We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
82
64
20
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
64
20
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinecinnamon rollscomfortable bedsthe breakfast areaaaa discountremaining roomsgreat reviewsroom was largegreat stopnice place to staybiscuitswould highly recommend this hotela quick overnight stayhi expressreasonable ratesice stormhotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay as we passed through Tennessee. The room was comfortable and clean. The air conditioning worked great. The breakfast in the morning was good and the hostess was friendly. Nice hotel.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

When we first walked into the the hotel, we had booked a double twin suite 3 weeks ahead. When the man at the front desk gave us the key we went up to our room. As we entered we noticed that this was not at all what we had reserved, yet it smelled very funny as well. Then we take the key back to the man and say that this is not the room that we had booked. After waiting 5 minutes while he checked the system, he said that the room that we had was overbooked, which meant that he decided to stick us In a smaller room, but he was still charging the same price. After we finally got it figured out and we got our original room that was booked. He suggested a steakhouse called the fox and hound for dinner. We thought that that might be worth a try. He gave us the address and we were off. This steakhouse was located at the end of the trailer park and looked like a dump. If he refers this to you, you are better off going to ruby Tuesdays.(the nicest restaurant in town) Overall the Room was clean and the service and recommendations were horrible.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank jackkirby6817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

I apologize for the confusion with your reservations. We are definitely looking into it and appropriate actions will be taken to help ensure that this situation does not occur again. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Nice hotel with a very comfortable bed and pillows. Very quite rooms. Breakfast was free but nothing special. Hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant. Could have used a bright light over the top of the desk, though; very hard to see what you were writing.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite; it's totally worth the $4.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank littleredeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

I am very glad that you enjoyed our suite. The extra space and sofa are definitely worth the small extra cost. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

The HI Express is located right in the middle of southern Appalachia, minutes from Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, and seconds off Interstate 40 at exit 435 (easy on and off). We were headed to Asheville, NC on vacation. Toyed with driving all the way to Asheville (~75 minute further SE), but the hotels their were at least $60-100/night more expensive. We saved a bit on money, by driving less the first day, and were not disappointed. They have a large parking lot. The rooms were nicely fit, quiet and provided us a great night's sleep. Further, at least 15 eating options within 0.5 mile ranging from fast food to sit-down (including Bojangles, Subway, Papa Johns, Waffle House, Cracker Barrel, Ruby Tuesday, Burger King, Pizza Hut, Sagebrush Saloon, etcetera). The staff were very courteous and helpful. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The breakfast area was too all that would be expected - clean with plenty of food options (hot & cold cereal, rolls, breads, fruit, juice, milk, eggs, sausage, waffles, cinnamon rolls and more). We were pleased with our decision to stay at this hotel and would absolutely stay here on future travels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am glad that you had such a wonderful stay. I look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Comfy, clean rooms & friendly staff, we were able to make reservations online (while the husband drove) using our HI points, about 30 minutes before checking in. Standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast, free wi-fi, fairly quiet. Didn't get a chance to use the pool. No problems & would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank rogueit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

We are so glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. We can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews