We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I can't wait to go back.”
other travellers have booked this property
1926 country cottage is perfect place to find peace & relaxation, with plenty of activities nearby.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1926 country cottage is perfect place to find peace & relaxation, with plenty of activities nearby.
Country cottage with updated amenities. Front porch with 3 rockers for enjoying country lifestyle.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
1926 country cottage is perfect place to find peace & relaxation, with plenty of activities nearby.
Country cottage with updated amenities.
Front porch with 3 rockers for enjoying country lifestyle.
Country cottage with few houses in site.
Full kitchen with mountain view. Over sink.
Fully stocked with everything you need if you feel like cooking.
Large kitchen with drop-leaf table for additional work/serving space.
Living room with gorgeous mountain view from huge picture window.
Bright & colorful living room with wood stove for warmth & ambiance.
From living room looking into parlor/2nd bedroom.
From kitchen looking into living room & entry way.
Parlor/2nd bedroom with closing partition.
Brand new queen bed/bedding.
Bedroom has great country views.
Sun/dining room has porch & grill right out the door.
Dining room for casual to elegant feel... Whatever strikes your fancy!
Modern bathroom. Shower has excellent water pressure.!
Private deck across the road right in the creek.
Side & back of cottage with grill. Outside sun/dining room.
Side porch with gas grill & mountain view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Roan Mountain, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DayTrip65...
1 review
“I can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage was just as it looked in the photos. It exceed expectations. The owner was extremely responsive and helpful. It's located close to the state park and the Appalachian Trail. I wish we could have stayed longer. I can't wait to book another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for this great review. I'm so happy you are anxious to return to Cloudland Cottage! There is so much to do in the area along with being such a beautiful place to relax. Hope you will bring the family back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay in Roan Mountain”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here as a guest of the owner before it was posted to Flipkey. At first, I didn’t understand the Cloudland reference but it is true that from the big picture window in the living room, one can watch the clouds roll across the mountains. It is glorious! This cottage is an artistic gem and the area itself is breathtaking. If you are looking for a special spot in the heart of Roan Mountain with spectacular scenery – this is it.

The house is not only very comfortable and extremely clean, but it has such creative flair and is full of charm. We loved all the hand-painted art furniture and bright colors. The kitchen is really well stocked and we cooked in a lot, so that we could enjoy the view from the two porches – horses grazing in the greenest pasture I’ve seen since Ireland.

I also can’t say enough about the surrounding area – so much to do here! From hiking to antiquing to eating some of the best pizza I’ve ever had at Smoky Mountain Bakers… there is a little bit of something for everybody here. The hiking is especially beautiful, because this area is on the Appalachian Trail. Waterfalls, rhododendrons covering the mountains, fresh clean air…I relax just remembering. Thank you to the owner, who made the trip even more special with her suggestions and tips on what to do and see in the area. It was a great experience and I’d return in a heartbeat.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed so many of the varied local activities. The natural scenery here truly is spectacular! Please return again for more hikes & hanging out on the deck alongside the babbling creek. Hope to see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hoar Frost, Moonshine and Mason Jars”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed here as guests of the owner before the cottage was put on TripAdvisor. The cottage is so cute and beautifully maintained. You will be very comfortable and feel like you are at home. This was my first time in the USA and I have never seen scenery like it. The autumn trees were amazing and the mountains just go on forever. The people in this part of the world were so friendly and their accents were gorgeous. My travelling companion, also Aussie, and I had lots of laughs with the locals as we had trouble understanding them and they us. We were introduced to moonshine which of course was drunk out of Mason Jars! We went up to Round Bald Mountain where we saw the trees covered in hoar frost- absolutely beautiful. The antique shops were so much fun to fossick through and the arts and crafts in the area are also plentiful, high quality and original. I will be going back again if only so I can go through Buladean again. What a great name for a town! I had lots of laughs with my fellow travellers and would recommend a trip to Roan Mountain. If you like cute cottages, beautiful scenery, walking, shopping for antiques, eating and best of all, meeting local people, then you cannot go past this place.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The locals
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
It was such a pleasure to host the Aussies in Roan Mountain! I loved seeing the area through your eyes. Was so very happy you had an international experience in the mountains of Tennessee! Can't wait for your return. Thank you for the Kangaroo-crossing road sign... It causes a country traffic jam!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay - The Perfect Place - Highly Recommend!!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in July 2015

I had the great pleasure of staying in this lovely home during each of past three summers. It’s a delightful place, cozy and quaint, and Roan Mountain is just far enough removed from city life without being too remote. I was there with several girlfriends and obviously we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves because we’ve been back three years in a row. I felt completely comfortable there and just sank into the slow-motion way of life. The cottage is called Cloudland because the clouds hang low over Roan Mountain.

The house is comfortably decorated with beautiful art painted furniture in an eclectic BoHo style (created by the owner). The large picture window in the living room looks out to the pasture beyond with horses whiling away the day. They are very open to carrots and apples!

The kitchen is large and fully loaded for all the big meals we cooked when we weren’t out exploring. Across the road there is a wonderfully huge deck overlooking Little Cove Creek. We barbecued many nights and sat out there sharing bottles of wine under the twinkly lights with just the sounds of the creek to accompany wonderful conversations. It was so enjoyable.

The beds are super comfy and there are plenty of them. I particularly loved the adorable wood stove taking center stage in the living room for the nights it got a little chilly. When we needed some place to phone chat or internet surf, there was plenty of space to be alone, particularly the large sun room off the kitchen.

Regarding Roan Mountain, there is so much to do in the area…sightseeing, shopping, dining, adventure hikes. The Appalachian Trail (or The AT as the locals call it) is just minutes away. The North Carolina border is just a few miles to the east.

We did several hikes to the top of the holler and the beauty of the mountains takes your breath away. A great one hour hike led down to a spectacular waterfall in the Cherokee National Forest. For those who like a challenge, this one will definitely satisfy.

Boone, North Carolina, an artsy little town, is close by as is Asheville, home to the exquisite Biltmore Estate. There we lunched at 12 Bones Smokehouse, a wonderful barbecue place that President Obama has enjoyed. And I got in a little antiquing most places we visited.

Regarding the owner, she is a very gracious and accommodating woman who takes great pride in her home and in Roan Mountain. She enjoys introducing visitors to the beautiful area and works hard to make everything just right. She thinks of everything to make the visit special and memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cozy, out of the way feel.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review! I love that you all have found a home in Roan Mountain for your summer trips. It is great to see city girls enjoying all that country living has to offer! There certainly is plenty to do... or not! I look forward to seeing you again in Cloudland soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steff T
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Great! Stay!
I stayed here the last 3 years, and had a great time. It's a well maintained very clean, quiet, very comfortable, and has everything you'll need or want.
Sit on one of the decks socializing, putting something on the Barbie, reading, or just enjoying the beauty of the mountains, and hard wood forest.
Lots of Biking, Running, and Walking right out your door in a very safe friendly country side.
My favorite is of course, hiking parts of the Appalachian Trail.

Oh! No mosquito's to bother you either!

A great place for a single, couple, or small family.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review! Future guests will love to know there are no mosquitoes here. I am happy that you found this to be a relaxing place that also has many activities right out the front door. Cloudland & the Appalachian Trail await your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing