We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but small RV sites at premium price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Townsend / Great Smokies KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This campground served our purpose which was to be close to the things we wanted to see and to avoid the congestion of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. We did have a site on the river which we enjoyed in the evenings when we came back from sightseeing. It was small although not the smallest one in the campground. The sites I saw as well as the road throughout were chatted, not paved. They did have a very nice bath house that was clean each time I used it which was a definite plus. Kids were there and they seemed to enjoy the playground area. I just think for the size of the sites and the unpaved sites/roads, these were overpriced for what you got. Everyone we encountered who worked there was very nice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank glengory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Toured area this time and viewed other campgrounds. This KOA is a great location and very lovingly taken care of by the staff. Easy access to Cade's Cove. Take Wears road and end up at light 3 in Pigeon Forge in 25 minutes. Beth made sure we had a great spot with river view and Mike helpful in getting us parked. Our site was a backin #10. 9 10 and 11 are pie shaped with short end the truck space. Plan a return next year. Play area for kids and dogs great. Bathhouse excellent.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank R2Ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

So many great things about this location - but just say no anyway! Two big negatives outweigh all the positives:
1. Lady in the office is a Witch. Ask a question: get yelled at. Try to park to use the Dump: get yelled at. Even the other employees roll their eyes when she's frequently ranting.
2. Too close of quarters. Smoke from neighboring campfires is making our smoke alarm go crazy. We are on top of each other! And the children from neighboring campsites have no where to play, so they crowd the streets and make safe driving impossible.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This was our first trip to this KOA since we got our camper. We have been looking forward to this trip for months. The day we checked in, it all went very easy. We were lead to a site on the river and helped to get the unit all settled in nicely. The view out the back of our unit was beautiful. There were tubers floating by....all having a great time. We got our site all set up and then just relaxed. This was our Goldendoodle, Monte's very first camping trip, so we were excited to see how he would handle everything. He so enjoyed sitting outside of our unit just watching everyone float by. A few of the tubers even got off the river long enough to come give Monte some love....and then back in the river they went. The second day, we had our two daughters and our two grand-kids come for a visit. There was a nice playground for them to play at and the pool in which to swim. They thoroughly enjoyed the "camping experience". This park is so nice to just walk around in the evenings. Everyone has their camper lights on and it just puts a nice warm glow all around. Monte enjoyed several trips daily to the dog park area, where he could be taken off leash to run and do his business. The only downer is that some owners did not pick up after their pooch, which was a shame. The river water was too cold for me, but the rest of the bunch got in and tubed a few times around. Just had to be real careful that no one hurt themselves on the rocks, as we did see a few injuries of others that had been tubing. BTW...they rent the tubes right there at the office. After tubing...our crew went to enjoy the swimming hole. Monte enjoyed it as well. :) Everyone we met working at the park were very nice and helpful. They have a great store in the front with just about all you would need for camping....plus gifts. They also have cabins you can rent, if you don't have an RV. This will be a campground we plan on visiting quite often, as we just live in Knoxville, so may as well take advantage of the closeness to us. Monte gave his approval as well! :)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gldnpupper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed at the Townsend KOA campgrounds (most magical trip we've had in years, spring for the deluxe unit its worth it) in part because we wanted to do the tubing the KOA advertises. Being the cautious mom I am, I called and asked who the tubing company KOA uses was so I could check them out. It was Cowboy Tubin'. Their reviews on Google and Trip Advisor were terrifying. Lots of folks leaving the river bleeding, or with bashed heads after being knocked out on a rock on the rapids, or nearly drowned, or pinned against the rocks by the current, or having to take a day off from work due to their injuries. One person warned that someone would eventually die tubing there (tubing in Townsend is not regulated at all by local or fed govt, so you must do your own due diligence).
I decided tubing was just too dangerous for our kids 5, 7 and 9, but a few days later I started looking at other companies in the area for a safer option and noticed there seemed to be none of the bleeding or hair-raising terror in the River Rat reviews and wanted to know why. So I called around to several places and learned that River Rat has 2 tubing options, the upper and the lower river. Cowboy, which serves KOA campgrounds, has ONLY the upper. River Rat bills the upper (which is the river stretch that deposits you in front of the KOA) as having more rapids and being more for adults and older kids with more, faster rapids. River Rat bills the lower as a slower, more family oriented river. We went with River Rat so we could do the lower. It was slow water that was perfect for the kids without a single scary moment, enough rapids so we had fun without fear, beautiful, but never boring for my husband and I and the highlight of our trip. Even though we had to leave the KOA and pay $3 a person more to use River Rat, it was totally worth it to have access to the lower and feel safe. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsend hotels
2.8 km away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.2 km away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
530 reviews
3.2 km away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
601 reviews
3.1 km away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
5.8 km away
Dancing Bear Cabins
Dancing Bear Cabins
#9 of 22 in Townsend
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend / Great Smokies KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Address: 8533 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in what's known as "the peaceful side of the Smokies," the Townsend/Great Smokies KOA neighbors Cades Cove and the countless black bears, deer, plants and flowers that make their homes there. With the tranquil Little River hugging the property line, endless hiking trails weaving through the wooded tapestry surrounding the kampground and swinging bridges suspended nearby, each day at this KOA promises a new adventure. Nearby attractions like Dollywood, Tuckaleechee Caverns (a 25-million-year old cavern system) and miles of tubing and biking guarantee great fun for your vacation. On-site, visit the Little River Village restaurant for a batch of fudge, grab your tackle and cast your line and enjoy free wireless Internet during your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Townsend / Great Smokies Koa Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing