We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sewanee Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$80
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 - Monteagle TN(Monteagle)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$170
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Inn(Monteagle)
US$131
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
640
41
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
640
41
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscollege tourtennis courtsappointed roomsgolf course viewstayed longerbeautiful propertysouth campusperfect staycommon areasplace to staysouthern hospitalityvisiting sewaneeshawneedomainlobbyfireplaceretreat
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Our stay at The Sewanee Inn was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was great! Plus, staying in town gave us a nice feel for the Sewanee community! We loved hiking the nearby trails. The rooms were a nice size, with great amenities. We hope to be back soon!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Jennifer H,

On behalf of the entire Sewanee Inn Team, we would like to thank you for your kind words and helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities!!

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay and we hope to have you back as our guest again soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

I have traveled to Sewanee for forty-plus years, and have stayed on campus and at friends’ homes. This was my first stay at the Sewanee Inn, and I remember its old incarnation. It has a beautiful view over the golf course into the valley below. THe accommodations are excellent, the food is very good, and you can park your car and walk anywhere of interest.

Room Tip: I like the second floor, though it is beautiful from any vantage point.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank 220chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear 220chip,

A sincere thank you for your awesome review!! We are delighted to hear you had a chance to stay with us at The Sewanee Inn and that you found the accommodations to be excellent and the food to be very good!

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are travelling to Sewanee!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Our holiday was terrific and the staff made us feel so welcomed. Love staying at the Inn! Christmas was beautiful since we got a dusting of snow! Even though it was not a full staff working, they made every effort to make us feel comfortable.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jan330smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Jan330smith,

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your Christmas with us here at The Sewanee Inn!! It was certainly beautiful getting that dusting of snow and we are delighted to hear you felt welcomed by the staff!!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, if I can ever be of any service to you, or your family.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

The Sewanee Inn is such a wonderful place to stay, whether one night or a week. Beautifully constructed and decorated, the wood and limestone design compliments the mountain setting and the nearby University of the South. Tennis courts and a scenic 9 hole golf course are attached. An exercise facility is on site, and several trails and scenic overlooks are nearby for those wanting to enjoy the mountainside. The 1856 restaurant and Shakerag lounge offer a wide selection of food and spirits.
A warm and casual atmosphere, and the gracious Inn personnel, make this mountain Inn an elegant place to enjoy life at the top. Stay once, and you will always want to return to the mountain..

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies overlooking the golf course.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ThadWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear ThadWaters,

On behalf of the entire Sewanee Inn Team, we would like to thank you for your kind words and amazing review!! We love to hear our guests say that the Sewanee Inn is a wonderful place and that they enjoy staying with us!

We would also like to thank you for spreading the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities!!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can ever be of any service to you, or your family.

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We stayed in a deluxe golf suite for our Honeymoon. The Inn was gorgeous and the staff went out of their way to make us feel special. We will be back many times in the future.We couldn't be happier and are already looking forward to booking our next stay.

Room Tip: The balcony overlooking the golf course is a must have for your stay.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Derik R,

We would like to thank you for choosing The Sewanee Inn to celebrate your anniversary!! We are delighted to hear you found The Inn to be gorgeous and that our staff went out of their way to make you feel special!

We would also like to thank you for taking the time to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities!

We look forward to the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews