We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine & Dine Hens Weekend”
Review of Motel Woongarra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel Woongarra
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bogong, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
“Wine & Dine Hens Weekend”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Ruth was fantastic to deal with right from my first booking enquiry. She arranged an entire weekend package for us including a winery tour and lunch for our large group. The rooms were very clean and well presented. Good motel-style breakfast, great pool facilities and BBQ area also extremely clean and well presented.
Will definately stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsmuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    66
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
92
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and I had everything I needed, including some great advice for food and wine in the area. The proximity to Rutherglen Estates didn't hurt either. The staff were very friendly and the pool was a lovely spot to relax with a book and my feet dangling in the water (I had forgotten my bathers!). This was a business trip but I would be very happy to come back with friends and family in future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McLarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We returned to this Motel in Rutherglen for the second time and loved it even more than the first. The owners have been upgrading the facilities and the personal touches/differences to the rooms are notable.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and in a great location to go wine touring. The pool is lovely and clean as is everything else and our best night was cooking a bbq at the motel. When we ran out of wine the motel provided a lovely little selection of wines at the same price as charged at the winery they came from.
Mark & Ruth will also happily organise your limo winery tour and bookings at various venues for dinner.
This is the perfect venue for people looking for a great location and an easy and comfortable stay in Rutherglen.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bachus Marsh, Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We thoroughly check out the accommodation we want to stay in before we book, this place is appeared clean, affordable and set in the right location. We were thoroughly amazed and appreciative how accommodating the staff where when we phoned them up and asked for them to accommodate our 2 familys when we were coming through.
From organising a limo tour and a dinner for 8, to ensuring fresh pool towels were available for the kids when ever they needed them. Set just off the main street, we heard traffic but not as though it was just off a freeway. The garden and large BBQ area were more than adequate to help feed our families, and enjoying breakfast outside near the pool with the birds was relaxing.
The children had the pool, a trampoline and free internet to do as they wish, and having a tv/dvd player in the second family room was the perfect touch to keep the kids out of our hair.
We originally booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 4, we have already booked our next holiday and will be recommending this place to all our friends and colleagues who want to have a holiday or are travelling from Sydney to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We booked this lovely motel as it was central to all the wineries. It has all that you would expect in a motel including a pool. The owners were friendly and more than willing to help. They were even kind enough to drive us around the wineries one afternoon. We would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbos28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.1 km away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
165 reviews
0.1 km away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
178 reviews
0.4 km away
Poacher's Paradise Motel
Poacher's Paradise Motel
#4 of 6 in Rutherglen
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Walkabout Motel
Walkabout Motel
#6 of 6 in Rutherglen
59 reviews
0.3 km away
Rutherglen Motor Inn
Rutherglen Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Rutherglen
52 reviews
1.2 km away
Barkly Suites Apartments
Barkly Suites Apartments
#3 of 13 in Rutherglen
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Woongarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Woongarra

Property: Motel Woongarra
Address: 40 Drummond St | (Corner Main and Drummond Streets), Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia (Formerly EconoLodge Motel Woongarra)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel Woongarra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Woongarra in historic Rutherglen is on the door step to Victoria's North East Award Winning Wineries. Woongarra is an Aboriginal word meaning "Sleeping Place"' and where better to come to for sleeping than this family friendly Motel. Situated diagonally opposite Rutherglen Estates Cellar Door and Tuileries Conference Room and Restaurant, Motel Woongarra offers 12 spacious ground floor rooms to suit your needs - all rooms are non smoking. Rutherglen & Motel Woongarra make a great stopover between Melbourne & Sydney or Melbourne & Canberra or alternatively stay a while, relax and explore the wonders of North East Victoria. Winery Tour Packages are a specialty at Motel Woongarra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel Woongarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing