank you Jan & Bob.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
J and D, thanks for your kind comments. Our goal is to ensure our guests enjoy their stay, and are happy with choosing La Buena Vista Guesthouse. We're pleased to have met your expectations!

Bob @ Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing