We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
139
48
10
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
139
48
10
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe cabin gas station the river clean campground fire pit bunk beds hay rides great playground pop up camper bath house cades cove camping experience rv sites off leash dog park fudge nice patio
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Toured area this time and viewed other campgrounds. This KOA is a great location and very lovingly taken care of by the staff. Easy access to Cade's Cove. Take Wears road and end up at light 3 in Pigeon Forge in 25 minutes. Beth made sure we had a great spot with river view and Mike helpful in getting us parked. Our site was a backin #10. 9 10 and 11 are pie shaped with short end the truck space. Plan a return next year. Play area for kids and dogs great. Bathhouse excellent.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank R2Ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

So many great things about this location - but just say no anyway! Two big negatives outweigh all the positives:
1. Lady in the office is a Witch. Ask a question: get yelled at. Try to park to use the Dump: get yelled at. Even the other employees roll their eyes when she's frequently ranting.
2. Too close of quarters. Smoke from neighboring campfires is making our smoke alarm go crazy. We are on top of each other! And the children from neighboring campsites have no where to play, so they crowd the streets and make safe driving impossible.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank JeanneL310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This was our first trip to this KOA since we got our camper. We have been looking forward to this trip for months. The day we checked in, it all went very easy. We were lead to a site on the river and helped to get the unit all settled in nicely. The view out the back of our unit was beautiful. There were tubers floating by....all having a great time. We got our site all set up and then just relaxed. This was our Goldendoodle, Monte's very first camping trip, so we were excited to see how he would handle everything. He so enjoyed sitting outside of our unit just watching everyone float by. A few of the tubers even got off the river long enough to come give Monte some love....and then back in the river they went. The second day, we had our two daughters and our two grand-kids come for a visit. There was a nice playground for them to play at and the pool in which to swim. They thoroughly enjoyed the "camping experience". This park is so nice to just walk around in the evenings. Everyone has their camper lights on and it just puts a nice warm glow all around. Monte enjoyed several trips daily to the dog park area, where he could be taken off leash to run and do his business. The only downer is that some owners did not pick up after their pooch, which was a shame. The river water was too cold for me, but the rest of the bunch got in and tubed a few times around. Just had to be real careful that no one hurt themselves on the rocks, as we did see a few injuries of others that had been tubing. BTW...they rent the tubes right there at the office. After tubing...our crew went to enjoy the swimming hole. Monte enjoyed it as well. :) Everyone we met working at the park were very nice and helpful. They have a great store in the front with just about all you would need for camping....plus gifts. They also have cabins you can rent, if you don't have an RV. This will be a campground we plan on visiting quite often, as we just live in Knoxville, so may as well take advantage of the closeness to us. Monte gave his approval as well! :)

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gldnpupper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed at the Townsend KOA campgrounds (most magical trip we've had in years, spring for the deluxe unit its worth it) in part because we wanted to do the tubing the KOA advertises. Being the cautious mom I am, I called and asked who the tubing company KOA uses was so I could check them out. It was Cowboy Tubin'. Their reviews on Google and Trip Advisor were terrifying. Lots of folks leaving the river bleeding, or with bashed heads after being knocked out on a rock on the rapids, or nearly drowned, or pinned against the rocks by the current, or having to take a day off from work due to their injuries. One person warned that someone would eventually die tubing there (tubing in Townsend is not regulated at all by local or fed govt, so you must do your own due diligence).
I decided tubing was just too dangerous for our kids 5, 7 and 9, but a few days later I started looking at other companies in the area for a safer option and noticed there seemed to be none of the bleeding or hair-raising terror in the River Rat reviews and wanted to know why. So I called around to several places and learned that River Rat has 2 tubing options, the upper and the lower river. Cowboy, which serves KOA campgrounds, has ONLY the upper. River Rat bills the upper (which is the river stretch that deposits you in front of the KOA) as having more rapids and being more for adults and older kids with more, faster rapids. River Rat bills the lower as a slower, more family oriented river. We went with River Rat so we could do the lower. It was slow water that was perfect for the kids without a single scary moment, enough rapids so we had fun without fear, beautiful, but never boring for my husband and I and the highlight of our trip. Even though we had to leave the KOA and pay $3 a person more to use River Rat, it was totally worth it to have access to the lower and feel safe. We'll be back.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting Smokey Mtn NP. Probably was the nicest campground we've ever stayed at! Everything was super clean and all looked new. The staff was really nice. They had a store and gas station right on the grounds and delivered anything you needed to your site. The grounds are right on the river and they have tube rentals for your floating pleasure. If you're going to Smokey Mtn NP, this is where you want to stay.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank akipp44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews